1983 Toyota Supra MA61 5me from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Classic

Faults:

I replaced the rear diff.

Radiator was replaced with re-cored unit.

Changed the head gasket at 290,000km.

General Comments:

A very reliable, practical and comfortable car.

Fantastic ride and handling for stock set-up. This car has a tight turning circle, so is easy to live-with in town, while being great over long distances too.

Very good visibility out of the spacious cabin. Digital dashboard is clear and simple to read.

SOHC 5me engine and automatic gearbox are slower than time, but smooth and user-friendly.

The car never broke-down with mechanical issues, but did have a few electrical glitches (typical for such an old car).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th June, 2011

21st Mar 2012, 13:27

I have an '83 Supra, too, and it's been great. I noticed you said you replaced the rear LSD... mine is worn out, but I can't find a rebuilt one anywhere. Where did you get yours??? If I can't find replacement parts, I'll have to sell it :(

1983 Toyota Supra P-type 2.8 inline 6 from North America

Summary:

The greatest Toyota the 80's offered

Faults:

First problem I had was when the power steering pump started leaking.

Then I had to replace a few seals in the engine.

After that I had to replace my rack and pinion.

Due to over taching, I also wore out my cam lobes.

Even my driveshaft has now gone out in the car.

Since it's been sitting due to the drive-shaft, my head gaskets have gone.

Last of all, second gear kicks out when down-shifting

General Comments:

All in all, I love this car. The two previous owners ran this car to death and neglected fixing it, however I am working on restoring the car.

Upon test driving this car, I saw that it hits 100 miles per hour quite fast, and handles like a dream. I love the amount of torque this small in-line six puts out.

By far I will never give this car up in a million years. Though it's old, I feel this car still stands with todays so called rice burners.

I plan on rebuilding the engine, putting in a new transmission, and getting a drive-shaft fabricated. After that, I expect this car to last until my dying day. I've never been so happy with a car!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2004

29th Jun 2004, 23:47

Good to hear that you're restoring your Supra mate! And you're right, it still does stand out even in today's world. Just one thing though, I would suggest placing a 7M-GTE engine into the Supra. This engine conversion is relatively simple if you know what you're doing.

1983 Toyota Supra L-Type 2.6 Inline-6 from North America

Summary:

A real mans car!

Faults:

Nothing yet has gone wrong. Just a little rust.

General Comments:

The '83 Supra is a powerful car, even for an automatic.

It's extremely fun to drive and handeling is really good.

The only thing I don't like about the car is the dome light inside, it is annoyingly dim. You can't see anything with it.

The car feels amazingly big when inside, but feels extremely solid.

The brakes are pretty good too. It comes standard with 4-wheel disk brakes.

The seats are amazingly comfortable. With automatic lumber support and 8 settings to the seat, you can sit in it for hours on end.

It is a bit hard to steer when not moving, because it doesn't have any power steering. But it's still manageable.

The interior is extremely 80s, especially the steering wheel and dash. But the stereo is pretty killer and rivals most of the ones in cars today.

The sunroof is great! Almost as big as the roof itself, and goes back half way. A great feature to the car.

The purr the car gives off is mesmerizing. You'll definitley know this car isn't a wuss.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th September, 2003

25th Oct 2003, 06:34

I bought a 1984 supra a while back... Just to let you know... It's a 2.8L engine... That is if you have the 5mge engine which both the P-type and the L-type came with in 1983... Unless someone changed the stock engine - Your stuck w/the wonderful 2.8!

Congrats - your engine is bigger then you thought!! :)

Supra - Anything else is just transportation.

21st Mar 2005, 22:49

The dohc version is rated at 145 horsepower at 5,600 rpm with maximum torque of 155 pounds-feet at 4,400 rpm, redline is at 6,500 rpm. It weighs in at 2910 lbs. and 0-60 in 9.8 seconds and fuel economy is 22 mpg.

1983 Toyota Supra 2.6l from North America

Faults:

I've had to replace the battery a couple of times, the tires, the muffler, the A/C compressor and the water temperature gauge. That's it for 15 years of driving satisfaction.

General Comments:

IMHO, the best, most reliable driver's car ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

7th Nov 2005, 10:17

I own a 1985 supra with header work done along with full performance exhaust all the way back, but I want more power, am thinking of switching to a 1jz engine or the 1jz which is the better for this car? I want put a turbo on, but it very hard to find places that have turbo for mine.

My car runs like a dream I can never sell I bout it for 2,000 and it was well worth it. inside is like brand new stock engine 260,000. I want to get 400hp, but don't know where to use the 1kz or 2jz engine.

23rd Jul 2006, 15:22

Go with a 7mGte and you will be glad you did. www.celicasupra.com.

28th Mar 2008, 02:25

To november 7th...Check the sonic supra web site. Reg Reimier put in a later model supra engine in his 83 and got nearly 500 hp out of it.

Jules.