1993 Toyota Paseo 1.5L from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Good for a first car

Faults:

I owned this car for 2 days, took it into the mechanic and was told the block would need replacing.

A week later the mechanic called and said as a result of the sellers mucking around with the engine, the engine would need to be replaced. This along with a new power steering pump cost me $2000.

Had the boot rack replaced at 135000kms.

General Comments:

If I hadn't of picked a dud, I think I would have really liked this car.

It was great for me while I was at Uni, and used 3/4 a tank of fuel to get from Newcastle to Canberra.

Used a lot of oil, we never discovered why.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th November, 2009

1993 Toyota Paseo 1.5L 5EFHE from North America

Summary:

Fast and fun ride with great reliability and gas mileage if maintenance is kept

Faults:

Spun a main bearing at 155000miles (previous owner seriously abused it).

Throwout bearing went bad (was old)

Idle is high (vacuum leak somewhere)

Driver seat has a hole worn in to it from daily use.

Suspension is old and needs replaced.

Exhaust is a joke. (i don't really have much of one)

General Comments:

I bought the car in terrible condition.

Put a 5EFHE engine in it (out of a Toyota Cynos in Japan)

Engine performance is great.

Handles tight corners well, even with poor suspension.

Love the car.

If average maintenance is kept, car will last a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th October, 2008

21st May 2013, 04:04

Hello. I need 5E-FHE service or repair manual. Any suggestions?

1993 Toyota Paseo 1.5 from North America

Summary:

Extremely reliable car for very low maintenance

Faults:

The head gasket for the manifold had to replaced multiple times (about 3 times in four years). Also the exhaust had to be replaced due to rust.

Although overall the body is holding up well, rust is beginning to spread around the windows on both doors.

Cabin noise while cruising at highway speeds is becoming excessive, despite the exhaust being recently serviced. I speculate that it's a suspension problem, but I really have no idea.

General Comments:

Other than regular maintenance and upkeep (e.g. oil changes, tires, etc.) I find the car extremely easy to own and operate. I am still surprised that after a significant period of time and kilometers, I still have not run into any problems with the engine, transmission or cooling systems.

I jokingly have said that my goal is to get to 500,000Km, but there really is no reason why I can't get to this goal. (Other than the rust eating away at my car, of course)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2008

1993 Toyota Paseo from North America

Summary:

A fun, gas saving, reliable, trusted friend

Faults:

Engine seal blows a little oil at highway speeds at 100,000 miles.

Driver seat has wear where you get in.

Replaced water pump at 80,000.

Changed thermostat to a higher one because heat was always an issue - it never warmed up.

General Comments:

Car handles tight and has a great turning radius.

Still gets great gas mileage at 30 mpg.

Car does not have super fast pick-up and driving in the mountains cannot be done well with the air-conditioning on.

Air conditioning unit still works like day 1.

Can store quite a bit in the hatchback as I am a musician and this car can hold 2 61 note keyboards including stands and luggage.

Living in Chicago with snow and salt has no affect on the body of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2008

1993 Toyota Paseo 1.5L DOHC from North America

Summary:

Great alternative to a 90's Civic

Faults:

Engine gets too warm after 10 minutes at 70 mph, but cools off after getting off the highway. It almost overheats on 115 degree days. I flushed the coolant and added 70% mix. No change. This is Phoenix in August, but I'll have to have it looked at eventually.

Other than that, it's flawless after 163,000 miles. It looks like it was well maintained and garaged.

General Comments:

This car looks to be an excellent little inexpensive commuter. My son crashed my ECHO, another great car by Toyota, so I didn't feel like spending money right now while my cars are at the mercy of young drivers. I was looking for a older Civic to drive until my son was out of the house.

I ran into this clean little Paseo. They wanted $3,000 at a little car lot. I saw a few Paseos around, and being a Toyota fan, was intrigued by them. I figured that they were gutless, and too small and rare. I just wanted a Civic, plenty of them around, good reliability, good MPG, etc. However, I drove the Paseo and was impressed! I liked it better than the Hondas I drove and I bought it.

After a few thousand miles, I like it more and more! It's pretty fast, it handles really great, and gets 35 MPG!

It's a two seater, the back seats are useless for anyone above 5' tall. It's tough getting in and out of like any sports car you have to almost crawl in and out, but once inside, very comfy during my 60 mile daily commute. It hasn't burned a drop of oil yet, so I'm crossing my fingers that the motor is good, sure feels good.

It drives much like a Celica as far as how it handles, very tight suspension, low to the ground, but not too low, I can take any speed bump out there. Looks like it has newer shocks and struts.

The engine has a very high wind up, it red-lines at 7000 rpm, so you have lots of room to rev in all gears to pass, etc. I'd only buy a 4 banger with a 5 speed manual tranny, automatics are too gutless unless you have at least a V6. I had it up past 90 mph and it's rock solid, this car could go 140 at least. I really like this Paseo!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2006

18th Aug 2006, 10:41

You're car only has 100 hp (probably measured at the crank so it most likely only has 80 hp at the wheels with 91 ft/lbs of torque at the crank.

Your car won't get much over/near 110.

21st Aug 2006, 00:28

I dunno, I'll bet ya I could go faster, it's all about gearing, you put the right gearing in any engine and it will go about as fast as you want it to, that is, if you can keep it on the road. Looking at my RPMS and doing the math, it's not brain surgery. Horsepower really doesn't do it, I could go 150 mph with a weed eater engine if I had enough gears. But really unless I want to go to Joe Arpaio's tent city in Phoenix here, I'll probably not ever go that fast. Well, Unless I spend my weekends at some drag strip as ricer boy, but that would mean I don't have a life. If you really want to drive 100+ mph on a regular basis then join a NASCAR team with Billy-bob or live in the Fast and Furious fantasyland. I'll bet if I put a huge spoiler on the back it would increase my HP.

20th Feb 2007, 15:09

These little cars are really just get around cars if you don't try to race them you will have it for a long time.

3rd Nov 2008, 10:41

I had overheating problems. I'd get on the freeway, then had to get off because it kept overheating, then it'd cool... and on and on and on.. I had to replace the thermostat and fix a blown fuse that was powering the fan. No probs since. You may want to do that.