2002 Toyota Corolla Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2002 Toyota Corolla T Spirit 2L diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2L diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance3024 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Economical, comfortable car

Faults:

Plastic kick-plate on rear sill lose. Rear seat trim coming away at the back of seat. Not the quality cotrol you expect from Toyota.

General Comments:

I've only had this car for a month.

I'm generally pleased, it handles well, performance is good for a diesel, very economical (74.5 mpg on a recent long run), seats are comfortable and supportive. Sound system is of good quality, steering wheel audio controls excellent. Diesel engine quiet except for idle. Minor niggles listed above, in addition, the manual states that the air conditioning switches on and off automatically when the climate control is set to 'auto' it doesn't. It's also fiddly trying to adjust the instrument cluster light.

This model Toyota is light years away from the previous worthy, but dull model.

I would certainly recommend this car to anyone looking to buy in the focus/golf size. The only down side is the minor niggles regarding trim. Toyota really does need to address this quality issue if they want to compete with Volkswagen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2002

2002 Toyota Corolla Tspirit 1.6VVTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6VVTi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance2500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Summary:

Not up to VW Golf or Ford Focus build standards

Faults:

Lumpy low idle. Sunroof water leak, squealing brakes. Rattles from sunroof. Front passenger seat rattles (no cure) rear seat rattles. Noisy rear electric window. Loose interior trim. Plastic scratches very easily.

Poor quality on this British built car. dealer just washes it when I return it for repair. Except for the leaking sunroof there is no cure for the other problems to date.

General Comments:

Seat rattles present on all showroom models. Hit the seat back with your hand and see for yourself

Car has average performance. Ride is OK, but not as good as the Ford Focus.

Visibility poor through rear and side windows when reversing. Get some parking sensors fitted.

My old VW golf had better quality interior and build. Even after 4 years my VW had less rattles than this car.

Give Toyota a year or two to tidy the New Corolla up and it might be a good buy, but give it a miss for now.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th September, 2002

23rd Jun 2003, 22:50

I bought the Corolla 4 door saloon built in Turkey.

It's well built, quite comfortable and economical.

It seems that the British still can't build a decent car, even under Japanese ownership!

2002 Toyota Corolla SOL 1.6 VVT-i from Slovenia

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 VVT-i Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired2 kilometres
Most recent distance2300 kilometres
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Good Compact Car

Faults:

After approx 1000 km I can hear different noises (rattles) from the lower-right side of the car (maybe in doors, or plastics under doors...??), especially when drive at low speeds on bad roads. When the car is standstill and you swing the car there is no rattles at all.

Service stuff don't now what to do.

I didn't expect this from Toyota. : (

General Comments:

Acceleration is good and also the maximum speed.

Car is a little bit noisy at high speeds (more than 130km/h).

Suspension is good, but a little bit too soft for sport driving, acctualy this is not a sports car. You can drive quick with "head" on bends.

Transmisson gear is short and soft - very good.

Automatic air condition works fine.

"Optitron" instruments looks nice.

Car audio-CD surprised me, sound it`s very good with no distorsion, reception is also good - very good for original audio equipment.

Trunk it`s something in the middle (289 l)... to small for big family, but enough for 2-3 persons.

Interior space is quite OK (also for legs).

Overall quality seems to be OK with the exception of rattling and strange plastic noises.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2002

2002 Toyota Corolla SOL 1.4 from Cyprus

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Fast Family Car

Faults:

Only a few interior noise.

General Comments:

This car's is good very good for it's class. For Exampole, Very stable on nearly all roads and bends.

It is comfortable and quite in low speeds, but noisey on high speeds. Some finishing problems, but if it was and in Japan it be better then U. K build.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2002

5th May 2003, 06:31

Yep - I've got a 2002 Toyota Corolla, it's been reliable so far (17,000km) but has plenty of annoying noises in the cabin - 10 months later and we are still trying to get it right - I agree UK build quality is VERY poor compared to Japanese - when they told me that the car was assembled in the UK it was too late to cancel my order and I'm British!!

2002 Toyota Corolla CE 1.8 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership1986
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great car at a great price!

Faults:

Things that have gone wrong:

Nothing thus far with 247 miles, BUT the dash has a very irritating rattle when the car is in drive at idle.

Oh, slightly rough idle in drive at a stand still.

Dealer said it might go away by 1000 mile break in, BUT we will see about that.

General Comments:

Our previous car was a 1986 Corolla 5 door hatchback with 203,000 miles on it. Wish we could find another one with low miles :P

Our new Corolla is doing just fine other than that darn rattle in the dash.

The car rides smooth, handles nicely, very very quite and the radio with cassette sounds great for a factory radio. Trunk is huge for this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2001

8th Jan 2002, 09:05

My 2001 corolla have the same idling problem. The Corolla mechanic gave the same answer. I have 5000 mile on the car now and it still has the rough idle in drive. If anything it's getting worse. The Corolla mechanic during my last visit told me it could be the nature of the car. In other words that the way the car runs. I am very dissappointed in Toyota. I have already brought the car back twice and they kept telling me that the car set at the proper specifications and there is nothing wrong.

3rd Jul 2004, 18:19

I have a 2002 Corolla with a whole sundry of squeaks/rattles and it hasn't even done 39000 kilometers yet (I'm in Canada). I drove/rode in 2003/4 Corolla who were not any better. Actually a bit noisier while accelerating. No mechanical troubles, though, and the car does exude refinement and quietness when driven on the high way, better than any other car in its price range, including subsequent Corollas, IMO.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 25 reviews