2000 Toyota MR2 Reviews

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder 1.8 1zz fe from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2011
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.8 1zz fe Manual
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired133000 miles
Most recent distance133010 miles
Previous carLexus LX450

Summary:

Good alternative to a Miata. Difficult to work on

Faults:

Bought the car knowing it needed a clutch. Didn't know about the common pre cat failure.

The headlights need a little polishing.

Chrome door handle peels a little.

General Comments:

The warm up catalytic converters have a bad habit of breaking up, the ceramic dust (which is very hard) scores the cylinder walls. This leads to excessive oil consumption. If you are looking at buying an MR2 from 00-02, check the pre cats by removing the O2 sensors and looking in with a flash light. That being said, it does handle well and has a nice exhaust note. You do have to drop the engine for any kind of gasket replacement though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2011

12th Apr 2011, 10:28

Glad you emphasized the problems with 2000 through 2002 models. Apparently, these engines should have been recalled. As one of many folks who lost thousands of dollars replacing the engine and exhaust system, I've been blogging about Toyota, and published a post with links to two major MR2 clubs - one in this country and one in Europe - that have been screaming about the issue for years: http://tinyurl.com/clm2uw.

I also discussed this matter in a recent article published by Torque News: http://www.torquenews.com/1/316-opinion-toyota-losin-reason.

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder 1.8 from Australia and New Zealand

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance106000 kilometres
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned!

Faults:

Had to replace an instrument cluster bulb. Other than that... absolutely nothing!

General Comments:

The MR2 is a true sports car. Perfect handling and exciting performance matched with Toyota reliability makes the MR2 a true gem! Highly recommended for serious fun!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2008

2000 Toyota MR2 Roadster 1.8vvti from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.8vvti Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance32500 miles
Previous carFiat Seicento

Summary:

Fun, exciting and stands out from the crowd!

Faults:

OK so only had car 6 weeeks, and no problems to report yet (fingers crossed).

General Comments:

I waited 20 years to own an MR2, was a teenage dream that finally materialised. And I have not been disappointed. OK so you can't fit more than two carrier bags in it (no boot - engine in there, and bonnet space houses spare tyre!) but hey I didn't buy it as a family car! Fast, nippy, easy to park (crucial for us females!) and OK on petrol. Holds the road like glue. Overall have been very pleased and have the 'grin factor' every time I get behind the wheel. Go buy one, don't think you'll be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2005

2000 Toyota MR2 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Golf

Faults:

A knocking noise started - I took the car to a garage and found out the con-rod bearings had started to turn on the crank. Fitted new bearing`s, but started to do the same.

Took it to another garage and fitted a new crank. Garage mentioned to me that with the 1zz fe engine, this was a common known problem, costing me £1500.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th August, 2004

2000 Toyota MR2 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carNissan Almera

Summary:

Lots of fun, but not perfect

Faults:

Case-end bearing failed in gearbox.

Starting to sound tappety?

General Comments:

Most of us want some sort of balance between sportiness and practicality. For this reason I think an MR2 Roadster is best enjoyed as a second car. When you have driven it for a while you want to be in something quieter, plusher and roomier. When you haven't driven it for a while you are desperate get in and enjoy it as the go-kart it is.

Its mainly my wife's car. It was bought privately with a full Toyota service history. We decided that the hardtop/leather/aircon was a must have, and they are.

Early ownership was a big disappointment. The case-end bearing failed just out of warranty. Toyota helped a little bit with the costs, but we faced a £600 bill on a 3yr old 20,000 mile car with full main dealer service history. After the work was done, my wife suffered a breakdown with no gears because Toyota had not tightened up all the bolts properly. Since then they have serviced the car and left dust caps off the wheels, forgot to stamp the book and didn't give it a wash.

Otherwise its been great. Its light, nimble, chuckable and grippy. It hasn't got huge straight line shove, but its swift and will keep up with all kinds of things on twistier roads. In some ways the power is about right because you don't find yourself in unexpected powerslides on wet roads. Its scary enough in the snow! (There are turbo conversions available now for the brave!)

The fabulous brakes are one of the best features of this car. They give you enormous confidence going into corners.

The fuel consumption is pretty good (mid 30s) and insurance is OK.

Much is written about the lack of luggage space, but if two of you are going away for a weekend, you do have enough space for everything. Just don't expect to get the posh luggage set in! You pack an MR2 like you pack a rucksack for camping, using every small nook and cranny for your stuff.

The seats are surprisingly comfortable although you'll get a bit claustrophobic during long stints on the motorway. The optional hardtop is an essential add on and well worth the extra if longer journeys in the winter are likely. The MR2 suffers a bit from scuttle shake which is acceptable when cruising on a hot day, but not day in-day out. The hardtop stops this. It also adds to the styling.

But this car is for summer days with the top down. It has a modest posing factor and is enough of a real sportscar in terms of its styling and drive for it to shrug off any "hairdresser" labels.

If you can travel light, appreciate a sportscar and like the styling then this is the car for you. A second (bigger) car will make ownership even more of a pleasure. Just watch Toyota closely when its service time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

30th Nov 2004, 06:26

Hmmm, not sure if this car is going to be with us for much longer. Too many common faults are coming to light. Alloy wheels bubbling & corroding, (early ones all did this) but can't claim on corrosion warranty. Front suspension top mounts need replacing (they all need this). Front headlights mist up (they all do this) etc etc. And although it hasn't happened to us yet, there are lots of 1.8 Toyota engines failing at the moment. Also, get the wrong tyres, and that great handling becomes very dodgy on wet (and sometimes dry) roundabouts. Hate to say it, but the honeymoon could be over.

9th Mar 2005, 13:46

Just a few comments on the roadster the alloys on my first one started to blister, but they changed them under the warranty agreement. the only problem I have with my new one is the rear indicator and reversing indicator have got condensation in and have had them changed twice, but no good. i was told that this was an acceptable amount of condensation. when will Toyota admit there is a fault and re design them. this is my seventh car from Toyota and if not corrected will be my last.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews