1994 Toyota Corolla DX from North America

Summary:

Highly reliable - still going strong

Faults:

Seat belts don't recoil (fixed one at $300, left the other two alone - dangerous, I know)

Door handles broke at 150,000.

Back passenger door only opens from the outside.

Occasional difficulties with door locks and with the ignition (making key turn)

General Comments:

I bought this car used with 49,000 miles on it. I'm now at 151,000 and the engine is still going strong, even though I never do anything to it other than change the oil. For reliability, it is an excellent vehicle.

It's the little things that start to chip away as the car ages, such as the door handles, inside door panels, and locking mechanisms on the doors. The seat belt and door problems led me to consider buying a different brand car next time, but I find that nothing else out there has the solid track record for engine reliability that my Toyota has. Overall, I've been very happy with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd March, 2004

1994 Toyota Corolla DX 1.6 from North America

Summary:

Not what I was expecting

Faults:

Nothing major just rear brakes, a couple of blown bulbs etc..

General Comments:

Well I guess I'm going to say that I was kinda let down by this Toyota. It rattles worse than the Chevrolet I had before, the vibration is unreal at times. The factory cd player sucks its always kicking the cd's back out. The car is powerless its very under-powered. The 3-speed automatic transmission sucks its so sluggish and shifts harshly. This car on the highway is horrid any speeds above 65mph the engine is humming at its high rpm. however the car is very reliable it has never broken down or even acted like it was going too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

1994 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 from North America

Summary:

A very dependable and performing car

Faults:

At 170,000 miles the radiator blew and I had it replaced.

The original equipment front brakes lasted for about 120,000 miles.

The original rear brakes lasted 200,000 miles.

I had some problems with the C.V. axles holding up. I had both of these replaced several times. (3 or 4 times)

I have had alternator problems with this car. Typically they last for a year on the average.

I had the A/C system overhauled at around 200,000 miles.

The front engine seals were replaced at about 170,000 miles.

The high pressure power steering hose went out at about 175,000 miles.

General Comments:

The acceleration on this car is quite adequate, but I'm not a "hot rodder".

After replacing several front end components recently it's handling has improved remarkably.

I can't afford to replace this car right now, but if I could, I'd buy another Toyota Corolla or possibly a Camry.

Extremely reliably, considering the tremendous mileage I have on it right now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th November, 2002

1994 Toyota Corolla 1.6L from North America

Summary:

Great car to run around in, economic... and burns out easily!!

Faults:

There has been nothing wrong with this car to date... I have completely replaced the brakes but that's a necessity with any vehicle after time.

General Comments:

Clearly the acceleration is lacking and handling isn't the best, but this car most certainly holds its own with other cars of its era.

For its class and year, the ride is relatively smooth and quiet unless revved high.

Fuel economy could be better compared to newer Corolla's, but I am not complaining.

Reliability is naturally the best coming from Toyota which means you have peace of mind when driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th November, 2001

1994 Toyota Corolla 1.6 L from North America

Summary:

I can't kill this car

Faults:

I once had a relay blow which caused the dashboard lights to cease functioning at about 50,000 miles.

The starter brushes had to be replaced at about 90,000 miles.

Other than those two things, this car has been perfect.

General Comments:

This is easily one of the most boring cars you can possibly buy. It has little performance, average handling, and numb steering.

But what a car! I have invested a mere $200 of unscheduled maintenance since owning it. I have 119,000 miles on it, and it even still has the original brake pads and clutch. Simply change the oil in this car when you should, and it will last forever.

I once considered trading it in on a new VW Golf until I heard of VW's ridiculous reliability ratings.

You want personality? Go see a shrink.

You want reliability? Go buy a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th October, 2001

1994 Toyota Corolla GL 1.6i petrol (4A-F) from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Hassle free motoring

Faults:

The rear rubber bushes had worn out at around 140000 km. This occurs on all Corollas of this model and at the end of day is part of normal wear and tear. Anyway I replaced the bushes with after-market Urethane bushes for NZ$200.00.

General Comments:

Fun to drive, awesome 5 speed gear box, performance comparable to a 2.0L sports auto sedan.

Although the suspension is a bit softer than my previous GT Corolla, I can say from experience that it handles just as well.

The car is quiet, cheap on gas and most importantly trouble free!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th July, 2001

1994 Toyota Corolla Standard 1.6 L DOHC from North America

Summary:

Money saver

Faults:

The car had a leak in the CV boot at 87000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has great milage. The EPA estimates 32 mpg on the highway, and I average 29 to 30 mpg.

The car is extremely reliable. For the 6 years I've had it, there were no mechanical or electrical problems beyond a blown fuse.

The styling is bland, but it's only an economy car.

The ride is a bit stiff, but it is compensated by the sharp handling.

The stock tires do not perform well in the rain. The car has slipped more than once at low speeds.

The braking is a bit slow.

The standard transmission cars need tachometers.

Though the car is small, it can fit 5 people comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

1994 Toyota Corolla DX 1.8 liter 16 valve from North America

Summary:

A great quality comfortable car that doesn't kill your wallet

Faults:

Nothing so far!

General Comments:

I'm trying to add some life to this car and I have had terrific results from an air intake, a sport exhaust, and 16 inch wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st February, 2001