1993 Toyota Tercel LX 1.5 L from North America


Buying this car is the greatest investment I have ever made


Seats have started to wear badly.

New battery at 100,000 miles.

New catalytic converter at 156,00 miles.

General Comments:

This car is the most reliable car I have ever owned.

This car has just had routine maintenance done over the years.

This car has never broke down while I was driving it.

It's starting to show a little wear and tear, but what do you expect with 156,000 miles?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2001

1993 Toyota Tercel DX 4 cylinder from North America


A dependable car, which is great value


Two weeks after I bought the car it began burning oil. I had the engine rebuilt, and it's still burning oil. It doesn't have any leaks and it doesn't create a lot of exhaust. This seems like a common problem for many Tercel's.

The windshield washer pump has been replaced twice.

The seats also wear badly.

General Comments:

This car handles well, but it could some use larger tires. It's the most dependable car I have ever owned and it gets really good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st August, 2001

18th Aug 2001, 22:30

I agree that a Tercel above 90K miles should be looked at carefully prior to purchase, as the engine seems prone to wearing out a little above 100K. My Tercel required major engine work at 113K miles, which I did and am happily motoring along with a goal of 200K.

1993 Toyota Tercel DX 4 door 1.5 from North America


Best car we have ever owned!


Nothing to speak of.

We replaced the left rear wheel bearing at 150,000 miles and it now needs a timing belt and an oil pan due to me hitting something with it.

The car is very well made. My wife performed no maintenance on it and it got its first tune up and air filter change at 126,000 miles. It still has the original belts and hoses at 187000!! We have put tires and brakes on it and gas in the tank. That's all!

General Comments:

This car has been neglected and still keeps on running! I wonder how many miles we could have gotten had we taken better care of it. I love this little Toyota!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2001

11th Jul 2001, 14:27

I have a 1993 Toyota Tercel, I'm the first owner, this is one great car, I have 179,520km on it right now. It has never given me any trouble, not even a flat tire, however I notice it is leaking a little oil, can I buy a manual on this car??

My husband will be able to fix this, he says it must be a gasket in the pan, that needs to be replaced, the leak is near the crankshaft. If the car is parked on a incline there is no leak.

I will most certainly buy another Toyota, I believe the Tercel is replaced by the Echo. I love my Tercel and have never spenp any money on it other than my regular oil changes.

Just wanted to share this information, can you please advise where I can buy a manual, a used one will be okay, just so we can read up on how to fix this little problem, can I get this info on the Toyota website??



24th Jun 2002, 11:34

To Christine, you can pick up a manual at any auto parts store. Just ask for a Chiltons Repair Manual for 91-94 Toyota Tercels.

14th Apr 2004, 11:40


The Haynes manual is excellent. I recommend it. Autozone carries it. You may be able to check it out in your local public library also.

Sometimes oil leaks can be stopped just by changing the oil (improved viscosity) and/or tightening the pan bolts a little. If this doesn't work after a couple of weeks, then change the pan gasket.


1993 Toyota Tercel LX 1.5 L from North America


A good buy if you don't mind a manual with no power anything


I had to change the front brake discs and shoes when I bought it on April 11th 2001.

Right speaker doesn't work.

General Comments:

I might have to adjust the idling on the car. It tends to stall in first gear.

It seems to be a high speed car as it doesn't really enjoy low speeds.

Good mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th April, 2001