1984 Toyota Corona Reviews

1984 Toyota Corona GX Liftback 1.8 Litre from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Litre Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance275000 kilometres
Previous carAustin Allegro

Summary:

Great drive, but heaps of rust

Faults:

The cambelt snapped at 250,000 kilometres.

The ignition module failed at 235,000 kilometres.

Replaced the left front CV joint at 265,000 kilometres.

That's all.

The biggest issue was with rust, rust, rust.

General Comments:

The car drove extremely well for what I paid for it; $2500.00 NZ.

It was mechanically very good, but the main problem was the rust. I also live in a coastal area, so the salt laden air wasn't much help.

New Zealand has a very strict warranty of fitness system, where a car is examined every six months any sign of rust, and the car is rejected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2008

1984 Toyota Corona CS-X 2.0L 2s-c from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.0L 2s-c Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired183000 kilometres
Most recent distance191000 kilometres

Summary:

Go the mighty Rona!

Faults:

http://www.cardomain.com/ride/2169604

The above is a link to a LOT of info about my particular Corona.

When I got the car, I was not aware it had literally NO brake pads! After a month I went for a service and had the brakes machined, all good now. $200 service, $170 brake machining. $370 total.

Upper reserve of the radiator has a leak. I have left this alone for 4 months so far with no over heating or engine troubles whatsoever. Good old Toyotas. $160 to fix.

Cracked bearing in the tail-shaft, not badly damaged. This has also been this way for several months. $160 to fix also.

Engine coughed and sputtered and had rough starting. The carburetor was blocked. $11 can of carburetor cleaner did the trick.

General Comments:

For a 22 year old car, I am amazed at how little maintenance it requires and how well it runs. It just keeps on going!

It is currently a project car of mine, and will be entering a show 'n shine competition when I finish doing it up.

These cars are worth every cent.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2006

1984 Toyota Corona ST150 Liftback 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1984
Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired392000 kilometres
Most recent distance410000 kilometres
Previous carRenault 11

Summary:

The best built Corona ever

Faults:

The valves on number two cylinder was completely stuffed; needed to replace the head. It cost me $300.00.

General Comments:

The ST 150 Corona Liftback was one of the best Coronas ever built. There are still a lot of them cruising around New Zealand. Parts are cheap, the reliability is legendary, and they are very comfortable cars to drive on long trips. The Liftback part is very practical to use, especially if you drop the back seats; you can carry anything.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2005

7th Dec 2005, 03:29

Hi, I recently purchased a 1987 toyota corona st150 sedan and I cannot find any information on it whatsoever. a little info even about the motor would be appreciated. cheers.

1984 Toyota Corona CS 1.8 Leaded petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Leaded petrol Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired331984 kilometres
Most recent distance353894 kilometres

Summary:

Good reliable car for anyone,

Faults:

I had to recondition the gearbox at 342359kms for the first time in the cars life. Cost: $395.

It leaks oil.

General Comments:

I bought this car from my brother. (Who had it since new)

The car is very reliable.

The car still has the original engine and has not been rebuilt.

Does not blow smoke.

Can be alittle heavey on the fuel.

Can take a beating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2004

1984 Toyota Corona CS 2 litre from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2 litre Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance390000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corona

Summary:

Reliable and cheap to run

Faults:

Timing belt.Twice.

Brake hoses leaked

Rust in boot.

Seat worn.

General Comments:

My car was on gas all the time and was hardly serviced. The engine blew no smoke and was original. The transmission was serviced once and never played up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2004

1984 Toyota Corona CSX Standard 4 cylinder petrol. from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Standard 4 cylinder petrol. Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 kilometres
Most recent distance244850 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable and hardworking considering the age of this little car.

Faults:

Master Cylinder bunged up at 260 000 KM.

Chews through oil like there is no tomorrow.

Has rust on C pillar.

Gutless over 80 K/PH.

Dashboard cracked before I owned it.

Severe engine noise.

Slightly Smokey.

General Comments:

Cheap reliable little car.

Came with heaps of extras. (air con, cruise control, power steering)

Not real fond of the brown interior, and matching paint.

Not the best looking car on the road, but I have had less problems with this car than my mates have with younger cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2003

1984 Toyota Corona CSX 2.0 leaded from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1984
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 leaded Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired223000 kilometres
Most recent distance261000 kilometres

Summary:

Luxurious reliable first car for a teen

Faults:

Needed 4 new tires after the first 12 months of purchase.

Needed new air filter.

Brake fluid cable broke.

2 small rust spots on exterior of car when purchased.

General Comments:

The car handles very well in all weather conditions.

The car is very comfortable to drive in with its heating, air conditioning, pwr steer, central locking and cruise control.

For its age the luxuries within it are still in good working order.

Valuer interior is still in excellent condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 12 reviews