1999 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD 4WD 2.7 petrol from North America


Everything needed in a light-duty 4x4. Economical and versatile.


Purchased with extensive suspension and steering problems. These were resolved in short order. Nothing else has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The engine is a good one for a small truck. Acceleration is fine in cities, though weak when overtaking on the highway. There's no issue with hauling a few thousand pounds on a trailer or a few hundred in the bed, but forget towing large loads uphill in 5th, or even 4th gear. However, this isn't a diesel, and if you need a HD work truck then you're not reading this. All of that said, in subjective terms, I sense less torque to the 3RZ than the identically powered 3.0 V6.

The transmission is the great r151f. No complaints with this or with the strong, responsive clutch.

4lo and the electronic differential locker both function just as one expects from Toyota: fantastically.

Suspension is all aftermarket at this point, so no comment (though ARB is great, basic off-road suspension).

The rack and pinion steering is responsive, especially for a pickup, and feels almost sports car-like. The steering rack doesn't seem particularly strong, but thankfully is relatively cheap to replace.

After carefully tracking, I see 19.5/23.5 MPG (city/HWY) which bests the EPA predicted economy, even after all those miles on the odometer. Zero complaints there.

Finally, the construction quality is a step down from previous generation Toyota pickups/Hiluxes. Sheet metal gauge is thinner, and many components lack the satisfying sense of overbuilt perfection that I like in older models. Still, this first-gen of Tacomas is well-built by the standards of many other manufacturers.

At this point, in 2015, these trucks are getting older but still command quite a resale price in the US. For that reason, they are not the best '3rd car' for dump or DIY store runs -- you could spend a lot less. But, because of the powertrain reliability and the eager off-road performance, this truck is more versatile than most alternatives. The decent fuel economy even allows for tolerable commuting.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2015

29th Nov 2015, 04:33

Great review - good attention to detail.

1999 Toyota Tacoma 4 cylinder (small) from North America


Best truck in the small truck line


Replaced starter, $400.

Thermostat, $120.

Battery, $120 in ten years.

Still have to fix two door latches. One on the outside rider's side and one inside the driver's side.

General Comments:

With over 204000 miles on this truck, I gave it to my daughter and she loves it. This truck still purrs like a kitten. I only used synthetic oil for the life of the truck. I changed the plugs every 20 000 miles.

I bought it for $4800 and think I could easily get that now. However I wouldn't sell it. The best truck I've ever owned in my life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th March, 2015

1999 Toyota Tacoma 2 Door Single Cab 2.4L from North America




Nothing at all. This is the greatest vehicle I've ever owned. Just keep the oil changed and it's happy.

General Comments:

I bought my 1999 Toyota Tacoma Single-Cab with 180,000 miles (pretty high-mileage) and it now has 240,000 miles. I’m still shocked that I’ve had NO maintenance issues at all, it still runs fine.

This Tacoma has been super reliable. It’s ugly and uncomfortable (basic truck), but man, it just keeps going and going.

My next car will be a Toyota (likely a Tacoma)! Wish they had the diesel Hi-Lux version of this truck in the USA!!! I would buy three.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th January, 2010

1999 Toyota Tacoma Base from North America


Overall the truck is wonderful, and would take anything for it


Starter at 110000.

Thermostat at 120000.

General Comments:

Not enough room for my tools in the cab behind the seat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd January, 2009

1999 Toyota Tacoma TRD 4x4 xcab 3.4L from North America


This truck is relentless!


Starter went out at 220,000 miles.

Alternator went out at 190,000 miles.

One of the two tailgate support cables snapped due to rust.

General Comments:

I have put 150,000 miles on my Tacoma since purchasing the truck with 100,000 miles on it. I pull an 18 ft Ranger bass boat that weighs nearly 2000 lbs when loaded every weekend with no problems. Several times each year I tow my boat throught the Ozark mountains, pushing my Tacoma to the requiring that I keep the gas pedal to retain speed of 70mph while going up hill.

I always take advantage of off-road opportunities when available and have never been stuck. In snow I have pulled a Chevy Silverado 4x4 out a ditch. The tacoma gives you a sense that you will never be stranded no matter the weather condition or mileage on the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th October, 2008

29th Jan 2010, 11:52

I too have a 1999 Taco with 250,000k. There's no way my truck could pull a Silverado out of a snowbank. I've tried. Not gonna happen. Wheels just spin in 4 low, while I'm on pavement. Not heavy enough, so this guy's story doesn't add up.

Also, when he says he can tow 2000lb uphill and keep 70 mph. Sorry, not gonna happen there either.

Regardless of these two facts, I'd trade my truck for nothing. 250,000k and not a single issue. I've done the alternator, and other maintenance, but I've never been sitting on the side of the road and the truck has never missed a beat. Started every day for 10 years. If I could buy another truck that day, just to keep it for the day, this one gets smashed in a trainwreck or something, I would have. I just wish it was American.

4th Feb 2010, 15:07

I also have a 1999 Tacoma, and I can attest to the fact that the truck could pull the silver auto out of a snow bank. I've used my Tacoma to pull a 3 ton tractor out of a hidden ditch in a field. Pulled it out with no issues, and I was by myself with no one steering the tractor.

Also when it comes to towing a 2000 lb boat up a hill at 70mph, that is absolutely possible. 2000lbs is nothing. I pushed the boundary last summer and pulled a 7000 lb double axle trailer 100 miles on highway (70mph+) and very steep hills. I wouldn't recommend it, but the truck did it all and is still running great at 190K.

9th Nov 2011, 00:56

I have a 2004 2 wheel drive Dakota. I have pulled out a 4x4 Suburban, but it was not in a snow bank. It had slid off the road, and three of its tires were buried in the snow and spinning. If you know how to use the tension of a tow strap, it's not a major feat. Also I pulled a loaded 26' U-Haul that was high centered about 9 feet to get its tires back on gravel. It was done jerking lightly a few inches at a time.