1996 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1996 Toyota Tacoma LX 3.4 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.4 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance216000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Monte Carlo

Summary:

Fantastic 4wd small Japanese truck

Faults:

The biggest scariest things that went wrong twice was the harmonic balancer came loose. I caught it in time twice, your average Joe may have paid no attention to the bearing squeal and had to go for a motor. That happened probably with 120 k on it and never again.

I had to replace all 6 of the coil packs (normal maintenance), starter, alternator, battery, brakes, all the usual.

The rear chrome bumper began to rust badly, but I'm around lots of salt air and salted streets.

General Comments:

The best small pickup you can own. I beat the crap out of it in 2 and 4 wd, and it keeps on going.

The engine just started ticking before Toyota bought it back for 10 k in 2008. OK, I'll take it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2009

1996 Toyota Tacoma SR5 V6 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired46 miles
Most recent distance191000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

Have had this truck since new and the only I have had to do is regular maintenance. This truck has NEVER broken down or had anything wrong with it.

General Comments:

This the greatest truck that ever has been built.

Very reliable truck and you don't ever worry about being broken down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2006

1996 Toyota Tacoma LX ? from Guyana

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission ? Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance401000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Hiace

Summary:

Work-horse

Faults:

The brakes seem to wear kind of fast. The front left strut seems to be giving some problems, but not serious. The rear shocks had to be replaced with Rancho 5000 shocks instead. Front shocks are still perfect, amazingly. We drive hard.

General Comments:

The Tacoma is very comfortable in the front seats. The back seats are very small though. It makes mince meat out of our dirt roads. It not as fast as the other vehicles e.g. Lancer. The vehicle is right up at the top of the "to get" list.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th February, 2006

1996 Toyota Tacoma LX 2.4 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance112000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great, reliable truck!

Faults:

Virtually nothing, just routine maintenence and new tires at 78,000 miles.

General Comments:

A completely reliable, maintenence only vehicle! Great on gas, peppy, great little truck. After 112,000 miles, truck still feels like it's solidly built! Would never hesitate to buy another Toyota product, this is my 3rd and each has been an exceptional owning experience!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2005

1996 Toyota Tacoma LX 3.4L from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance96000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Truck is excellent quality and worth the extra money up front

Faults:

Leaf Springs Left and Right broken from overload. All my fault, but still quite expensive to replace.

Valve Cover needed replacement... was done free via factory warranty.

Paint stripped away from bottom of frame after washing truck while one year old... has shown no signs of rust.

Has traveled halfway across the U.S. multiple times with soreness in shoulder only after hundreds of miles per day.

General Comments:

Truck is the V6 Extended Cab and used to pull a camping trailer with a family of five. Truck is very strong and stable. Front 60/40 bench seat not designed for three passengers with comfort. Shift is in the way of middle passenger.

Truck is nearly a decade old and would like to keep forever, but family has outgrown it... bought as single, now have wife and three kids.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th March, 2005

1996 Toyota Tacoma 2WD 2.7 4 cylinder from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance152000 miles
Previous carPlymouth Fury

Summary:

A workhorse of a truck that will run forever

Faults:

Engine light stays on despite dealer turning it off. Fan clutch is starting to squeak at start up.

General Comments:

This truck has so far been nearly flawless. So far I have not had to replace anything except brake pads and wiper blades. The fan clutch is starting to squeak a bit, but that's to be expected for something with this many miles.

The positive aspects of the truck is the good fuel economy and a rather peppy quick engine. The reliability is key here as well. The sound system is surprisingly good for an economy vehicle.

The negative is the interior which is as bare bones as you can get with cloth covered bench seats. I am a small person, but even I get uncomfortable riding in it for long periods thus a larger person might find it uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2004

14th Jun 2007, 17:16

Update on this truck. I STILL have it. I got a job that requires me to drive 60 miles a day. Since my last writing, the truck has acquired 55,000 more miles, bringing the total to around 216,000 miles. Since then, I had to replace a number of items. The water pump, fan clutch (which finally gave out) and a new set of belts have been replaced. But this truck is simple to work on so I've been able to do these things myself. Most recently, the plug wires fried on a hot summer day. This was due to me installing the cheapest wires from the last tune-up. The truck almost died on the way home, but I've since replaced the wires with high quality versions, along with the cap, rotor, and plugs. That took care of that.

The only thing that is starting to become a concern is what appears to be the formation of rust in some of the recesses. The windshield was replaced 10 years ago. It appears that the paint underneath it was scratched when the old pane was replaced. Hence it is rusting in the cracks. There's a small amount in one of the doors inside. No biggies. By the time they become major problems, I will probably have something else as the mileage would be pretty high by then. Who knows.

I still trust this truck as a daily driver and me and my wife are taking a 3,000 mile road trip in it in a few months. So it is time to change all the major fluids- radiator and tranny- and take off.

I've looked into the new Tacomas. I'm not horribly impressed with their gas mileage and I was hoping to get a V6. Guess I might have to hold onto this old one long enough to have Toyota go through one more design run.

Average review marks: 8.5 / 10, based on 15 reviews