2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 TRD Double Cab V6 from North America


This truck is expensive, but you get what you pay for


I have owned this Toyota truck for about a year and a half and have had no major mechanical problems. I have noticed, however, that after it would rain, the carpet under the passenger side floorboard would be damp. A mildew smell would be obvious. I have not taken it to the dealer yet. I'm going to check out the seals in the firewall and door panels first.

General Comments:

This truck is very fast! I have owned two Ford Rangers (1990, and 2000) and this Tacoma has much better acceleration (even compared to the Ford 4.0).

The off road capabilities are much better developed than the previous 4X4's I've owned (Ford Ranger)

The double cab is really roomy and works well transporting my wife and 2 year old son around town.

The truck looks great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2005

2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 3.4 Litre V6 from North America


One tough pickup..


A light bulb blew out that lit the blower control speed. Not easy to replace, the whole climate control cluster has to be removed. The dealer wanted $200.00 in labor to replace.

General Comments:

By far the most reliable vehicle that I have ever owned. The TRD off-road package is very impressive on and off road. I had also installed the TRD super charger, it is a real blast. I would have no problem buying another Tacoma. Although mine is not going anywhere soon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th April, 2004

24th Feb 2005, 08:59

I was just wondering how much power the supercharger added? and was it on a 4 cylinder or 6. thanks.

2002 Toyota Tacoma SR5 6 cylinder from North America


No way you can beat Tacoma dependability


We have had excessive tire wear on the front end. The tires have been rotated according to the maintenance schedule, but are wearing very badly. They are Bridge Stone tires. We had a Toyota dealership look at it, and was told we were running the tires at too low a tire pressure (we weren't). They could find nothing wrong. This 2002 Tacoma is not the first one we have had problems with tire wear on. We also had a 2000 with the same problem, and after much negotiation, Toyota gave us an allowance toward new tires.

General Comments:

Overall, our 2002 Tacoma is great. We love the extra room of the double cab. This will likely not be our last Tacoma. Reliability can't be beat. Out of three Tacoma's we have never had any major mechanical problems. Interior has held up well; paint has held up well also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th February, 2004

2002 Toyota Tacoma Prerunner V6 from North America


Like the truck, disappointed with Toyota!


Car fails to start on occasion. This happens about once every two weeks. Toyota cannot find the problem, and will not repair it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2003

17th Jun 2004, 08:31

I have the same problem on my 2001 Toyota Tacoma Pre Runner--4 cyl. On occasion (always in the morning) the engine will not start. I have taken it to two different auto service centers and they tell me that everything checks out. Something is obviously wrong with this engine. This started occurring at about 55K miles. I now need to take it to a Toyota dealership (high cost) as this has become very serious.

10th Oct 2006, 15:50

Change the stater...

15th Mar 2007, 20:08

Actually, you don't have to buy a new starter. You just have to have the contacts in the starter replaced. The parts are inexpensive, but the labor may cost you a good bit, unless you do it yourself.

2002 Toyota Tacoma from North America


Solid and Expensive


Break light went on after 12 months

Recall for gas line problem

Front brakes wore abnormally and had to be replaced at 19,000 miles Not covered by warranty.

General Comments:

Feels solid and great pickup.

Ease of Use isn't nearly as good as the Honda. The clock, for example, can't be read by driver (it's hidden behind the steering wheel) and the door lock toggle isn't intuitive which way is up.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th September, 2003

17th Feb 2004, 02:32

2002 Toyota Tacoma, brakes replaced at 10,000 miles and at 21,000 miles.

Entire dashboard had to be removed to locate a rattle.

2nd Dec 2005, 13:55

I knew about the clock issue before I bought it. Although it does sometimes drive me nuts, at least I get to feel smarter than engineers.

I am just past 34,000 and I am now searching for how to work on the break light issue. It drives well, and is very quiet, but I am beginning to miss my '94.