2000 Toyota Solara SLE 6 Cylinder from North America

Summary:

Highly Recommended

Faults:

Oxygen Sensor behind firewall went bad causing engine light to come on at 42,000 miles.

Plastic Wood grain on dashboard pulling away at 30,000 miles.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I have ever owned. No other vehicle that I have been in rides as smooth as this vehicle. My next car will be another model year of the Solara or, a Lexus.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2005

5th Jan 2007, 12:36

...and wouldn't Lexus be Japanese?

7th Mar 2009, 23:49

I just bought a 2000 Solara SLE loaded, near new condition off a car lot. Needed a decent car for my wife. Thought about buying a new car around 15 to 20k +- but after looking around, I found this car, negotiated to 7,500 from 12,000 sticker. This car is everything I've been looking for in a vehicle and can't believe I never paid attention to a Solara before. I'm glad I didn't buy a new car. I got so much with this one for the price. We are both pleased so far. I'm looking for another one that I can drive for me now. No complaints yet.

2000 Toyota Solara SLE 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

Good quality sporty vehicle

Faults:

Traction light came on once and engine almost died. Dealer could not duplicate problem. Reset the traction light, and problem never came back. Squeal from brakes when car is moving at a slow speed. (such as going through a parking lot) very embarrassing.

General Comments:

Good looking car. I love the quality and appointments. Very smooth riding engine and transmission. Seats are not very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2004

2000 Toyota Solara SLE 3.0 from North America

Summary:

One of the best cars I have owned

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

Love the way the car feels on the road and has great pick up and go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th November, 2003

2000 Toyota Solara SE 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

A fuel-efficient, reliable coupe whose only fault is a somewhat bouncy suspension

Faults:

The driver's side power window control failed. This minor glitch was replaced under warranty.

General Comments:

Equipped with a 5-speed manual shift transmission - the top two gears being overdrives - the Solara has turned in 34 highway MPG on several occaisons.

The four-wheel disc brakes are anti-lock equipped and function quite well.

The regular lube and oil changes - per the factory-recommended 7500 mile interval - are quite reasonable at the dealership in Placerville, CA. The total cost is less than $23.00.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th June, 2003

2nd May 2006, 17:50

You're extremely lucky to have a stick-shift Solara! All the Solaras I see on the road have auto tranny's.

2000 Toyota Solara SE V6 3.0 V6 from North America

Summary:

The Mercedes of Toyotas

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with the car, except the domelight switch got jammed and I broke it off. This may have been lo-jack installation related because it happened shortly after it was put in.

General Comments:

Great car. Best one I've ever owned. It runs strong and looks good. It looks even better after a tint is applied. Plenty of people are interested in suping up the Solara, but even before that the car borders on perfection.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th September, 2000