1988 Toyota Supra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1988 Toyota Supra non-Turbo, sport roof 3.0L inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L inline 6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

Most fun to be had for the money

Faults:

Original seat belt hangers flimsy and broke early; replacements much better.

Rear tranny seal leaked at 70K miles.

Clutch master cylinder blew at 100K miles.

Passenger brake caliper froze at 118K miles.

Exhaust replaced for first time at 90K miles.

General Comments:

When new, this car had more amenities than anything else in it's price range.

A bit slow off the line, but it's really a touring car and over 100mph competes with anything.

Difficult to get in/out for tall drivers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2003

1988 Toyota Supra Turbo V6 3 liter turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V6 3 liter turbo Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired128000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carDodge Neon

Summary:

A quick car from the era when it was cool to have a bigger engine than sitting space

Faults:

The windshield needed to be replaced in order to pass inspection.

I am still having a problem with burning antifreeze and cannot pinpoint what exactly the problem is.

General Comments:

I cannot help feeling like I have blasted back to Vice City in this 1988 model.

It has so much torque.

The thing handles better than any car I have driven.

Being that it is rear-wheel drive, driving it is extremely fun. If you try it is really easy to let your back end fish-tail around corners.

The only thing I do not like is the lack of trunk space, which makes for few options when it comes to car audio. You can really only put a 12" sub-woofer, and that is with a custom-made box.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st July, 2003

24th Aug 2003, 12:12

Your problem with burning antifreeze in your 88 toyota supra is that the 7m-gte engine had problems with the head gasket being under torqued. I have an 89 toyota supra turbo and had the same problem. You need to order a steel head gasket and torque to 70 fps before it is too late!!!. please see other toyota supra web sites on this problem. please email me at rumble254@charter.net.

13th Sep 2003, 16:02

Yes, head gasket can be a problem, but after head gasket replacement I also was still leaking radiator coolant. Found it to be the heater core. Try bypassing the heater and see if it stops leaking. It worked for me!

25th Nov 2003, 18:23

Just a quick note on the engine - it is a straight 6, not a V6 as stated. It's a big enough difference that it should be noted. It's also not a matter of whether or not you'll need to replace your head gasket, it's a matter of when. I believe Toyota recalled their straight 6 engines from their truck line (same basic block) from the same era, but, not the supras. Once verified to be a healthy engine, it takes very little to make the turbo cars much quicker than stock. Fishtailing can be easy due to ample amounts of torque. One of the supras biggest downfalls is it's weight and it's quickness severely suffers from it.

20th Mar 2005, 15:22

Everyone says that the weight of the Supra really sets it back. Does anyone really know how much they do weigh? I don't know what the supra weighs in at, but it doesn't look like a very heavy car to me.

1988 Toyota Supra T 3.0 turbo I-6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo I-6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Cabrio

Summary:

The most underestimated car on the road

Faults:

I have yet to have a problem with my Supra.

General Comments:

This is the car that I have been waiting to own for the last six years.

Even with a stock engine and turbo, this thing can get up and go like nobody's business.

The interior is like my own private little jet with the most comfortable seats I have ever sat in.

Even though it does have some body damage and is a little rusty, I still love the front end and the sport roof.

It really reminds me of some 1987 Ferrari models, not only in looks, but also in performance, of course to a marginal degree!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th January, 2003

1988 Toyota Supra Turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Excellent

Faults:

Interior lights have design problem that cause them to short out.

Blown Head Gasket from previous owner, had new engine installed at 120,000 miles.

Power Antenna will jam either up or down, teeth wear out easy.

AC compressor went on fritz due to blown Head Gasket.

General Comments:

The car is every reason to drive to the corner store half a block away. Take off the roof (targa), load up the CD's and go - and enjoy what driving is supposed to be all about.

I only drive my car in the Summer and LOVE every moment of it. It's sleek, fast and turns heads and illict's compliments everywhere I go.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th September, 2002

1988 Toyota Supra 3.0 non-turbo from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.0 non-turbo Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired118000 miles
Most recent distance122000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

A fast car for the price of a Fiesta

Faults:

Well, after 2 weeks of having the car the head gasket blew at 118,000 miles.

The rear arches are starting to rust.

General Comments:

This is a very fast sports car and it handles like a F1 car, the car is also very small in the back but very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

22nd Aug 2001, 16:01

You have to take into consideration that Supras are kinda known for the head gasket going out if the car was abused before you acquired it.

Like all used cars, if abused they will need some maintenance to bring them back to life. If treated properly and regularly maintained, you should not have problems. But Supras have a little known bug of head gaskets going out, you should know this buying one, and expect to replace it around 100K miles!

1988 Toyota Supra Normally Aspirated 3.0 Inline 6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.0 Inline 6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carChevrolet 86 Z28

Summary:

Sporting luxury cruiser

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Comfortable, dead-reliable, smooth, quick and beautiful lines.

This car was stored every winter, a stunning silver metallic finish.

Sold it and got an MR2 Turbo, no the MR2 is not a death trap, it weighs almost 2900 pounds, thank you very much. While the Supra was smoother and had more amenities, the MR2 was a more pure, quicker sports car. Both cars attract jealous vandals and women! Both cars have amazing structural rigidity and great performance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2000

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 15 reviews