1986 Toyota Corona Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1986 Toyota Corona S 2.0 Manual from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired303000 kilometres
Most recent distance305000 kilometres

Summary:

A great practical Car

Faults:

Accelerator very jerky, any small bump will make it jump up and down and it is hard to tell what speed I am going at.

General Comments:

This car has excellent pick up for the model. Every thing about these cars is great apart from the handling. Because the car is so light it is very easy to spin out, especially with fast pick up I almost killed my self a few times in the first couple of weeks I own it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th December, 2002

1986 Toyota Corona CS 2.0 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance140000 kilometres

Summary:

A slow, reliable car

Faults:

When I got the car in 2000, the third piston was misfiring on idle, and this made the car sound rough.

The reverse lights have not worked since I got the car, and still don't work. We thought this was because of a faulty reverse light switch, but a replacement didn't fix this problem.

The alternator can't cope with my sound system (75A worth of fuses in the amps in total).

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car.

This is a very *slow* car (20 seconds for 0 - 100km/h).

It's a very comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th July, 2002

12th Dec 2009, 10:24

It shouldn't be anywhere near that slow. Get the engine timing adjusted.

1986 Toyota Corona Avante 2.4 Litre EFI from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.4 Litre EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired279561 kilometres
Most recent distance283756 kilometres

Summary:

Excellent value

Faults:

Water got into the taillight and blew the globe.

Central locking system got water in it and caused locks to lock and unlock at random. Easily fixed though.

Nothing major so far.

General Comments:

This is an extremely reliable car and is good on fuel. Getting approx. 400km off one tank (45 litres) in around town trips.

Very comfortable to sit in and has an excellent Air Conditioning system.

This car is also very fast for a 2.4 litre, 4 cylinder engine doing 120km/h in 3rd gear with 2 gears left.

Brakes can be a bit dodgy as they lock up on gravel VERY easily.

Car also handles very well with power steering and this has helped me avoid many an accident.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th June, 2002

1986 Toyota Corona 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres

Summary:

Reliable and affordable

Faults:

I've had the radiator re-sealed.

New Distributor.

Air Conditioner is shot.

General Comments:

This is a very reliable car. I have done several trips of 800km+ and have never had a problem.

It's not exactly going to blow other cars off the road, but it goes all day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2002

1986 Toyota Corona CSi 2.4 EFi from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.4 EFi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance185000 kilometres
Previous carFord Falcon

Summary:

Very much underrated..

Faults:

Nothing major so far, just a few weepy gaskets on the engine. The tape player also died.

General Comments:

The car is surprisingly quick, almost as fast as the old Falcon.

It's pretty good on fuel, getting 10 litres per 100km or better, despite a blocked up exhaust.

Brown interior looks ordinary, but is reasonably quiet with only a few rattles in the dash.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2001

1st Nov 2001, 22:41

Totally agree. Had my Corona CSi 2.4 for 3 years now - never regretted it. Great car... bought it with 88,000 kms - now done 110K. Guns pretty hard too.

Threw some mags on the little bad boy, now she looks very nice. Wonder how she would perform with some mods (extractors, exhaust, etc) Turbo? She would go hard indeed. Does anyone know the actual specs of the CSi/Avante 2.4 engine? Would love to know:

paradox@start.com.au

Cya chums.

27th Aug 2002, 02:25

The 22RE engine in the Corona CSi and Avante put out 87kw in factory form. I have seen a Corona CSi wagon with strengthened internals, cam work etc. and a turbo run a 12 second quarter mile time. Awesome! Hope I have been of help!

17th Aug 2007, 03:45

I just brought an 1986 Corona CSI. I was wondering if the 22RE engine is worth modifying?

1986 Toyota Corona Amon 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 kilometres
Most recent distance407000 kilometres
Previous carDatsun 120Y

Summary:

Eternal reliability - good to let kids destroy before getting something good

Faults:

Burnt out wiring.

Blew a radiator.

All at 370,000 km.

General Comments:

Best car I've had - runs like a dream even with all the kms.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

14th Jun 2004, 02:48

1987 Corona Amon purchased 1993 70,000k's still going strong 177,000ks 2004. 1.8Auto. Tows boat around 800-1000kg. Keep the engine oil fresh, radiator anti freeze up to date, and change the gear box oil every three years or so. Has an oil cooler not sure if this is standard. Upholstery is a bit tired, but not holed yet. Will keep for another few years yet.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 11 reviews