1992 Toyota Previa Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1992 Toyota Previa LE All Trac 2.4 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired273000 miles
Most recent distance291000 miles

Summary:

Toyota. Well built to last

Faults:

It has been a very reliable car, no problems, only normal wear and tear with the mileage.

Very comfortable; it still handles good for the mileage.

Last month I was thinking of retiring the vehicle, because I suspected the head gasket was bad due to missing and lots of white smoke at start up, but it wasn't the case; the starter went out and replaced it, and it runs real good again. So I highly recommend this vehicle to anyone; it's too hard to break it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2006

13th Jan 2006, 09:44

The starter wouldn't cause the car to miss or smoke, its used to start the vehicle only!

14th Jan 2006, 23:54

What was the cause of the "missing and lots of white smoke at startup"? How was that fixed? My '93, after 13 years and 205,000 miles has those symptoms.

18th Apr 2006, 13:04

At 200,400 miles my Previa needs a new starter. No smoke, but it would not turn over intermittently as if battery were dead (has new battery). Fortunately it acted up at the repair shop today and they were able to diagnos it.

1992 Toyota Previa GLX 2.2 litre four from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.2 litre four Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 kilometres
Most recent distance350000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Reliable, proven, quality transport

Faults:

The auto transmission is starting to slip intermittently, the trim on the seats are starting to wear.

Replaced two starter motors (exchange)

The rear brake light bulbs often blow in the rear door. (I think this is from the closing (slamming) of the rear door.

General Comments:

Highly reliable vehicle it has never let us down, smooth operation in transporting my wife and five children in comfort.

The driving position is comfortable, the cabin is spacious especially the raked wind screen which provides excellent forward vision from a high vantage point.

The positioning of the motor centralised and lowered affords the Pervia with car like handling, after 350 000 km the vehicle is still going strong.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 2005

1992 Toyota Previa GX 2.4 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carVolvo 740

Summary:

Huge, reliable, comfortable family car

Faults:

Dealer-fit air con failed 3 times (refills).

Idle went hay wire.. just a cable that needed adjusting.

Cooling pipe rusted through, causing a leak.

Radiator got scaled up, causing overheating (almost certainly caused by the amount of tap water that went through the system during the above leak period).

Toyota badge on the back lost its chrome!

General Comments:

Very reliable, apart from the dealer-fit air con.

Fast enough, for an 8-seat MPV, and cruises well on the motorway.

Reasonably comfortable ride for passengers on country roads.

Lots and lots of space to separate squabbling children & accommodate luggage.

Fairly expensive to fuel and service.

Basically, if you need a car this big, it's brilliant, if you don't, you'd do better with something cheaper and more agile.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th May, 2001

1992 Toyota Previa GL 2.4 from Germany

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15 kilometres
Most recent distance337000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Kadett

Summary:

The most reliable car I ever heard of

Faults:

Both catalysers (each 2000 DEM) were changed at 200.000 km.

Front brakes (disc) were changed at 240.000 km.

Alternator.

All pumps are still original.

Car never let me down - now show me one other car with the same performance at these kilometers!!

General Comments:

It is true that the car is mainly driven on highways, but I am still very surprised at the real quality of Toyota cars. It is not very nice, it is not quiet, it does not have the best seats, the interior is very "plastic", BUT it is extremely reliable, the whole car is very well built - quality, and nevertheless it has a lot of space - not like the other vans (too little space in the back when six people are in them).

I had always thought the most reliable and best built cars were made in Germany (BMW, Mercedes, Audi), but my experiences with Japanese cars (Toyota, Honda, Nissan) and my experience with the Previa at 340000 km changed my beliefs!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2000

13th Dec 2000, 15:55

You are totally right, I had same experiences with a Previa!!

29th Jul 2001, 22:47

I was the owner of a 1985 Toyota van. Had 114,000 miles on it when purchased. Figured I could get a couple of years out of it. Had 232,000 miles on it when I sold it 9 or 10 years later! Great vehicle! Plan on getting another one.

1992 Toyota Previa GL Auto 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.2
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Nothing. In 7 years. Apart from one tiny piece of interior trim which covers a screw. And I've got 3 kids who seem content half the time to try to wreck everything.

General Comments:

Front seats supremely comfy. The Japanese-market versions have captain seats all round: much better, although only 6/7 seats. Great visibility for kids. Great space inside: 6 men plus 6 golf bags, with ease.

Great handling, cruises at 85. Relatively high running costs, but then what d'you expect from a bus? Easy to drive, even by my 5' nothing wife. Would I buy another one? Why would I buy anything else!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 1999

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews