2003 Toyota Matrix Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2003 Toyota Matrix 1.8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired30 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Best car $16,000 can buy

Faults:

When car was less than year old I noticed that sometimes it takes a little longer for it to start. I took it to a dealer and they said it's within specifications. I wouldn't call it a problem, more of an annoyance, but it's still there, so I've learned to deal with it.

Windshield wipers didn't turn on few times when I pulled the lever down, seems like something is wrong with the wiring around steering column, but it hasn't happened again in at least a year, so I'm not too worried about it.

Tires are wearing out quickly and need to be replaced shortly at only 35,000 miles. Toyota uses cheap tires that don't last long, and replacement tires are relatively expensive (at least in my book).

There is a strange sound coming from the engine bay, a friend of mine says that I have a lifter in one of the cylinders that needs to be adjusted. It can only be heard when hood is open, so it's not a major concern and most people would never noticed it.

Seats were covered with attractive looking cloth, but it's starting to show signs of wear. Camrys and Corollas of comparable year seem to have more durable cloth.

General Comments:

This is a car that can be called Jack of All Trades. It can haul a lot of cargo, it's reasonably comfortable for 4 people, it's easy to parallel park (although turning circle is a bit wide), it's fairly easy to service (I do all changes on my driveway without having to raise the car), it gets 30 mpg on average, and in over four years it never broke down. However there are a few little things that I feel every potential buyer should know:

1. Air conditioning is weak, you might want to think twice about buying this car if you live in Houston or Phoenix.

2. Although on paper 1.8 liter 130hp (really about 125hp) looks good, it's pretty slow due to Matrix being relatively heavy. If merging on a busy highway is a concern for you, maybe something more powerful will suit you better. Or you'll learn to use "Overdrive Off" button frequently.

3. Transmission is very smooth and accurate, but during hard acceleration it pauses for a split second, it used to kinda bother me, but I got used to it.

4. Dashboard design and layout is top notch and you'll get positive comments on it (get used to it), however driving on a sunny day with sunglasses on can be a little tricky.

5. Seats are cheap and uncomfortable (at least for me). I'm used to hard, firm seats that are supportive on a long road trip. Matrix seats are made with foam that feels fine around town, but on a highway driving I feel like I'm sitting on the pillow.

6. I'm 5'8" and I'm wishing it had more leg room, if you are 6" or taller you would be uncomfortable.

But all of the above could be counter-balanced versatility of Matrix, and if you are living outside of urban core, north of Mason-Dixon line, and you are a slim, short person looking for an efficient, reliable transportation from point A to point B this is a car for you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2006

9th Nov 2007, 14:22

1. Toyota changed Driver Seat in Matrix around 2005, my parents have Base Matrix and it has adjustable Driver Seat, still my mom's Matrix is not much better then mine when it comes to leg room.

2. Maybe seats in XR/XRS have more flexibility, base model seat was a little Spartan back in 2002.

1st Feb 2010, 10:55

This is an update of my original post from 2006. I still own the above-mentioned Matrix and it has about 60,000 miles on it. No major breakdown to report, actually no breakdowns whatsoever. Tires were replaced and alignment was done on November 19, 2006 ($241.32 + tax) when car had about 35,000 miles on the odometer. Front brakes were replaced on May 25, 2007 and rotors were resurfaced ($80.99). Rear brakes were adjusted on April 26, 2008 ($19.99). Car still has original rear brakes. Battery has been replaced (MT35 Interstate $68.56 + tax) on July 29, 2009 (54,036 miles). I've replaced a serpentine belt in September of 2007 and it has eliminated a mysterious noise coming from the hood that I've described in my earlier post. I've also replaced transmission fluid around the same time. Other than the above-mentioned regular maintenance items, there were no issues with the car. It's not very fast, nor very comfortable, but it gets about 30mpg, it can haul tons of stuff and it's very dependable.

I still enjoy powerful heater, versatile interior and low operating costs. I've paid $16,750 for the car on June 2, 2002 and I can easily sell it for $7,000 today, therefore depreciation over 7 1/2 years comes to only $108 a month and since my maintenance and upkeep was about $750 (including oil changes and other maintenance I've done myself), Matrix cost me about $120 a month or mere $4 a day. These days you'll be lucky if $4 covers a roundtrip bus fare, so Matrix' virtues are unbeatable.

2003 Toyota Matrix XRS 1.8 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carToyota ECHO

Summary:

Fantastic car, bad clutch

Faults:

Cruise control stopped working at 50,000 haven't had it looked at yet. Shouldn't be a biggie.

The Clutch went at 30,000 miles. $900 dealer repair. B.S. First time Toyota screwed me, oh well, still love their cars.

Cheap AC Delco battery died after a year. My Toyota Echo battery (Toyota batteries) last 5 years and more.

Original tires were crappy, put some nice ones on, it's worth it.

General Comments:

You can't buy a better new car for $19,000. The six speed XRS is very fast and still gets 30-35 mpg. It takes hills with ease, the engine winds way up to 9,000 rpms and eats it up. With a better clutch this thing would have a very fast stock 0-60 and 1/4 mile. Once the clutch is engaged, hit the gas... and you're gone! It's got V-8, muscle car, throw your head back, acceleration with a gas saving 4 cyl. engine. It's got power everything, 6 speaker, cd radio, 17" wheels, great suspension, hugs corners, yet takes bumps. Feels solid at 90 mph passing someone on the interstate in the wind. Uses premium gas, but performs! Well built, sturdy interior with AC plug ins, and storage bins. Short shifter is nice also. Seats are a bit spartan, sport car type, but not uncomfortable on trips. Rear seats fold down for almost pickup-like cargo space. I have the silver color with 17" Toyota alloy wheels and it looks so great!

So, so fun to drive... With the 6 gears and the very high rpm range of the engine, you have a lot of options to get power out of the drive train at any speed.

Only complaint is the clutch, too soft, first plate wore out prematurely. I drive the same clutch for 150,000 miles on all my cars! Toyota was really sh%&&y about it too. No coverage, no help, wear and tear item they say. At 30,000 miles? After I griped enough the dealer finally offered some free maintenance...Bull! The new clutch is still too soft, I'll get a good stiff after market racing clutch next time. Got to keep this car for the duration. It's such a great blend of fun, performance, utility, dependability and thrift!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

19th Aug 2006, 07:51

Good point. When people will learn that they are paying for just the brand?!

19th Aug 2006, 16:50

I can't believe anyone would pay nearly $20,000 for a Matrix. You can get a Mustang for that, and it will blow the doors off anything in the entire Toyota line up.

20th Aug 2006, 08:07

The Matrix is a good car (or whatever it is!!) but the Pontiac Vibe (same car with a different grill) has a much better chance of having the warranty honored. GM is much more attentive to their customers than Toyota is.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 17 reviews