1985 Toyota Cressida 1.8L V6-DOHC from North America


An incredible ride


The sun-roof does not work.

General Comments:

It is a fast, powerful and reliable car. I recommend this car to anyone looking for a good and comfortable ride.

It can be used either like a family car or a sporty car, because due to the power and stability of the car it can run against any other vehicle.

Considering the engine size it is an economic car, I get between 22 and 28 miles per gallon on highway and between 15 and 20 miles per gallon in city driving.

Honestly, I do not think a car like this will be built anymore. So if you have the chance of getting one do not think it twice and go for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2002

2nd Apr 2006, 20:35

Just got it it's an 85 with 236200miles yes that's right runs like a champ for its age,i like those 195/60/15 tires and all around disk brakes

3rd Apr 2006, 10:15

Wish people would stop writing into these boards about Cressidas since it's making me mad I haven't got one!

Seriously, I am really happy to see so many positive reviews about a single model that has withstood the ravages of time.

Maybe my next car...

12th Apr 2007, 17:30

I'm also lucky enough to own the 5 speed version of this car. As of now it sits in my garage ready for it's new clutch. I highly recommend this car for anyone who wants a dependable as well as stable ride. I have had multiple offers for it & I won't ever sell.

Currently I'm driving a Chevy & a Ford & I hate both, they don't run right & die for no reason at all. I will never ever buy anything, but Japanese from now on. I've driven the Cressida with absolutely no clutch left & it still goes down the road.

1985 Toyota Cressida 2.8L inline-6 from North America


Going to last for a lifetime!!!


A/C won't work.

Small amp in the radio recently died.

General Comments:

Great car. They still make it under its original name "Mark II" Twin Turbo. I would buy another one if Toyota still imported the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th August, 2001

1985 Toyota Cressida GLX 2.8i DOHC from Australia and New Zealand


Quick and comfy, with reliability to go with it


Nothing out of the ordinary, only the things that you would expect to replace due to using the car a lot, (eg. brake discs, tires, engine belts, radiator cap, front shocks and tie rod end (only due to high mileage) changing oil at service intervals etc.)

One rear electric window switch a bit faulty.

General Comments:

Nice satisfying car to drive.

Feels safe, with plenty of grunt and good handling.

Very comfortable, especially the driver's seat, and has got air con and leather seats.

But my wife tells me that when she is riding in the back seat with the kids that she slides around a bit during fast cornering.

There is also plenty of space in the cabin and the boot.

The car is automatic and is easy to drive.

Does not burn oil.

It is thirsty for petrol especially around town, though for open road driving (which we do lots of) we get around 26-27mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2001

28th Jun 2001, 20:41

Toyota Cressida kicks ass!!! It is the best car I have ever seen! Better than BMW, Mercedes, Ferrari and everything!! I am a owner of a 87' Cressida and never want to give it away!! I have never had one problem with the car since I bought it! I wish they still made this car!! So I am sad.

5th Jun 2002, 02:43

I own a 1986 Cressida GLX. It's great with lots of guts in the V6 engine. Only problem is a continuing oil leak. I had the air conditioner fixed last year as it didn't work at all, but I don't have a heater. It's otherwise a great car.

19th Jun 2005, 21:13

My GLXI has done 307,000Km and still going strong. We replaced the diff with a second hand one because it was make a winey noise at about 290,000km.

The interior is still in great condition, and she handle awesome for a twenty year old. My partner has the 1991 model and apart from the head gasket going at 150,000km (which is a fault for that model) it has been good to us as well.

They are well built and built to last.

14th Feb 2007, 08:07

I have just bought a second hand 1985 Toyota Cressida GLX-i model and its still going great apart it's body color already faded. The engine still runs smoothly and very comfortable to drive even though its already 398576miles on the clock. I hope I can used it for the next 5 years or so.

18th Feb 2008, 17:17

I bought a GLXI 1985. I really like this car, but it came without a manual, does anyone know where I can get one?

Also I put some leaded petrol in it by mistake and it has overheated on the way to work. There was a smell of plastic coming from under the hood. I opened and it was in a place where there were a whole bunch of small plastic hoses, any ideas? The mechanics here have only given me grief on previous cars and I would like to know more about this one.