1998 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1998 Toyota Tacoma sr5 extra cab 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Well engineered and very reliable

Faults:

I have had no problems at all.

General Comments:

This is my third Toyota vehicle, having also owned a '95 truck, and a '93 tercel, and I have had no problems whatsoever with any of these vehicles, and I certainly have put them to the test. Toyota manufactures the most reliable vehicles available, and no other make of truck stands the test of time as well as these do, whether used on or off road. With a little care and routine maintenance, I expect my '98 tacoma to perform well above 200,000 miles and possibly well beyond that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2006

19th Mar 2006, 20:04

I have a question that maybe someone out there can answer; has Toyota thought about putting a six-speed manual transmission in the Tacoma's? This truck is awesome, but my ONLY complaint is that it runs at about 2600-2700 rpms at 70 miles per hour, and I wish that I had another gear for highway travel. Any comments?

1998 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 EXT Cab 3.4 V6 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.4 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 kilometres
Most recent distance166000 kilometres
Previous carGMC Sonoma

Summary:

Excellent resale value for this go-anywhere truck

Faults:

Starter went at 135000km; replaced under warranty.

Drivers seat belt frayed at 90000km; replaced under warranty.

CD player quit at 140000km

Water pump went at 156000km.

General Comments:

This has been a very good truck. Aside from a few repairs, I am generally satisfied. No rust on the body. The cabin is a little dated and the sit-on-the-floor design can be uncomfortable. Fuel economy is good for a small pickup. The 4x4 will go through anything and everything. It can be costly though. 6L of oil, 31/10.5 tires, and gas, it all adds up. Resale value is amazing. It is 7 years old and still worth $15K. That is partly why is bought it is the resale value. Then again, it is a very attractive truck. Sits up nice and high.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2005

1998 Toyota Tacoma SR5 2.7L from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired135000 miles
Most recent distance140000 miles
Previous carToyota None

Faults:

Front left bearing had to replaced, but the truck was still on warranty at the time. Another thing that went wrong is the fuel light that comes on when your almost out of fuel, does not work anymore. Transmission had a hard bump when accelerating from having the break on, say at like a red light turning green. That's about it.

General Comments:

Very Reliable, has a good look to it.

Extremely good for off roading.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2004

23rd Oct 2004, 19:38

I also have a 1998 Tacoma 4x4 extra cab, and have a bump at a stop and taking off again.

Toyota said it's normal, but search the Internet.

Daniel Brown.

24th Nov 2007, 11:01

I have a 95' Nissan Pickup with an automatic transmission.. I had a similar problem with the bump in the transmission... Turned out to just be worn out U-joints!

1998 Toyota Tacoma SR5 2.4 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance220000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

Unbelievable reliability

Faults:

O2 and Throttle position sensor at 160,000.

Fan Clutch at 180,000.

General Comments:

This truck is incredible! In the 3 years that I have owned this truck I have put a total of $300 worth of parts on it. Everything was easily installed myself. This is impressive considering the mileage. I did a compression test on the engine at 210,000 and it was still at factory specs! The engine does not leak or burn a drop of oil. The clutch is still original, but will need replacing soon. The transmission is smooth and quiet, but is starting to get a little hard to shift (needs new synchronizers). The rear end is quiet and leak free. The body is solid with NO rust anywhere (not even underneath)! I live in Ohio so it sees plenty of salt. Whatever Toyota did to the sheet metal to prevent rusting is working. The interior still looks new and the seats are wearing incredibly well. It does have a small rattle in the dash that seems to be pretty common in these trucks. I see no reason why this truck won't run well over 300,000.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2004

28th Sep 2005, 11:32

I am about to buy a 1998 tacoma with 230000 on it. It is in pretty good shape and has had the engine rebuilt at 200000. I was wondering what the compression is suppose to be? thanks kevin.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 20 reviews