1992 Toyota LiteAce Wagon 1.5 from Philippines

Summary:

I love this car

General Comments:

The car has good performance in general.

I have had previous overheating experiences, but that was practically solved when I changed the cylinder head. Now the engine is running smoothly, even with air con switched on the temp. cannot even reach 1/4 on the gauge.

3 years after overhauling it, the car still runs good, though I changed the carburetor due to vibration when the engine was cold. Now the revs are as smooth as a new ride. You can hardly hear the engine revs when running at 80 to 90 kph.

Last April 2014 me and my family had a very nice trip from Binan Laguna to Bacolod with an overnight stopover in Puerto Galera and Iloilo. No problems at all with the air con running full time.

I had plans to change the engine to a diesel, but have decided not to push through with that now that I have very good 5k performance. With 70 to 80 kph, Highway Negros occ. fuel consumption reaches 11k/liter. My advice folks... don't rush... be easy with the accelerator... don't rev too much before changing gears. After all, it's just a commuter van with an undersized engine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2014

26th May 2014, 06:04

Your post is very encouraging, and I myself am a proud owner of a LiteAce GXL 1993. Though my ride is a bit temperamental. When I change gear from a high gear to a low gear, it suddenly loses power. This is where I need your advice on what to do. By the way, it happens when I have my air con turned on. What are the changes that I have to make? I seek your advice. Thanks in advance.

1996 Toyota LiteAce GXL from Philippines

Summary:

Nice car.. handy, easy to maneuver in turns..

Faults:

I just bought a Toyota Lite Ace...

I have some problems with overheating, but I think my mechanic is doing great solving it... he tweaked my spark plugs and it is doing great, but I know that it is not yet perfect...

My power is okay, just a little tweaking on the air intake...

General Comments:

I maintained the standard tires, and fitted it with roof rails and racks.. it really looks nice and cute...

I use it to drive to my office every day, and drive my family twice a month on long drives looking for beaches here in Manila, Philippines...

I would love to correspond with other Lite-Ace owners... email me at frontlinemedia7@yahoo.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th September, 2009

10th Jun 2011, 11:04

I also have a 96 model Toyota Lite Ace, and have a problem on its carburetor; one of the jets broke, and my mechanic has a hard time removing it. He recommends that the carburetor be sent to the machine shop, where the jet in question be removed. I am thinking of changing the whole unit - I mean the whole carburetor - do you think this is a nice idea, and if so, where can I get a good used carburetor, if not a new carburetor? Thanks.

22nd Apr 2013, 08:37

My mechanic had the same problem, and he got me a surplus carburetor, and it looks good. The engine feels so great... so I suggest you buy a new one. I paid 1800 for that.

1997 Toyota LiteAce Noah 2.0 petrol from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

A great compromise between a big car and a minibus

Faults:

The fuel economy has decreased slightly after having the cam-belt replaced. Don't know why.

General Comments:

This is the Liteace Noah Fieldtourer van/people mover sold in Japan and imported as second hand.

I brought the van as a part people mover and part camper as I took out the rear seat and installed a shelf that forms a bed, big enough for my boys to sleep in when camping. It performs both tasks fantastically. Also tows the trailer with quad bike without any problems. The van is tall and narrow but this does not alter it's almost car like driveability and being up high is a plus in traffic. The responsive two litre engine and auto makes driving in traffic stress free and highway driving is without any problems, passing at 100kph being quick and simple.

I had the cam-belt replaced recently and while the power is still there, the fuel economy has dropped from 11.4 km's per litre (27mpg) to 10.6 km's per litre (25mpg). Even this is better than others in it's class so I'm not complaining to much.

All in all, I find it difficult to fault this van and recommend it to anybody who needs to move 6 to 8 people without being to 'agricultural'.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2008

10th Apr 2008, 02:34

The timing belt has 'teeth' around it, and maybe when the new belt was installed, the teeth weren't lined up correctly with the cogs it runs around. If I were you, I'd get the timing checked out; this could be slightly out if the belt wasn't installed correctly.

26th Apr 2008, 04:58

I had a diagnostic check and it showed OK, with no error codes, although I must admit, there is a faint detonation sound under some load conditions. I'll try a timing light.

4th Aug 2009, 06:06

Just wondering if you imported the car yourself or bought it from a japanese import dealer based in Australia.