1976 Toyota Corona Reviews

1976 Toyota Corona CS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired186000 kilometres
Most recent distance222000 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Excel

Summary:

Reliable

Faults:

Nothing since I have owned it.

General Comments:

Mechanically, this is excellent car.

I find that getting external parts is difficult due to its age, but overall, it's a really good car to own. It lacks modern features like air-con and power steering, but once used to it, it's easy to drive.

Definitely not as fast as modern car, but if you are not in any hurry, it's fairly cruisy..

I would recommend to avoid getting one with the "Starfire" engine. The one I have has a proper Toyota engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2010

1976 Toyota Corona SE 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1976
Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance254120 kilometres
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A great goer with plenty of punch

Faults:

It's got a lot of rust.

General Comments:

I am happy with my Corona 2000. I bought it in 1989 and don't regret it.

It's a good car with a bit of pizazz and some get up and go when you need it. The radio is great, except it only has an AM function and no tapedeck. I'm thinking of having an extra speaker put in so I can have stereo sound.

Interior is nice brown vinyl-easy to clean.

No aircon. makes it a bit hot in Sydney summertime, but turn on the fan and you're right.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2006

6th May 2006, 19:20

I hate to tell you, but installing another speaker will not give you stereo sound unless you replace the radio as AM is not broadcast in stereo, only FM is. But if you just want the sound to go further around the car, installing another speaker will help, but you'll probably end up burning out the radio's amplifier anyway. You can buy AM/FM/CD players for well under $100.

13th May 2006, 07:33

I bought myself a portable trannie instead of getting the other speaker- way too expensive... upwards of $40!

1976 Toyota Corona basic model 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1976
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance700000 miles
Previous carDodge Dart

Summary:

Economic Rally Wonder

Faults:

Nothing serious. Typical maintenence. I always felt that Toyota kinda crapped out when it came to the audio systems. Alternator went after about 200,000 miles. I suppose I overloaded it with the rally lights I added. After I started rallying with the car, more and more things went wrong, certainly not the cars fault, I mean it was an economic car so it wasn't exactly built to race.

General Comments:

Great car from day one. All it requires is a nice set of wheels, a GT racing stripe and a better sound system and your set for a while. I did A LOT of work to get it up to rally standards. Reworked it to 4WD and made a few engine modifications. Fast little thing from day one. Had a rust problem at one point, but a little bodywork fixed that. Terrific car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

23rd Jun 2004, 05:51

Hey, nice conversion. I have a similar model and I'm wondering how you got yours to 4 wheel drive? Please let me know at bronek2002@hotmail.com.

30th Mar 2006, 08:45

I will be getting a corona 76 too with a 13T engine. I'm still not sure if that would give the torque I need for my car. got any setups that you could recommend? you can email me at galingan2002@yahoo.com. Thanks.

1976 Toyota Corona Mark II Sedan 2.6 alloy-head straight six from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1976
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.6 alloy-head straight six Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired330734 kilometres
Most recent distance464992 kilometres

Summary:

An old car, but very endearing and reliable

Faults:

Just to make the car roadworthy, I had to replace:

The front springs, tie rod ends, ball joints, pitman arm, steering box, brake master cylinder, all tyres and battery clamp.

This cost a total of $1400AUD.

After registering the car, it ate four alternators, another two master cylinders, the brake booster, the diff, the wiper arms and the rear wheel bearings.

I must mention that I almost always bought used parts at the wreckers' when replacing brakes and electrical parts. I am wiser now, and I know these parts would have lasted, had I not bought them second-hand!

It was my first car. It happens!

General Comments:

The man who sold me the car knew less than nothing about cars. This was obvious because he put 24V globes in the tail-lights, but couldn't tell me why they didn't work!

He had bought the car four years earlier and it had been resprayed in red enamel and had a re-trimmed velour interior. I looked fantastic, but he had since driven (and neglected) it nearly to death. The engine, body and cooling system were completely reliable and it never, ever overheated or broke-down.

The performance was amazing and it would easily beat most six-cylinder Toranas and V8 Falcons.

The handling was dreadful and could take over completely if driven fast into a tight bend. Scary!

The looks used to get lots of admirers, especially of the female variety.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2003

29th Nov 2005, 06:33

Hello.

I am currently thinking of purchasing a 1975 Toyota Corona (Mark II) very similar to yours. It is a 2.6 litre, 6 cylinder car and only has done currently 86,000kms; runs on unleaded petrol. I would like your opinion on how much the parts cost (AUD) and how much it costs to run it every week.

Thank-you for your assistance.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 4 reviews