1994 Toyota Supra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1994 Toyota Supra RZ 3.0TT from Australia and New Zealand

Model year1995
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0TT Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 kilometres
Most recent distance56000 kilometres
Previous carOpel Calibra

Summary:

Best Japanese car ever built!

Faults:

Gearbox needed overhaul.

Flywheel warp.

A/C causes engine to overheat in summer due to inadequate stock inter-cooler.

General Comments:

Fabulous car to drive.

Endless torque.

Effortless power all the way to 280km/h.

Dash "cockpit" is one of the best interiors of any car under $100,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd January, 2005

1994 Toyota Supra SZ 3ltr from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3ltr Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carMitsubishi FTO

Summary:

Brilliant, reliable, affordable, masterpiece

Faults:

Nothing apart from brake pads.

General Comments:

The car is superb, I have had much pleasure from driving her, and no problems at all. For a standard 3ltr I was very suprised at how fast it actually was, and very impressed about cornering etc. The dealer service is the best I have ever known and all the rest of the garages have got a lot to look up to (Southampton Toyota). The only thing I would change would be having one with a removable roof and maybe a twin turbo version. Love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2004

1994 Toyota Supra UK spec 3.0 TT from Malaysia

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0 TT Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

No regrets

Faults:

Engine oil seals leaked at 79,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is fastest and most reliable in it's class.

It it very economical and easy to gain horsepower with minimum modification.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th May, 2003

1st Mar 2006, 01:44

Actually Toyota Supra is a bad condition cars. That is :

1. Too high for the height of the cars. Unlike Nissan Skyline R34 2nd Edition, good handling and superior performance when comes to pick up and cornering.

2. Low of rpm redline. For Toyota Supra, basically the redline is about 6,000 rpm. Unlike Nissan Skyline R34 2nd Edition, redline at 8,000 rpm.

3. FR condition, Toyota Supra is manufacture by using rear wheel drive. This statement causes the pick up becomes slower than Nissan Skyline GTR V Spec, 4 wheel drive.

23rd Dec 2006, 14:30

The car in question is the Toyota Supra, not the skyline R34!

1994 Toyota Supra Twin Turbo 3.0 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0 turbo petrol Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carToyota Supra

Summary:

Mega performance but at a price

Faults:

Nothing! It is mega reliable!

General Comments:

Super performance, super looks, excellent backup although authorised dealers are limited.

The performance is effortless but when you drive hard the turbos drink petrol at a furious rate which will make your head spin!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th September, 2000

13th Oct 2004, 21:00

Well, fuel economy was not my concern when I bought my MKIV in 94. Now that fuel in the US is nearly what it was in the mid-80's in Europe, I'm wondering how much it will get driven. I've made some mods to the computer, not a chip, but rather changing a few resitor values to up the boost cut controller, increase the rev limit and to remove the 155 MPH speed limiter without losing traction control. I get about 5 miles to the gallon when I drive it hard... but boy is it ever FUN to blow away the ultimate driving vehicle and the "Best Germany had to offer"

11th Jan 2005, 06:45

I Used to have a Corvette, but now I'm getting a Supra TT. They are more comfortable, use less fuel and are easier to drive. Don't get me wrong I love Corvettes, they look and sound great, but Left hand drive is a pain and they aren't as well built.

15th Jun 2005, 07:01

That last guy who quoted figures from BMW. where does he get off? these cars all cost over €50,000. how can you compare both? I don't know why people have to make silly statistical comments. I drive a Lexus Aristo Twin Turbo (which is for sale by the way) and I have blown and I mean blown 2003 330ci BMW's off the road. Comparing cars in much different price brackets is like comparing an R1 to a VTi civic... no sense. thanks.

9th Jan 2006, 10:27

What you guys seem to forget is that the tuning potential of the Supra, which can achieve well over 1000 BHP. A simple ECU remap will blow anything, get your facts straight.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 9 reviews