1986 Toyota Landcruiser HJ60 4.0 diesel (2H) from North America

Summary:

You can't beat a diesel Cruiser. Like an old rusty, trusty friend

Faults:

Leak in the radiator - steams now and then - $1200 for a replacement part because it is one of the old trusty all-brass rads. Still driving with the leak. This is the original part and lasted 500,000km!! No complaints.

Horn stopped working.

Rusty exhaust replaced.

No other problems.

General Comments:

Excellent, excellent vehicle, full of rusty character. The RUST on body and frame is by far the biggest (only?) problem with these vehicles.

I have the 6 cylinder diesel. Runs on dino-diesel, runs better on veggie oil, bio-blends.

AMAZING off-road performance.

Can move your entire house (60 inch plasma screen, couch, you name it). Slower than a city bus, but goes forever.

MOST of the parts on this truck are ORIGINAL - including the drive-train, diffs, rear drums, radiator, fuel and braking system etc at 500,000 km!!! If that is not amazing, I don't know what is.

I use it as a daily driver, I use it to get groceries, I use it for camping, I use it for skiing, and I offroad -- and it has not let me down once!

On a nice flat open highway it'll push 30 MPG - which is not bad at all for a 5000lb vehicle when loaded, driven by a 4 litre 1980s engine, on 33 inch offroad tires!

I would rather drive this than 90% of the new vehicles out there, and when the rust finally breaks its back at 1 million km, I will buy a new frame and do it all over again.

Out of 9 vehicles I have owned, including 2 brand new ones - this is the best one by a long-shot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2010

22nd Mar 2010, 10:37

You can use a fj62 rad in your HJ. Just turn the tube housing 45 degrees,(right on top of the thermostat), and reuse the HJ fan shroud.

23rd Mar 2011, 12:04

Great review about this great car!

I drove my 1987 HJ61 turbo-diesel 12.000 kilometers from Amsterdam to Beijing in 1 month, through Europe, Russia, Mongolia and China. It always performed great and I started to grow more and more respect for the quality and philosophy behind it: what you don't have (computer etc.), will not break down. And the things you have on a HJ61 are based on the "concept-simple", and what is simple can be fixed easily. Whether you are in a workshop or in the middle of Gobi-Desert. And then you'll see: nothing breaks down!

So after a while I decided to keep driving this one and to add another HJ60 (4.0 diesel without turbo) that is under restoration right now. In Europe driving a diesel is more common, but the engine quality appears to you as well. For the radiator it is also possible to have it "rebuilt" in a cheaper way then replacing it (I did, and had the capacity enlarged as well because I like to drive into far-away places and deserts and so on).

Have a long lasting joy! (You are not alone).

6th Jan 2013, 17:37

Could you please help me with your route and experience from AMS to BJ? As we are planning the same trip, with a Toyota or G class. Many thanks!

Van7allen@yahoo.com.

1986 Toyota Landcruiser FJ 62 3F from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Hard core, tough four wheel drive

Faults:

Motor crank snapped 243,000 km

Rear diff blew in Darwin,250,000 km

Gearbox disintegrated 270,000km.

Suspension upgrade, lift kit,250,000km

Rust above gutters, lifted roof,3".

General Comments:

With an expensive start and a total rebuild this 60 series is very cool.

As things went wrong I remodeled this vehicle to suit me.

It handles responsively and and is multi adaptable, as it still has its sunroof, seats 5,and can be slept in as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2004

10th Sep 2005, 05:33

I love the description you've given of your personalized FJ60. Do you have photos available? I'm particularly interested in the roof raise and general appearance of the vehicle.

Thanks.

26th May 2006, 00:31

I can supply pictures, e-mail me at: alchemaze@yahoo.com.au

I am about to start re building the ARB Bullbar, as we hit a fence Strainer Post and trashed it, on two wheels there for a bit!

I have also added a Huon Pine and Jarah wooden Dashboard, very cool.Cant stand Plastic,or silicon chips.

Also made a double Petrol/water Gerry Can (20 litre)holder on the back.

1986 Toyota Landcruiser FJ60 F2 from North America

Summary:

One tough, reliable, four wheel drive hill climber

Faults:

Nothing yet. I have done a lot of much needed maintenance such as hose and belt changes, tune up, fluid changes.

General Comments:

If you're looking for an off-road vehicle that you can use on road, this is it. Plenty of room, decent on road ride, very poor gas mileage, but hey, it's a Land Cruiser. Reliability when you are miles away from anything is what counts most.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2001

4th Sep 2006, 18:32

What's your gas mileage? I can't get more than 10mpg out of mine... driving granny style.

17th Nov 2006, 16:06

Properly tuned you should only get about 12-15MPG. Maybe a little more if you really tweaked it. If you have larger tires than stock make sure you account for that in your mileage calculations. If you have 31" or 32" tires then ad about 10% to your speedometerreading and the same for the odometer.

Make sure your timing is correct, good basic tune-up, and if your carb is really old, clean it out or rebuild it.