1999 Toyota Tacoma ext. cab 4X4 3.4 V6 from North America


A high performance go any where truck


The seats in the Tacoma have started to become less comfortable because the foam has flattened out. Electric adjustable seats would also be nice.

General Comments:

The Off road performance is the best I have ever seen in a truck right off the lot. I have taken my truck and used it in very extreme off road situations for long periods of time on a day to day basis with absolutly no problems.

This truck is also very quick and has a high top end speed on the road. It will out accelerate most other truck on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2003

21st Oct 2004, 09:01

It out accelerates other trucks because it's lighter than most other trucks! If you want to haul something, like a real truck does, you need weight!

1999 Toyota Tacoma TRD 2.7 liter from North America


Great truck, but loosened up a little to quickly


Truck has loosened up substaintially, there are bad rattles in the cab expecially in the dashboard.

Clutch wear seems to be premature, I replaced the 1st clutch at 59,000 miles.

Front bumper is extremely weak.

The rack in the steering has already been replaced.

General Comments:

Overall the truck is a great package.

The front springs on the TR D's is a little to soft, tends to bottom easily.

The Tacoma is also geared a little to high in the four cylinder models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st December, 2002

1999 Toyota Tacoma pre`runner 2.7 from North America


Over all very pleased


Tire ware is very evident with the aluminum rims that came with the truck. Although I have never had the truck on what I would call rough terrain the tire dealer tells me that the rims are bent. Ever frequent tire rotation and balance are required to keep the truck from vibrating.

Lifters are starting to ping on start up at 75000 miles.I've faithfully changed the oil every 3000 miles.

General Comments:

Rough ride it rides like a truck of older age.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1999 Toyota Tacoma SR-5 2.4 L from North America


A nice small truck


The clutch/transmission has never operated smoothly.

The air conditioner smells very foul.

General Comments:

I've got the TRD Off-Road package, and use the 4wd every day. It's a very good 4wd vehicle.

This truck is the best vehicle that I've ever had in the snow, and I've had jeeps, 4wd pickups, etc.

I would opt for the 6 cylinder if I had the choice again. The 2.4L is not strong enough for mountain driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2001

28th Aug 2001, 13:03

I also had problem with a sticky transmission on a 1999 Tacoma. It also seemed to shudder a bit when starting out (manual transmission.) I took the ultimate gamble and changed all fluids over to Mobil 1 products. Engine 0w30--transmission 75w90 and differential 75w90. Transmission. and differential oil are the same product. I could not be more pleased with the result. Synthetics seemed to cure the annoying little demons. It is hard to tell if the engine is running from inside the cab now. Shifter knob hardly vibrates!! If you do this make sure you do not have any leaks to begin with (gaskets etc.) as synthetics are so slippery you will leak more oil. If you have any questions feel free to e-mail me. (dialjo@pacbell.net)

18th Jan 2002, 09:05

I recently purchased a 1999 Toyota Tacoma SR5 ext cab 2.7l automatic 4WD pickup. I notice when I come to a complete stop (not a rolling stop) and I go to start out again, the transmission kind of slides and jerks the truck when I go. Called up where I bought it and the dealer told me this is normal for all auto Tacoma's. He also invited me to drive a brand new one to see. Could this be true?


4th Feb 2002, 21:33

I have to agree. I have 2.7L 5 spd. and it is by far the best 4x4 I have ever driven in the snow. I too have had a Jeep, and other 4x4s. Only problem is a squeeky clutch pedal.

7th Feb 2002, 12:53

Yep, I have the auto and occasionally it jumps a little bit while waiting at a light, etc. It also did it in another one that I test drove before buying this one. It is more annoying than anything but I am surprised that Toyota let this quirk go.