1998 Toyota Landcruiser Colorado GX from UK and Ireland - Comments

31st Aug 2001, 15:15

Hmmmm...I think either you are greatly exaggerating the amount of replacement clutches, unless you have been towing houses! Either that or your dealer has been trying to shut you up by claiming they have changed the clutch that many times, when all they have done is change the cable or nothing at all - happens all the time.

5th Sep 2001, 09:22

I've owned Landcruisers for 10 years. They tow power boats, jetskis, go off roading, cross ploughed fields, do 100 mph down the motorway with speed in hand, carry 8 people, go on pan European ski holidays and generally get hard use. Mine don't break...They're the best 4x4 around. Must be more to your case than meets the eye...

12th Oct 2001, 16:41

I agree with this man. Toyota's have been proven to be utterly unreliable every time. For genuine quality and proven reliabilty, drive European, preferably BRITISH and buy a LANDROVER!!!

1st Nov 2001, 14:33

Land Rover all the way, that's all I have to say, I have owned an older Toyota FJ40 and it was fine.

27th Nov 2001, 07:42

A strange one.

I have a three-year-old 3dr GX TD and it has been utterly reliable. Still, no make or model of car escapes the gremlins - years ago, my neighbour had a two-year-old Rolls which was forever breaking down!

10th Dec 2001, 14:49

A friend of mine bought a new Landcruiser in 2000, after a few hundred miles (of very careful driving) he experienced problems with transmission vibration. To the best of my knowledge, the clutch was replaced and the gearbox examined. However the problem was never solved and eventually (following a long battle) he was given a new replacement. Several mechanics that examined it believed the problem to be caused by a bent input shaft, so yours is not an isolated problem!

22nd Jan 2002, 22:18

I have owned 14 Land Cruisers in all (some were for parts), and at this time still own seven of them. The earliest being a 1959 FJ25, and the latest being a 1993 FZJ80. The only problems I have ever had is having to replace a clutch in my 1971 FJ40, and a couple of leaky power steering pumps. Four separate friends of mine have all had Land Rovers, and none of them have anything good to say about them. One of them changed to the Lexus 470, one to an FJ 40, and one to the Lexus version of the Highlander. The other is still dealing with his problems (ignitions, window motors etc.) I know there are lemons out there with any car, but with a Land Cruiser I doubt it is a problem with the vehicle, but more with the operator. Go out and buy a Jeep, then you will see what a blessing your Cruiser is.

19th Jun 2002, 07:34

Interesting comment about the cylinder head blowing.

I have a 3 yr old 3.0VXTD, and at about 46k miles exactly the same thing happened - again not the gasket, but a cracked head - expensive. Luckily this happened on the very last day of the cars warranty and was covered - Toyota themselves however were very disinterested even when I contacted one of the main board directors - company policy??

Apart from that I think the cruiser is a good solid well built offroad tower. Of course running costs are high and spares expensive this is a large vehicle with a lot of heavy engineering and moving parts.

If you need a 4x4 buy a landcruiser, if you want anything else buy a car!

16th Aug 2002, 13:58

I have bought a new Land Cruiser in 1998 and have covered 74,000kms.I never had any problems with this car. Whenever I drive it I get the feel that it will go on for many years without problems. This is not only my impression, but of other Land Cruiser owners with whom I speak. This is by far the best car I have ever owned.

30th Aug 2002, 03:21

You can criticize fuel consumption and harsh ride on the older ones, but never reliability. Land Cruisers are utterly reliable and many older ones have done several hundred thousand km with only minor repairs and skimpy maintenance - full stop. I know because I have owned two and among my friends we have had at least 10. The story about 4 clutches - well I don't know.

Do you want to amuse yourself with endless trouble with overheating and other breakdowns or practice your swearing -then go and buy a Land Rover. I had pleanty experience in the Army and elsewhere.

But - the since of possesion often turns sand into gold.

Piet - South Africa.

9th Oct 2002, 15:49

I agree as well. If you want quality buy a great British Land Rover. The true "Best 4x4xFar!"

24th Oct 2002, 15:57

The above mentioned vehicle has now done 6000 miles with the new cylinder head. The oil consumption in the last 6000 miles was 2.5 litres.

In addition, the vehicle will be going back to the body shop for further paintwork repairs due to corrosion on the front right hand side wing under the plastic wheel arch trim.

The interior fan switch has broken and should be replaced under the extended warranty offered as a goodwill gesture by Toyota GB.

The replacement clutch will be checked due to heavy juddering when the vehicle is cold.

I'm still not convinced about Toyota reliability.

Incidentally, I did own a Land Rover, but got rid of it due to astronomical running costs. It was a 1973 109 Station Wagon. I thought that vehicle reliability had improved since those days. This was in South Africa.

Please watch this forum for further updates on the reliability of this vehicle. Any test reports, independent surveys on build quality and other damning evidence (including documentation directly from Toyota JAPAN) is being offered free to potential Colorado buyers. E-mail capn_morgan@hotmail.com for more info.

27th Oct 2002, 14:17

As a committed Land-cruiser owner, I can only say that I am sorry that you have had such a poor experience. Comparing your story to others is cold comfort indeed. Personally I would rather cross the Sahara in a 20 year old cruiser than anything straight off the line at Solihull. My pal has had 4 brand new Disco's and has had heaps of expensive trouble with each and every one of them... and he keeps on buying them. Off the shelf I would acknowledge the superior ability of the Rover over the Toyota when the mud is measured in fathoms! But how often does that happen? For me, comfort and reliability every time...Toyota.

7th Feb 2003, 10:28

The latest saga in the ongoing Landcruiser debacle.

The vehicle has now been returned to Toyota for the following faults:

Heated rear window not operating. Caused by faulty plug.

Heated rear mirrors not operating. Caused by faulty relay.

Defective interior light switch that decides to turn itself on and off and discharge the batteries at its own convenience. (Not fun when you have parked the car at 2500m above sea level in the Alps).

It's time to start a fund raising drive in order to submit this case to the European High Courts.

24th Jun 2003, 16:27

Thank you all for your interest and comments on the above vehicle.

The vehicle has been sold on and hopefully I will be able to resume a normal life.

I have purchased a replacement vehicle. A motorbike.

Cars suck!

26th Dec 2004, 04:48

Surely this can't be! A Landcruiser that breaks down? Never! I've heard from scores of owners who swear that they've circumnavigated the Earth 27 times on a single oil change. "300 million miles and only a blown interior light bulb", they'll say. Apparently eroded big end bearings, blown diffs, snapped wheel studs, broken camshafts and other such problems don't actually cause Landcruisers to stop.