1994 Toyota Tercel Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1994 Toyota Tercel Base 1.2 SOHC (?) from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.2 SOHC (?) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

Great value for money, but watch out for minor electrical problems

Faults:

Very few problems, but those that I had seemed to come in groups. Rear main seal leaked at 65000.

Clutch wore out at around the same time (63K or so). Probably due to abuse in the first year or so I had it; it hasn't given any trouble since.

A few brake problems (dust buildups, alignment issues) recently, at around 130K.

Vinyl seats are a mess. It started with a couple small splits on the driver seat seams, and soon the whole thing was in tatters.

Various electrical problems - interior light works only in odd-numbered years, the backlight for the clock on the radio/tape player hasn't worked in 3 years, the tape player sometimes works and sometimes doesn't.

I have to replace one headlight a year or so. Seems a little too much to me.

General Comments:

Overall, I think this is a great car. Very low maintenance, and runs great.

The acceleration is surprisingly zippy for such a little engine. Handling is fairly good too, except on sharp curves where it tends to travel sideways :)

This car is kinda cramped for more than two people, but I'm usually the only person in it so I'm comfortable (I'm 6'2", 190lb).

I wish it had cup holders. Even one would be great.

The persistent electrical problems are annoying, but overall I love this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th September, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel 1.5 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Liter Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance116923 miles

Summary:

Awesome inexpensive, nice looking, great running car

General Comments:

This car gets about 22+ miles per gallon and costs very little to fill the tank.

Handles extremely well.

Excellent performance.

Cheap to own.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th September, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel bare bones 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4 cylinder Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired130899 miles
Most recent distance137777 miles
Previous carBuick Park Avenue

Summary:

All around great deal

Faults:

I have the bare bones model so there is not a lot that can go wrong with the car.

The seats are worn.

The clutch was bad when I bought the car.

General Comments:

The original clutch died at just over 130,000 miles, but only cost me 350 dollars to replace.

The radio is a joke and the inside of the car is hotter than lava, on a summer day.

This is by far the cheapest and most dependable car that I have ever owned.

The car is very easy to work on and would be great for a college student.

If you want a fast car then this is not for you. If you are looking for a nice looking, very dependable, and cheap to run car then I would say buy this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th August, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired94000 miles
Most recent distance95500 miles
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

It is a great beginners car

Faults:

There was a cheap battery so I put a new one in the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel S 1.5 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 kilometres
Most recent distance192000 kilometres

Summary:

Very reliable and economical car

Faults:

Starter Problems at 160000 kms Considering its history and usage of vehicle, its not a big expense.

Seats wear out pretty quick.

General Comments:

Overall a very reliable car.

Low center of gravity and good handling, except on snow!

I am a pretty tall guy (6'1) and it is pretty roomy (I have a 2 door).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel 1.7 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.7 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired211 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Short-range commuter car

Faults:

The downside to this car is the motor. Underpowered and under-built.

This vehicle was very reliable in the short run. Vehicle was very well maintained, but still had a valve burn out at approximately 110,000 miles which caused cylinder/piston problems that ended up being terminal to the engine core. Ended up being more economical to replace the motor other than rebuild it.

The interior does not appear to be reliably installed. Seats wear and the carpet comes up very easily.

General Comments:

The way this car handled was surprising to me. For such a small wheelbase and skinny tires, it handled surprisingly well in curves. Even without power steering, it was not difficult to manage.

For such a small sedan, this car has sufficient trunk space.

The interior was black which caused it to be an oven in the summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th February, 2003

1994 Toyota Tercel LS 1.5 SOHC from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.5 SOHC Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired125000 kilometres
Most recent distance230000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Paseo

Summary:

230 000km after, nothing can stop it!

Faults:

Oil's burning since 170 000km, it's a seal problem.

Vinyl parts of the seats in the front started to tear at 200 000km.

I had problem with power, I've discovered that I haven't purchased the proper spark plugs. Always be sure to use v-power sparks plugs.

I have a sound problem with my rear brakes. I've purchased jobber parts and that's the result! When you change your brakes, make sure you get Toyota parts.

General Comments:

Very reliable : at -40 degrees still start easily!

Not the greatest performances, but still can give you power when you need it.

The LS model came with 4 speakers, a tape deck, special cover seats and other little special extras.

Great car with Toyota relability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

3rd Jul 2003, 08:24

I bought a Tercel 94 DX about 8 months back. I think MOST TERCELS have an OIL LEAK problem. The same is with mine. I replace the oil EVERY MONTH. There is a rear main seal leak which costs about $350 to replace. (Labor is high as you have to separate the motor and transmission).

Other than the OIL problem, my alternator belt snapped TWICE, but not a major issue.

THE car is great on mileage and compared to most other Hondas, Nissans of that milelage (150K) I think tercel's pretty smooth!!

SEAN.

15th Jun 2004, 19:29

Funny enough my tercel had an oil problem, but it kinda fixed itself. Now it barely ever burns oil. Weird huh.

29th Aug 2004, 01:13

I had purchased my 94 tercel ls 2 years ago and no problems at all. now with over 205 000km on it... the only thing is oil burn-off on startup besides that no leaking of any fluid no vinyl cracking no tearing in seats... just the rust starting, but that's normal. I have founds less oil burn with Regular Penzoil oil compared to Quakerstate and Castrol. try Penzoil and I'm sure you will see oil burn will reduce somewhat.

18th Apr 2007, 20:05

Not all LS models came with 4 speakers. Mine is a original LS model and I had to install the back speakers myself =)

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 27 reviews