1990 Toyota Hi-lux Surf SSR Limited 2.4 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Brilliant car on road and offroad

General Comments:

An awesome car. Very comfortable and very easy to drive.

Very nice interior, and is a great car on the road and offroad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th September, 2008

1990 Toyota Hi-lux SSR Ltd 2.4 turbo diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Generally a GREAT car!

Faults:

- Cracked cylinder head

- Suspension needed replacing (too soft)

- Broken sunroof cables

- Cylinder head gasket needed re-tensioning after 100,000km

- Difficult to get a good wheel balance.

General Comments:

Being a Grey Import, the cylinder head problems with both the 2.4TD (2LTE) and 3.0TD (1KZTE) engines is the only factor that can dull the experience of owning a Hilux Surf.

It seems the capacity of the cooling system/fan is sufficient for Australian conditions ONLY if in top notch condition. If the engine has been badly maintained in Japan (as many of them seem to have been) then most problems will occur within the first couple of months of ownership in Australia.

The Surf is GOOD value for money. I highly reccomend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2003

14th May 2006, 10:10

Hi I have a 1990 toyota hilux surf limited edition 3.0l V6. it has some kind of oil leakage from underneath is there anyone who knows what might the problem be?

14th May 2006, 10:27

Does someone know how to change the speakers?

1990 Toyota Hi-lux SSR 2.8 diesel from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Rugged go anywhere ute that will last forever

Faults:

Nothing at all. Fitted a snorkel for water crossings, MT tyres and it goes anywhere like a dream! Added central locking too.

General Comments:

Very strong and reliable.

Cheap to run.

Easy to work on.

Beam axle suspension takes some getting used to.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2001

20th May 2001, 00:14

Toyota Hi-Lux SSR is a reliable vehicle. I've been using its models for about 6 years now and I am very happy with it. It's working perfectly even on the worst possible roads here in Pakistan's countryside.

It's comfortable as well as cheap to use, though the rear seats are bit uncomfortable, but still not that much.

2nd Jul 2001, 09:01

Cheap to run, good turbo, no intercooler though. Good and comfy on Philippine roads.

5th Sep 2005, 01:33

I found Toyota Hilux Surf - 1990 to be very comfortable and relatively cheaper. It is fit to drive in Eritrean roads. The traffic of our capital city, Asmara, is enjoying this cars with high performance and appearance.

Since, they arrive as used, most of them have poor fuel pumps resulting to smoke exhaust.

Estifanos Asrat

GEDECC P.L.C

Asmara, Eritrea.

17th Feb 2007, 17:35

Purchased my 2.4 surf two years ago and within 3 months the head overheated and blew up!

Replaced with a 2.8 (3L head) and the cars been brilliant ever since.

Had a small electrical problem recently ie: not enough current getting to starter motor. Easily fixed by good auto electrician.

This car runs reliably and comfortably... just about take you anywhere.