1971 Toyota Corolla from North America - Comments

8th Oct 2012, 23:58

My best friend is picking up his new Chevy Sonic tomorrow. He is very excited. His four year old Corolla is pretty much worn out and having lots of problems. He was getting afraid to take it on trips.

9th Oct 2012, 07:02

The Toyota fan indicated there was only 3 percent of them around in the 70s. That comes out to slightly more than 2 million vehicles for the decade. Or is that percentage a number that you guessed at?

9th Oct 2012, 09:16

Any car that is "pretty much worn out" at four years of age is either being driven 4000 miles a month, or is getting zero maintenance.

9th Oct 2012, 09:26

Oh no! Sounds like he fell victim to your domestic "ad hype"! LOL!

9th Oct 2012, 10:37

Well, I guess one story about a 3 year old worn out Toyota wasn't good enough. So now we have another one, this time about a 4 year old Toyota? This is too amusing...

Anyway, I'm sorry but yes - percentages are simple math. But let's put this to rest once and for all. So 3 percent of the total sales of cars for the time period we're talking about - the early 70's - was STILL 3% of the total of all of the other cars sold at that time. So yeah, if Toyota sold several million cars, the big three sold a DRASTICALLY greater number than that, and thus as pointed out not 2, not 3, but probably four or five times already, if one product was sold in much greater quantities, then those are in turn far more plentiful as a result.

Besides - I can most definitely assure you that yes, I see plenty of vintage Toyota and Honda cars and trucks being driven on the freeways around here, and in many cases they aren't some previous trailer queen to only be taken out of the garage on the 4th of July parade. They're still being driven as everyday drivers. That so many still exist, despite being a much rarer product of the time, is further testament to their overall longevity.

9th Oct 2012, 10:58

I am probably your Dad's age. In the 70s the Toyotas were extremely popular. The Celica had outstanding styling and were everywhere. So were Corollas. The Celica was a bit pricey, but was a real eye catcher. Another very attractive popular car was the Datsun Z cars. They were prone to rust and I had one. They were also a bit pricey as well. I am referring to the time and cars we bought new. Gas was a factor, especially in 73-74, long lines and odd even day allotments across the country.

In my opinion the styling was totally lost by 1980. I bought a new black 5 speed Toyota Corolla SR5, which my wife drove. It had some styling in the hatchback model. The hatch leaked and we broke one of the 2 sunroofs with a loose latch. Other than the Supra, styling was lousy after.

You may be expressing your theory, but I lived and bought new ones in the period. Maybe the poor quality of steel and rust paid a toll. I remember our model selections as equipped were not cheap; even the loaded Corolla SR5 Hatchback from the period.

My father had company cars in the 60s and 70s. Most were Impalas. They were a good value and a typical factory reps car. Big trunk and the 350 V8 automatic 4 doors. I don't remember hearing any issues as he drove them daily. They were company vehicle, meaning no charge to use, so if they were an issue, we would have heard it.

I followed his footsteps and drive company vehicles as well. I have no prejudice, as if it stinks I will share that info and have done. I had a new Acura Legend as a company car, and it was a fine car and was discontinued. Followed by the RL. All my others have been domestics, and all good. One of the guys had a Dynasty by Chrysler, and it was the only one I heard of with any major issues.

9th Oct 2012, 16:10

I don't know why you keep claiming that "the Big 3" all of a sudden make good cars, when they always have (full and mid size models that is). It sucks for your parents that they had a bad Buick; every Buick we had from that era and beyond has been great; that's why my father has been buying them since 1960.

10th Oct 2012, 12:01

This isn't an argument, nor has it been from the onset when it comes to doing the numbers, making claims about why there are less Toyotas from the 70's than those from the Big 3. The facts have been clearly stated over and over and over again. Simply put, when one company makes more and another makes less, then there are less examples from the one that made less. So please answer the question: Is that true? If so, let's put the debate to rest.

And sorry - but it's not my opinion that the Big 3 made cruddy products in the 70's: Most history books show that they did, and the often-mentioned fact that in some of those years domestic automakers actually had to recall more cars than they made is all you need to know. Everything else is simply hearsay.

10th Oct 2012, 18:52

We bought our first new car in 1972. It was a Plymouth. We drive it over 140,000 miles with nary a problem. After that we bought many new cars. They were all very reliable with regard to the domestics. The only cars we ever had massive problems with were Honda, Mazda and Volkswagen. We now refuse to even look at imports when considering a new car. Domestics were great 40 years ago, and they are even better now.

10th Oct 2012, 23:43

Take care of your car and it will take care of you. If you don't keep up with maintenance, you can't expect trouble-free service over time. Doesn't matter what you drive.

11th Oct 2012, 08:48

You keep reading your history books. In the mean time, the rest of us who actually owned cars from the 70's and 80's know the real truth. Maybe you should read more articles about some of today's low quality imports. Or better yet, take a look at ALL the 70's GM and Ford fullsize and midsize reviews on this here website; I can't find any bad ones.

11th Oct 2012, 08:48

Why sink money in a car from the 70s or 80s that needs an engine or trans? For example, you buy a 3k import that depreciates to 1k in that era. Dropping a new motor or trans in one and you exceed its value. Plus, rust was a major issue at that time. So off to the bone yard.

The design element or appeal was also not present. That's why I feel they are gone. Cars with great appeal were saved. Models like the Corvette from 53 to the present with over 50 percent on the road today. Mustangs sold in record #s and many others. I know someone will gripe that I mentioned Corvette. I can mention many others like Impalas. Over 1 million sold in 1965 alone. You are correct, who would want to restore 70s and 80s Toyotas? Just wear out and get rid of it I guess.