2007 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2007 Toyota Tacoma from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance75000 miles
Previous carLexus ES300

Summary:

Best vehicle I have every owned/driven. Extremely happy

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever owned. Never breaks down.

At 75,000 miles I have replaced the brakes and tires once.

Oil change every 3-5000 miles, and that is it.

Extremely reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2009

2nd Dec 2009, 13:10

The only way I would have enjoyed reading your review more is if you had traded in a Ford product for your Toyota - I think that would have really tweaked the Fusion guy!

2nd Dec 2009, 13:28

"At 75,000 miles I have replaced the brakes and tires once"

My GM car has 82,000 miles and STILL has not had a brake job. I hardly call getting only 75,000 miles out of a Tacoma anything to brag about.

2007 Toyota Tacoma SR5 3.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.4 / 10
Distance when acquired37500 miles
Most recent distance39000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Not really a truck

Faults:

Rattle coming from intake air box in engine compartment. There is a TSB for this defect, but dealer refuses to fix under the certified warranty.

Tailgate bent the first time I loaded lumber into the bed. There is also a TSB on this defect, but the dealer refuses to fix this under the certified warranty also.

Truck bounces all over the road with load in the bed; anything over 400 pounds and the truck sounds like it is bottoming out.

General Comments:

If you want a truck, do not buy a Tacoma. It will not haul a load or pull a load without damage to the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th July, 2009

14th Jul 2009, 14:32

During these tough times, it seems like the dealer is picky to warranty certain items. It's a shame for them because in the future we as consumers won't forget these circumstances.

I deal with a Ford dealer for warranty claims I get the run around. If I buy parts their wanna sell me their new born.

17th Jul 2009, 15:11

This Tacoma was purchased from a Toyota dealer as a certified vehicle. The certified vehicle warranty I was told extended the new vehicle comprehensive warranty for 3 months or 3000 miles. But the certified vehicle warranty does not cover the correction of defects, the installation of TSB's, body panels and several other items, as it does with a new vehicle. I do not think it is worth the extra expense to purchase a certified vehicle with such a limited coverage warranty. I will not go out of my way again to get a certified vehicle from a dealer, I will make all my purchases from a private owner.

2007 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport with Towing package 4.0L V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.0L V6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27 kilometres
Most recent distance35000 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Love this truck!

Faults:

After 30,000km's and its second winter:

Suspension is excessively soft, and bouncy. It drove like a sports car when I first got it, but now it bounces like a 20year old farm truck. I think the extreme cold may have been a factor (a week of -50C), as I never overloaded it.

General Comments:

I love this truck.

It's never let me down, and performs wonderfully for a small truck. Has loads of power. (A cold air K&N intake made this more apparent.)

It's a little annoying having the suspension so weak, but warranty should fix that next month, then it will be back to normal. Anyone else with this problem?

The six speed transmission shifts with ease, and has a short throw from gear to gear.

It doesn't quite have the visibility my Honda Civic did, but it's still a lot better then most.

I wish the 4 door, long box (6ft) was available with the manual transmission.

The factory tires it came with were substandard, but easily fixed with some Nitto's or Yokohama's.

All in all a great truck, although a little let down by the suspension.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd April, 2009

27th Jun 2009, 14:16

I also have a 2007 Tacoma TRD Sport with towing package. Also have been thru two winters, including one week of -50C. Suspension is also very soft and the truck bottoms out a lot under normal driving conditions. very annoying and disappointing.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews