3rd Mar 2005, 14:28

Size is very relevant to reviewing any car. A 6' 4" driver has different concerns (leg room, head room, distance from the steering wheel) than a 5'4" driver (seat height, pedal distance).

7th Mar 2005, 21:40

Thank you for the support regarding my frame size commentary. It is quite important to me when I purchase a car, and I look for these same factors in reviews that I utilize. As for the questions regarding interior space.. Headroom is fantastic, no hair brushing the roof of the car (non-moonroof equipped car), legroom is good for this class of car, though at times I do wish I had a Skoosh more extension of my legs (But this is how I have felt about many of the cars I have owned.). Hip and shoulder room are also good for this class of car. Steering wheel placement in relation to drivers seat is not a problem for me (I have a 37.5" sleeve length) but I know that I have read in many professional reviews that this was a problem for many Corolla owners. I have never felt confined in this car.. even after regular 350 mile round trips in the span of a work day or driving around town with my wife and two little ones in the back. Hopefully these additional comments have helped you in your decision (If you have'nt made one already!) Good luck!

5th Apr 2005, 14:03

Size is defintely relevant to every car purchase. I'm only 5'4" and find the smaller the car the more likely it's built for a smaller person and that full-size trucks are positively horrible for me to drive even with power pedals -- the seat bottom length is way to long, past my knees (picture sitting with feet not touching the floor). I'm considering a Corolla now, and because this big fellow is comfortable I fear I'll have a problem with it. Anybody around my height have any comments?

6th Apr 2005, 15:34

Of course size is relevant to the review of an automobile. Some cars simply are not comfortable for large people and small people alike.

8th May 2005, 15:24

I own a 2004 Corolla and am 5'2". It's a very comfortable fit for me. So I suppose that it is built for all heights and frames.

I enjoy this car a lot. I have had it for less than a year, but have not had any problems yet. It rides beautifully and has great gas mileage. I highly recommend it!!

3rd Dec 2005, 10:06

Still cranking along with my Corolla S... I now have 103,000 miles on it. Avg. over 50,000 miles per year!! Still have original brakes, clutch, etc. Never a single problem (not even a squeak or a rattle!). This car is excellent!! I feel toyota is the # 1 quality car producer in the world. I'm going to try for 200,000...judging by my experience, I don't think this will be a problem. This car is perhaps the best "real bargain" on the road today. If you're thinking of buying one, don't hesitate.

5th Sep 2006, 22:07

Well, I am now at 145,000 miles and climbing. Not a single mechanical issue! The only disapointments at this time are a broken glove box handle, an intermittent hard-to-close-trunk, and a storage door (the one below the HVAC control knobs) that won't stay closed. I recently did the front brake pads @ 139,000, and have had to do nothing major to the car. Original clutch remains intact... If you are looking for a very reliable car.. look no further than Corolla.

7th Jan 2007, 10:09

Just a comment on the differing gas mileage during winter and summer months. Because colder air is denser it requires more fuel to reach a specific fuel/air mixture ratio. Consequently less gas mileage the colder the air gets. I've noticed this on every car I've had since the 60's, and I keep track of almost every tank I buy. Hope that helps.