1992 Toyota Starlet Reviews

1992 Toyota Starlet GT Turbo 1.3 DOHC 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 DOHC 16v Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 kilometres
Most recent distance100150 kilometres
Previous carMazda 323

Summary:

Lightweight, Rare, Japanese Speed Machine

Faults:

Clutch slave cylinder decided to give up the ghost recently, but apart from general service items its sound.

General Comments:

What a car! I've had mine for 6 months and I'm really starting to enjoy it.

Pretty nippy for a 1.3 and can out perform some fast cars that cost 3 times as much.

Handling in stock form is the only downside, but once changed to after market parts its like a little go kart.

I use it every day and its performing well so far, petrol consumption is good if you do not boost too much, but on full boost it likes a good drink!

Vast amount of tuning goodies from Japan!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

1992 Toyota Starlet LX 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance110100 miles

Summary:

Paragon of reliability and joy

Faults:

Front drivers side drive boot went at 90,000 miles.

General Comments:

Virtually bulletproof mechanicals.

With uprated tyres handling is good enough to take faster cars scalps on a familiar road.

With 110000 miles on the clock and coupled with the higher revving 4-speed box oil consumption is a bit high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2003

1992 Toyota Starlet GT Turbo 1.3 16v DOHC from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.3 16v DOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance54500 miles
Previous carCitroen AX

Summary:

A 0-60 pocket rocket!

Faults:

Generally wear and tear items never broken down.

Had to replace the ignition leads as the seals at the top had deteriorated allowing water into the plug housings causing it to misfire.

General Comments:

I've owned my Starlet turbo for three years now with little problems at all generally wear and tear.

I can honestly say it is the best and quickest car I've ever owned to date and it's a rare car to own in the u. k with very few on the roads.

Its performance is staggering for such a small car with 0-60 times of 6.8 seconds it weighs only 860kgs, produces 136bhp and can achieve a standing quarter in 15 seconds as standard. Its power to weight ratio is staggering and can give most cars a run for their money, i just love the surprised look on many faces as I leave them standing.

It was originally imported from Japan and I have been the sole owner since first entering the country in early 1999.Since then I've done a few modifications to the car like larger diameter 15 inch wheels and tyres, induction filter,8.5mm silicon leads, turbo timer, brakes and an exhaust system.

I plan to keep this car for many years to come and until the mileage gets a little on the high side, but only then will I consider to buy a newer model like the Glanza V.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2nd Jan 2003, 14:49

Really? I thought Starlets did 0-60 in 15.8 seconds lol!

5th Jan 2003, 05:17

With very few mods a starlet turbo can do the 0-60 in around 6-6.5secs, and they are also economical and have a very high spec compared to to other cars on the market.I've had mine for 2 years and the clutch has only just went, this is the only problem I've had.

1992 Toyota Starlet 1.3 petrol from Poland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 petrol Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 kilometres
Most recent distance135000 kilometres
Previous carMercedes-Benz W123

Summary:

Made Toyota replace Mercedes in my private classification as the world's best car maker

Faults:

I bought it just a couple of weeks ago for $2,700, searched for a Mercedes, but I found this one - and it had automatic transmission as I wanted - I though I'd go for it as I read before about its reliability (3- and 5-year Starlets are least likely to show faults among all cars in the world - beating Porsche and Mercedes!). Things that have gone wrong:

Insulation seems to be letting some water in through the back door in heavy rain (but no rust after 9 years of service).

It makes sounds on bumps - I don't know whether this is plastic or something else, but it's pretty loud.

General Comments:

My former cars were Volvo 244 and Mercedes 123 and - most recently - 116 280SE, so you can appreciate the transition, but I am very happy with the Starlet. I am a bit of a fatalist and reliability is important for me, and this little Toyota promises to be very faithful.

It drives very well, especially in urban cycle, perhaps a little too noisy on the highway at speeds above 120 km/h, but nothing seriously annoying.

I wish it had power steering.

Fuel economy could be better - it burns some 7-8 litres per 100 km at 130 km/h.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd July, 2001

27th Jan 2004, 04:05

To all the Toyota Starlet 1.3 12V owners: If you want to save on fuel consumption, drive the car on highways at a speed just below or around 100km/h, quite slow you would say, but very economical too. I went to Germany doing just that and the car did 1 liter every 18-19km!!! Besides at that speed the car is very quiet!

15th Nov 2005, 03:28

The 1E (999cc 12v) and 2E (1295cc 12v) engines are the best engines I ever seen in a Toyota of this year. Also Starlet is a very reliable and trouble-free car. I have a 1993 5-speed manual Starlet. I live in the Dominican Republic (in the Caribbean) where the roads are terrible, and I just have changed the front shock absorbers. Well, I changed also the 1.0 engine by a 1.3 one, because is more powerful and the old engine was burning a quart of oil every 800km (500 miles)!. NOTE: I changed the engine at 160.000km (100.000 miles) by a used one imported from Japan for only US$600. Now my Starlet have 190.000 km (Near 120.000 miles) and have no problems.

The Starlet is rough and durable and very stable at high speeds (I had driven it at 170 Km/h top speed two times with the new 1.3 engine, with the 1.0 don't go past 140 Km/h) but fuel consumption increases dramatically above 120 km/h.

Excellent car!!!

1992 Toyota Starlet GT 1.3 from Japan

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 kilometres
Most recent distance80000 kilometres
Previous carNissan Skyline GTR

Summary:

The best money you can spend on a car if you are a budget minded enthusiast!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is my "runabout" as the Skyline sucks too much gas. I wanted something small, reliable, cheap to run, and quick. Just what the doctor ordered.

The boost is up to 1 bar, with exhaust and intake filter.

Superb car for the money. Sips petrol. Reliable.

I drive it like I stole it, never has broken down on me. Truly phenomenal, and great potential. ekisela@hotmail.com

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2000

6th Jun 2001, 08:37

GT Starlets are one of the best small cars I have ever owned.

I had a 1992 GT Starlet and I was at some lights the other day, there was a V8 Holden Club Sport wanting a drag so I gave him one and beat him.

I have dragged off many cars with my GT Starlet, even my mother who drives a Skyline wants one.

Everyone should own one.

Boy-racer.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 5 reviews