2007 Toyota Tacoma Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2007 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 TRD Sport with tow V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.6 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance8000 miles
Previous carBMW 5 Series

Summary:

Good rig, Toyota quality dropped, loud, poor mpg

Faults:

Nosiest truck I have ever owned. Wind and tire noise.

The gas mileage is very poor. Get 18 mpg average city / highway. Goes all the way up to 19 mpg on a long trip.

Toyota got cheap on the interior. Yes it is basic, which is very good.

Instruments poor quality, stereo very poor quality, speakers poor. Probably due to the wind and tire noise. Has dunlop tires 17".

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th February, 2008

9th Mar 2008, 00:43

I have a 2006 Tacoma TRD xc 4.0 V6, bought new and now have 45K. Sorry to say I have to agree with this review. Truck is OK, but not nearly as good as my 2002 Tacoma or 1994 Toyota Truck. Next time I am going with a Chevy.

22nd Mar 2008, 16:49

I agree with both comments. My 2006 Tacoma is loud. Toyota went cheap on many aspects. Interior is not as good as one would think after you pay $$$$30k for a small truck. I have the TRD Sport also. Tires loud. Speedo is inaccurate. ETC.

2007 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 2.7 I4 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.7 I4 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired18 miles
Most recent distance8500 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

This is a great truck!

Faults:

Absolutely no problems at 8500 miles; the truck is still just like new.

General Comments:

Excellent economy 4x4 truck.

The 4 cylinder has plenty of pep, gets good MPG with the smooth and easy to shift 5 speed manual.

Fit and finish on the truck are the best I have seen on a new vehicle; everything has a quality feel to it.

Extremely satisfied with this truck. A little more expensive than the domestic brands, but as I found, you really do get what you pay for.

Looking at resale, it also looks to be a wise investment compared to other trucks.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2007

16th Aug 2007, 09:45

I completely agree with this review. My uncle bought a 2005 Tacoma V6 (one of the first builds of the new design), and has since put 90,000 miles on it.

I drive it every few days, and it still drives like it is new, and with the TRD Sport package and hood scoop, it looks pretty mean.

It also averages 23 mpg, which is great for a truck with this much power.

27th Aug 2007, 20:57

My 2005 Tacoma just hit 30,000 miles a few days ago and it still runs like new. I still get compliments on the looks, also have TRD Sport Pkg with hood scope.

The only thing I disagree with on this review is the mileage. Dude if your truck only has 8,500 miles on it, then it is still new.

2nd Oct 2007, 20:56

I wrote the original review and yes although it is still new at 8500 miles, there have been no problems to report with it. No initial problems is great, and gives me confidence in the truck lasting a long time. My previous truck, a 2002 Ranger, had a multitude of annoying problems even before it hit 8500 miles that made it feel not-so-new very quickly. As hard as I would have liked to have bought another "domestic" name truck, I'm glad I made the switch to a Toyota thus far. Of course time tells all :)

24th Feb 2008, 11:49

I agree with most comments: But I could not get 23 miles per gallon if it fell off a cliff. Also, it is the noisiest truck I have owned. Very disappointing.

2007 Toyota Tacoma SR5 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance7000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

One word "reliability". Best truck on the planet

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

This car is my best ever purchase. For the first time I had driven 7000 miles without worry about something. From now on I am going to buy only Toyota products.

I had even took that truck off-road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th June, 2007

12th May 2008, 17:11

7,000 miles and it's the "best purchase ever"!! WOW!! I bet you'd really be bouncing off the walls if you'd owned my Ford that was sold at just under 330,000 miles!! Wait til your truck has 50,000 miles on it and has had an engine and transmission rebuild, the brakes recalled, and all the other great stuff that Toyota owners are reporting.

2007 Toyota Tacoma TRD Sport 4X4 Access Cab 4.0 V6 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110 miles
Most recent distance5600 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Best truck its size you can buy!!!

Faults:

No problems at this time. The switch for the driving lights wasn't installed during the factory build. This was corrected at the dealership.

General Comments:

Lots of power and shifts very smoothly.

You feel very little when towing a 3500 lb. boat.

Handles better in crosswinds than any four wheel drive vehicle I have ever owned.

Very comfortable on long trips.

The only complaint is the amount of noise that comes into the passenger compartment during a hard rain when you are sitting still.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd June, 2007

2007 Toyota Tacoma SR5 4x4 4.0 from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired13 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

With the HD towing package this is quite possibly the perfect every day truck!!!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

This truck has more than enough leg and headroom for my 6' 1" frame.

The seats are very comfortable and supportive.

The controls are simple, well layed out and to the point. The lack of gadgets and gizmo's is very refreshing.

The stereo is more than adequate.

The 4.0 V6 pulls like a V8.

The 5 speed automatic is silky smooth.

The composite bed makes it a truck that you're not afraid to use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2007

26th Jun 2012, 23:20

Bought my 2007 TRD Sport 4x4 in 5/12. Had 35K miles on it, and it felt like new. After driving my 2001 Ford F150 Supercrew for 11 years, my Toyota feels like a sports car. The V6 is very peppy, really pours on the horses when passing. Plenty of room for my 4 person family.

One of the best things about Toyota trucks is they do not change much from year to year, so it is very difficult to tell from a later model. Like my Ford, I plan on having this one for many years to come. I've owned several Toyotas over the last 30 years, and all have been terrific automobiles. Only change I plan on making to this one is to add a leveling kit, so I can fit slightly larger tires.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews