2000 Toyota MR2 Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2000 Toyota MR2 Roadster 1.8 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance22000 miles
Previous carNissan Micra

Summary:

An excellent sports car at an excellent price

Faults:

I have had the Toyota MR2 for six months and nothing has gone wrong so far.

General Comments:

This car is great to drive. Easy around corners and great grip on the road.

The car is greatly comfortable to drive, no matter what anyone else says, it is comfortable.

The Toyota MR2 may not be practical space wise, but no one would buy it for the practicality of space, but saying that I have shopped in it and am able to fit in my whole two weeks supermarket shop with ease!...

It is a fun car, gets the most amount of admiring looks from passer by's and even those in a Porsche or Jag can't help, but look!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2003

2000 Toyota MR2 Spyder 1.8L 1ZZ-FE from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8L 1ZZ-FE Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance29800 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

To sum it up, the MR2 can't be beat for the value, performance and overall Toyota quality.

Faults:

Driver side headlight seal began to leak while still under warranty (~5K miles) no cost to me.

General Comments:

I'm on my third "Mister Two." I fell in love with the MR2 in 1985. Bought one of the first Twos brought into the US. Then traded for a 1988 MR2 supercharged BEAST when they became available. Talk about a kick in the pants!

You gotta love the mid engine, rear wheel drive, manual transmission advantage. I have always felt like I can reach out and touch all four corners of the MR2. The 1985, the 1988 SC AND the 2000). I definitely like being in total control. The car is an extension of me AND I'm a part of the car.

I regret that I never snagged an MKII during the 1990s. I would gladly donate an eye, kidney, etc. to have an MKII turbo that has been pampered by it's original owner, while, of course, simultaneously keeping my 2000 MKIII.

I NEVER want to be without a "Mister Two." You simply cannot find another mid engine car that is affordable, reliable and so much fun it's probably illegal in socialist countries.

Virtually no stowage space in the 2000 MKIII, but why should I care? That's where my old reliable 4x4 Toy' pickup comes in handy; for trips to the lumber yard and bad weather days.

I hope Toyota never scares us again by cutting us off from the MR2 like they did in the late 1990s here in the USA. Keep your Miatas, MGFs and such.

Zoom, Zoom my arse! Gimme a "Two" any day!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2003

2nd Oct 2013, 16:49

You're absolutely right. I've been wanting one since I saw the 1985 version. Finally sprung for one in 2005 when my husband got tired of me going to the Toyota website and asking him, "Isn't it pretttttyyyyy????" Bought used with 23,000 miles. Put 90,000 miles on it myself (70,000 of those were quite literally city miles) and had to replace the throttle control motor. Oh, well! Still loved it!

2000 Toyota MR2 Roadster 1.8 VVTI from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVTI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A high performance comfortable gem

Faults:

A hinge cover on the inside of the roof snapped off by accident. This was caused my catching my finger on it while retracting the soft top. First thoughts were that this would be easy to fix, but after visiting the local Toyota dealer and many subsequent phone calls it turned out that a whole new roof was required. A new roof was fitted, but since the dealer had never completed such a job before the roof was incorrectly installed. The mechanism jammed and bent. Another new roof needed to be fitted (again on Toyota Warranty). This time the dealer contracted the work to a local soft-top specialist. After a couple of months the second roof was installed. So far it has caused me no problems.

General Comments:

Apart from the issues that I've experienced with the roof, I can honestly say that the car is nothing short of fantastic.

Although the storage space is very limited, I often travel to London by myself in it with a Laptop computer and manage to get by without any problems.

Performance is great, 0-60mph in about 7.5 seconds. Also it's a perfect city car as it's small and accelerates quickly so you can easily get yourself out of difficulty. I can get 40 miles per gallon if the car is driven efficiently.

The car handles well. The Bridge stone tyres that it comes with are excellent although wear down quickly. The wheel alignment was badly adjusted on mine from new and the front tyres wore down after 12k miles. The rear tyres made 20k. The car now has Dunlop tyres on it and the handling is not as good, though still more than acceptable. The car is light and can be affected by high winds in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

2000 Toyota MR2 Roadster 1.8 VVTi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 VVTi Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance14500 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

What all sports cars desire to be

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car since new, not even any re-calls.

You just can't say fairer than that.

General Comments:

This is one quick car, think 0-60 in less than 8 seconds. It's great fun to drive too. Thankfully, the speed and fun doesn't take too much away from the comfort.

Light power steering, supportive seats and decent fuel economy (38mpg!) make this a nice everyday car to use.

The roof is very easy and quick to take down, plus it has a heated screen built-in!

It can be awkward to get in and out of the car, especially in car parks, but what fun!

Don't ever expect to be able to carry any more than a sports bag though, there is no boot, only storage boxes behind the seats...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 15:20

I'd agree with all that. It's very comfortable despite me being 6'3 and long in the leg! Mine does have a couple of small interior rattles, otherwise it seems to be well built.

26th Sep 2001, 12:51

The poor man's Boxster.

13th Oct 2001, 10:57

Yes. It has most of what the boxster has to offer but half the cost!!

The boxster is worth the extra.. every penny in fact.. but budget sports cars have never been better.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 9 reviews