2002 Toyota ECHO Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Toyota ECHO from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carDodge Spirit

Summary:

Reliable little Gem!

Faults:

Nothing so far, this has been the most reliable car I`ve ever owned.

General Comments:

This little car is truly a gem. Its cheap to run, easy to drive. It does have a little bit of swaying when your on the Hwy and there are strong winds, but overall it's an awesome little car. I would advise anyone to buy a Toyota Echo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2007

30th Dec 2007, 13:59

Could not agree more about the "little gem"! I own a 2004 Echo, and have found it to have been the best car purchase I have ever made for the money spent! If I drive my daily commute of 150 miles for 5 years, the car will very nearly pay for it's purchase price in fuel savings alone!

Dusty.

2002 Toyota ECHO Two door standard from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission standard Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance109000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Very good for a small car

Faults:

Nothing other than normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Great on gas - a great little car for the money.

For what I needed at the time, which was driving 120 miles a day, it was a good choice. My next car will be something a little bit bigger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2006

2002 Toyota ECHO 4-door sedan from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired6500 kilometres
Most recent distance28000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Summary:

The car is economical to run, unique in style and competitively priced.

Faults:

I have had absolutely nothing go wrong with the car other than having to replace the windshield wiper blades once.

General Comments:

The car is perfect for city driving and is very easy to park due to its size. I have not had to use it on the highway much, but did notice it sways a bit in high cross winds when traveling at higher speeds.

The car is very roomy inside compared to the VW Beetle that I had before the Echo. The panel and controls aren't as cramped as in the Beetle. It is also much better on gas.

Cost was definitely a factor when deciding on the Echo. I took over someone else's lease after one year with plans to purchase it after the lease expires.

I like the sporty look of the car although the tires are a bit dinky-toy-looking. It has been quite satisfactory on city roads in the winter and I do live in a part of the country that gets a lot of snow. However, I wouldn't want to be doing a lot of winter highway driving because of the small tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

2002 Toyota ECHO 1.5L from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.5L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired16 kilometres
Most recent distance33000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

This is the perfect city car.

Faults:

The floor mat under my clutch pedal foot wore out after a year.

The wiper blades cracked and shredded after 2 years.

The heater blower motor gave out after 2.5 years. It was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

The Echo is inexpensive to operate and undemanding to drive. Its small size makes it easy to drive and park in an urban setting.

Low fuel consumption is one of this car's strongest assets. It makes the Echo cheap to operate, and better for the environment.

It is surprisingly roomy for a small car and can seat 5 comfortably. The trunk is large and the rear seats can fold down for even more space. There are storage bins and pockets everywhere to control the clutter.

The Echo is also a very reliable car. Apart from a blower motor which gave out during a particularly Arctic-like winter, I have had no major mechanical problems.

A high profile and light weight make it susceptible to crosswinds. Small wheels and skinny tires make it tricky to handle on slippery, icy roads in winter.

It can get uncomfortable on long highway trips. You'll want to stop and stretch if you don't want a sore back.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th March, 2005

25th May 2005, 09:28

It is recommended that you change your wiper blades every 6 months. A handy tip is to change them when you change your tires, winter and summer.

2002 Toyota ECHO 4 Door standard from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission standard Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance27500 miles
Previous carFord Windstar

Summary:

The best all-around economy car ever made

Faults:

Nothing: this is one of the best cars ever made!

General Comments:

A few years ago I decided that I needed an economy car. After extensive research it came down to the ECHO or the Prius. After much consideration, I decided on the ECHO. I felt that the additional $8,000 or more for the Prius was not justified unless status was the main concern. The mileage is not that much better (it would never pay for the cost difference) and I feared that the relatively new hybrid technology would be outdated in a few years. I also felt that maintenance could be a problem after the car got out of warranty. On the other hand, the Prius feels a little better made and of course it runs much quieter.

I've had many small economy cars and I must say this little car is hands down, the best. With the 5 speed it is peppy enough, and the interior is incredibly spacious for such a small car. I like the quirky humpy look of the car (ugly like the old VW Bug). The trunk is also enormous (especially with the fold-down split rear seats).

A consideration in buying any car is resale. When I bought the car, I couldn't find a used one, or if a dealer got one, it sold almost instantly so I bought a new one. I decided to sell it four months ago and I thought it was money in the bank. To my shock, four months later the car is still unsold. Part of the reason may be a slow economy and the holiday season. The main reason my car hasn't sold, I think, is that it has a manual transmission. I've had numerous calls on the car, but when the caller understands that the car doesn't have an automatic they decline. Lesson: these days don't get a manual unless you want to keep the car forever or it is a sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2005

7th Feb 2005, 01:26

They're not discontinuing it. They aren't selling it in the USA after 2005, but it will be available everywhere else. We are still stuck on our stupid gas-guzzlers here.

I expect the Echo will make a return to the US after gas prices continue to rise.

8th Feb 2005, 10:16

"still stuck on our stupid gas-guzzlers here"

???

Hello? The most likely reasons for the failure of the ECHO to sell are its styling, both inside and out. There is ugly-cool, like the Honda Element and Scion xB, and there is just plain ugly, like the Pontiac Aztek... and the ECHO.

There are plenty of other non-gas-guzzlers that did and continue to sell very well in the US market, including the ECHO's predecessor, the Tercel, and the Corolla.

Toyota has already announced that the ECHO will be replaced with a "European-styled" model that will probably sell much better than the ECHO ever did!

18th Feb 2005, 12:27

Well, this car was just not practical to US market, and that's probably why it doesn't sell too well. Besides, the automatic and manual models do feel a lot different. The automatic version feels horrible as of acceleration and passing. And what's the difference between US car buyers and European car buyers? They can't drive stick, or just too lazy to drive them.

Also, this car doesn't feel safe enough to go 80mph on a windy highway. And American buyers do that a lot.

28th Jul 2006, 10:15

The Echo is being replaced by the Yaris, which has the same drive train, but different body, than the Echo. The Yaris has been on the market for several years in Europe and is very popular.

14th Feb 2007, 09:08

Re: last comment. What are you talking about?

14th Feb 2007, 11:54

Seems pretty clear. His cousin got got a possessed Echo and, like the movie Christine, it lead to her downfall. The school saw her driving the evil car and expelled her. Then the parking lot came alive and rejected the Echo, which got her depressed. Not sure if the parking lot was on the side of good or evil. And the Echo hated her fat friend as well.

Wonder if the Echo radio only plays songs from its production years.

28th Aug 2010, 04:11

Ha Ha that's very funny!!!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews