2008 Toyota Prius Touring from North America

Summary:

A fine example of affordable clever engineering

Faults:

Annoying tire leaks fixed after too many dealer visits. Trim strip came off of top. That's it!

Twelve volt battery gave up the ghost after six years. I'm not complaining.

General Comments:

We have 110,000 miles on this thing. It still performs beautifully.

Just installed a set of Michilens after having Bridgestone. MPG dropped, but the ride is much nicer.

I recommend these cars to everyone that needs a reliable daily commuter. I'll probably drive this and park my 2500HD after buying my wife a new Prius.

Note: A payback on the premium paid for a hybrid will take approx. 10 years of ownership. Be advised.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th March, 2015

2008 Toyota Prius Touring #4 1.5 from North America

Summary:

Excellent, will buy again

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, only manufacturer's service...

General Comments:

The Prius has been excellent, no problems of any kind.

It is driven daily in mixed city/highway, fuel mileage is always between 45 and 48 MPG.

The only thing I think it needs is a telescoping steering column, and more adjustments for the driver's seat...

So far this has been my most favorite automobile, and I have owned many...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd February, 2012

12th Nov 2017, 17:35

Our Prius has been traded after 10 years and 102,000 miles. I must say the Prius is an excellent automobile, absolutely no problems of any kind, only scheduled maintenance. We never had to replace the brakes, and only one set of tires. We wanted to purchase a new 2017 model, but the high price could not be in our budget; such is life.

2008 Toyota Prius from North America

Summary:

I recommend this vehicle

Faults:

The most problematic issue has been with the left front tire exhibiting a slow leak. We have visited the dealer twice for this. Not yet fixed.

General Comments:

This car is a perfect commuter platform. The fuel mileage is right on par with a consistent 47-48 mpg in town. On the highway, 45 mpg is typical.

For me personally, I wish it was about five percent larger. I have a bit of a hard time being seated, but once situated, all is well. I suppose being 6'2"/200 lbs has something to do with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2011

2008 Toyota Prius Touring Hybrid from North America

Summary:

Excellent, would buy again

Faults:

Nothing, it has been perfect so far.

General Comments:

We were looking for a new car, one with excellent fuel economy and reliability.

After looking and test driving many makes and models, we decided on the Prius Touring model. The dealer did not have any in stock and could not find what we were looking for in options and color. The dealer found one on a ship that would arrive in Jacksonville, Fl in about three weeks, we agreed on a five week delivery, which came.

We really like the Prius; roomy, comfortable, great storage room. The car is used as our primary vehicle for our work commute and trips. We average 45 to 48 mpg each week. The car has been back to the dealer only for scheduled maintenance. No issues or concerns so far.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2009

14th Jul 2017, 16:59

This is a follow up of my previous review. Today is July 14, 2017; our Prius has crossed the 100,000 miles and I can say the car is absolutely the most trouble free automobile that we have owned!!!

2008 Toyota Prius from North America

Summary:

Interesting but flawed

Faults:

Faulty suspension component caused premature tire failure and clunking noise.

Antilock brakes do not work in snow (handbrake works better!)

Traction control immobilizes car if it senses slightest slippage - causes vehicle to come to a stop on gravel roads that other cars have not problems with.

Has more rattles than any other vehicle I've owned.

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable and the mileage is truly amazing. We live in the Sierra Nevada foothills, and my evening commute takes me from 100 feet above sea level to 2700 feet over 52 miles. The overall mileage that this car has achieved over 26k miles is 48.7 mpg. Very impressive considering the mix of freeway stop and go, 75 mph uphill runs, etc.

The car has experienced a surprising number of glitches, including a faulty suspension component, antilock brakes that are worthless in extreme conditions, traction control that works poorly, and numerous squeaks and rattles. Not at all what we expected from a Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009