2000 Toyota Solara Reviews

2000 Toyota Solara SE V6 from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired43000 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Everyone should own one

Faults:

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car.

Resume on the cruise control does not always work.

The check engine light has been going on and off for the past few months. Having it looked at this week.

General Comments:

This is by far the best overall car I have ever owned. It is reliable, comfortable, good on gas, handles and rides beautifully for a car its size and very powerful. My next car is a Solara convertible!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st August, 2009

6th Nov 2012, 09:29

Update to my original posting above: I now have 121,000 miles and have replaced 2 oxygen sensors and the starter. Not bad at all for a 13 year old car! It still runs like the day I bought, and my only regret is that it doesn't have a sunroof.

Handling is amazing for a car of its size and age; power from the V6 is still incredibly strong.

My next car is either a Camry or Lexus ES300, simply because I'd rather have a sedan.

2000 Toyota Solara SLE from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carAcura Legend

Summary:

Another dependable Toyota

Faults:

Timing belt was apparently changed just before I took ownership at 89,000 miles. Since then, I have only had to replace the front rotors/pads and one of the O2 sensors on the exhaust.

General Comments:

Very reliable car! Not very performance oriented, but it gets the job done EVERYDAY!

Suspension is a little soft and exhibits moderate body roll, acceleration is slower than I expected (granted I never rev it past 4000 rpm)...

Overall, the past 60,000 miles of ownership have been a pleasure.

Buy one and don't worry about a thing.

Thanks Toyota!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2009

12th Oct 2009, 10:29

I can understand why you like your 2000 Solara. I've owned my Solara 2000 SLE Convertible since it was new and to speak of its been trouble free and looks as good as the day I purchased it. I really enjoy the way people are amazed when I tell them its almost ten years old. I have 75,000 miles and hope to get another 75K. Two of my racquetball buddies have purchased Solara as well and are also avid owners as well.

2000 Toyota Solara SE Convertible 2.2L from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.2L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Nice looking affordable convertible

Faults:

Brakes, tires, air filter, general stuff.

General Comments:

We just purchased this car in Texas as we can't get a 2.2L with the convertible in Canada. The car is in very good shape with a few paint issues, just a few scratches and a small touch up job on the 1/4 panel. We know the car will be good as it drives and runs almost exactly like our '95 Camry SE we owned a few years ago. The power however seems to be better with the Solara and the handling is nicer too. I love Toyota's :-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2008

2000 Toyota Solara SE 2.2 I-4 Gas from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.2 I-4 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance133038 miles
Previous carHonda Accord

Summary:

Outstanding

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong. This car has been extremely reliable and satisfying. Very routine maintenance only.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and nice looking. I would highly recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd November, 2007

2000 Toyota Solara from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Wonderful little car

General Comments:

Fabulous little machine. Cannot say enough good things. Love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th June, 2007

2000 Toyota Solara from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance47000 miles
Previous carToyota Solara

Summary:

Excellent car, love solara!

Faults:

You should be careful with the hood. I tried once to remove bugs and left a dent because it is not very solid.

General Comments:

Change oil on time, fuel up and you are all set :)

Very happy with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2007

2000 Toyota Solara SE 4 cylinder from North America

Model year2000
Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired61000 miles
Most recent distance93500 miles
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

Very reliable toyota with good gas mileage and a simple design

Faults:

Same back tail light has been replaced twice.

Front axle makes a sound on hard turns.

Gas meter only goes to 1/4 full never E.

Engine sounds like a "sewing machine" when idling.

Exterior paint is fading on the roof and trunk from sunlight.

General Comments:

When I bought this car in 2004 it ran great, but had to take it back to the dealer twice within the next few months after the check engine light came on. Once was a leak in the coolant holder, another was a transmission problem that was not too expensive to fix.

We purchased the 3 year warranty with the car that covered the costs. The dealer was generally speedy on the repairs.

I feared I had bought a lemon! HOWEVER, since then the car has had zero problems.

The interior is still in great condition with all original parts and nothing has broken or fallen off. The factory Cd player and radio are still in excellent condition. The vinyl has no tears.

The interior is very comfortable and spacious seating 4 average size adults with no problems.

The cloth seats are very comfortable, I do not enjoy leather especially since I live in Texas.

I love the automatic seat adjuster on drivers seat, and it still works excellent.

The backseat cup holders have a horrible design, cups are held by a small ring of practice that could break off with the combination of a big cup and sharp turn.

The exterior has a very simple modern design that still looks fresh even though it is 7 years old.

The ride is very smooth and still pretty quiet, but feels like you are driving a bigger car than you are. I guess that could be a good thing.

This car has great gas mileage! It also has a very large 19-20 gallon tank! I don't know the exact mpg number, but I put on about 10,000 miles a year and usually only fill up once a month.

Overall a very reliable car with few problems, a great ride, and great gas mileage.

I would also like to add that I had a 1994 Celica before the Solara that also was very reliable, my mother's 1997 Camry has over 120,000 miles and is still running strong, and my father had a 1982 Toyota truck with over 250,000 miles that lasted to 2004.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2007

Average review marks: 8.1 / 10, based on 15 reviews