1985 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

1985 Toyota MR2 1.6 4age from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.6 4age Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired170000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carNissan Sentra

Summary:

Fun weekend toy, good daily driver.

Faults:

Normal wear, had to change the timing belt, new thermostat, usual tune-ups, keep in mind it's almost a 20 year old car. Had to replace a couple of valve cover gaskets, injector time switch.

General Comments:

It is an extremely reliable car, it hasn't let me down yet in all these years.

The Mr2 handles very well because of the Mid-engine layout. The Engine although only 112 hp, has enough rev-ability to make it a fun runabout. My only gripe about it is the lack of comfort the seats offer when making long distance trips, but hey you shouldn't be driving an Mr2 across the country now should you?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2004

1985 Toyota MR2 1.6 normally aspirated from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 normally aspirated Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired148000 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

A high-performance toy

Faults:

The valve cover gasket is currently leaking oil.

Interior leather on the steering wheel and shifter boot has started to crack.

Recently, a part of the exhaust system just before the muffler rusted through and needed replaced.

The clutch is starting to wear and needs replaced. The clutch is very old, however, and I am surprised it took this long to wear badly.

General Comments:

I got this car over the summer. I have owned several cars before, and driven many. I can honestly say that I have never driven anything which was more fun. It has more than enough power, and acceleration is phenomenal for a four-cylinder with 120 horsepower.

This car handles perfectly. There is no body roll, and it is most fun on twisty roads. The steering response is instantaneous, and the car has all the traction in the world. If you do lose traction, the center of gravity is right by your right elbow, and the car will just oversteer (the back end slides out from behind you).

I though my last car was fun to drive. I was definitely wrong. It is not possible to tell someone how wonderful this car is, to fully appreciate the fun of a lightweight two-seater, they must go for a ride in it. And to truly appreciate the joy of a mid-engine with rear-wheel drive, you must take one for a drive.

The seats are fairly comfortable, and there is more than enough legroom, although the pedals are small and close together. Shoe size 13 is about the biggest that would fit. Power steering is absent, and also completely unnecessary.

I don't think you could get a car which would be more fun to drive without paying over $100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2003

18th Feb 2005, 22:33

How much horsepower does a stock 1985 Toyota MR2 have?

24th Nov 2009, 11:59

I am thinking of getting a 1985 NA Mr2 for my first car (17). It has only 160xxx kms on it. How long do you think it would run? And what kinda problems could I run into? (tranny, heads)

Thank you.

1985 Toyota MR2 MK1 Coupe 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Not a car, A toy

Faults:

Blew up the engine on m11 because of lack of oil, my fault.

New radiator, alternator, starter motor, front shocks, exhaust, thermostat, clutch, master and slave cylinder, all due to hard wear.

General Comments:

The car is fantastic, runs like a dream.

The reason I haven't slated the reliability is purely the amount it has taken and kept going.

Although the car has had nearly everything replaced, it has only once broken down while driving.

Problems are mainly finding replacement parts, and the price of fitting.

You can have real fun in this car, it will easily out do most hot hatches of todays standard, if you opt for the supercharger model then be prepared to learn how to drive properly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2003

1985 Toyota MR2 1.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired200000 miles
Most recent distance215000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Most bang and style for the buck, definitely better than a Honda

Faults:

Nothing, just normal tune up procedures which I could do myself.

General Comments:

This car is great and fun to drive it's engine is so rev happy with a 7500 RPM redline, and the Toyota variable induction system or TVIS

It is great at cornering and has enough power to pass on the freeway.

The only two flaws are the restrictive stock air-box, which is easily replaceable with a high flow filter like K&N.

The seats are rather comfortable unless you have a lot of distance to cover, I've topped the car out at 129 MPH.

This car has some serious potential for the beginning driver.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2002

29th Apr 2004, 00:35

The MR2 is NOT a beginners car, get a Mazda Miata to learn on. The MR2 websites document the over-steer issues with this and most all rear/mid engine cars.

Keep good rubber on the back, or better yet, upgrade to 195/50X15 wheel package to cure the oversteer issues. Or train yourself to recover from a spin.

I learned by autocrossing many years ago.

I will not give a MR2 to my kid to learn on. Not good, no, no! How about a FX-16 or a old Corolla GTS. They get the same motor and sport treatment from Toyota, just not mid-engine.

Front wheel drive or front engine/rear wheel drive are much easier to learn on.

7th Aug 2008, 17:35

Yes, the previous comment is correct. My wife and I have owned 5 wedges and 6 X-bodies and I constantly break the wedges loose with childish impunity and it is the most predictable car when the tires break loose, ever made. The X bodies on the other hand I have had scare me twice. Once at high speed and most recently I floored my Automatic 2.2 93 off a light into a left turn. It had just started raining and I know that this is the slipperiest road you can drive on but what was most alarming wasn't that I lost control, It was that I couldn't regain it. What would have required letting go of the steering wheel to correct and grab when it straightens out (wedge tactic) turned into, 4 rather desperate moves to stay in the two lanes I had (only because no one was coming the other way)

I would give a kid a wedge to start with. My brother did and his son is an excellent driver. Just no X-Bodies. And in defense of X-Bodies they handle phenomenally well, but don't break them loose. Breaking loose in a wedge is so fun, you actually plan it.

1985 Toyota MR2 2 door 1.6 L from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carFord Probe

Summary:

Drive it like you stole it

Faults:

Speedometer cable broke.

General Comments:

This car runs good.

The original owner stored it in 1996 and I bought it in 2000, people thought it wouldn't start, well I proved them wrong, it started on the first crank. And it runs like a champ.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th January, 2001

1985 Toyota MR2 1.6L 16v from North America

Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership1986
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6L 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles

Summary:

A destined classic!

Faults:

Warped front rotors - design flaw.

Galley plugs replaced - top of the engine.

Sticking parking brake.

General maintenance.

General Comments:

This has been a joy to own and drive. I will own it forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2000

26th Mar 2012, 20:16

Rotors don't warp, they crack or have pads transfer material in different depths that end up making it feel whacky. Definitely not literal warping.

28th Mar 2012, 05:53

Rotors do warp if overzealous with air impact installed tire replacements. Use a hand torque wrench preset at designated torque. Then it will not be "wacky".

1985 Toyota MR2 1.6i 16v from Norway

Year of manufacture1985
Engine and transmission 1.6i 16v
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

The only thing that went wrong with it the year I had it, was that the pipe that goes to the oxygen sensor broke. I sold it because it started to rust.

General Comments:

It is a really fun car and it runs on fumes. Looks a bit ugly. But for the money I am not surprised that the prices have begun to rise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 1999

6th Jun 2001, 16:02

LOOKS A BIT UGLY!!! Are you kidding me, the MR2 is a sweet looking car.

5th Nov 2002, 10:43

The toyota mr2 is the best car toyota is the best speed car toyota has put out. GOOD GAS MILAGE AND VARY FAST

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 11 reviews