2001 Toyota Tundra Reviews - Page 3 of 3

2001 Toyota Tundra Limited V8 I-Force from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission V8 I-Force Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired70 miles
Most recent distance10000 miles
Previous carGMC Safari

Summary:

Absolutely a great pickup

Faults:

Rattles in the CD/Radio area when temperatures are in the 30's. I had to take it in three times before the got it fixed. Access door on the driver's side rattles.

Would like to see engine/drivetrain that can handle 10,000 lbs. The 7,000 lbs handles most jobs, but if you're looking to pull a 32 foot camper, consider its performance.

General Comments:

Overall, outstanding comfort, reliability, and performance. I'm over six feet and I've driven several long trips (over 10 hours) and felt like I was in a luxury automobile. Although few rattling problems, reliability is a sure as the sun rising in the morning. Nothing beats this Toyota. Power is strong. Hauled full load of sand, mulch, and lawnmower. Couldn't tell I had anything in the back. Awesome ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2002

20th Nov 2002, 17:46

My 2002 Tundra Limited works and handles excellent. Toyota could improve on seat comfort and dash squeak and cracking.

Also a outside thermometer and heated mirrors should be standard on such a vehicle and a real back seat would make a real full size truck.

15th Feb 2005, 14:52

The 2003 and newer Tundras now come standard with power heated mirrors when ordered with the cold weather guard option package or the SR5 package. My 2003 has heated mirrors. They are great! And if you want a real back seat and 4 real doors the Double Cab Tundra will give you that, although I personally don't want a truck that large, or the extra $10,000 sticker price of a D/C.

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 LE from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance7500 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good Trunk, but Toyota needs to listen.

Faults:

The rear chrome bumper of the Toyota Tundra is designed insufficiently. It contains no support at its outer 13 inches. Within 8 months I have already replaced one bumper at my cost, and today I just dented the replacement. Both dent incidents happened with parking lot backups going very slowly (less than.5 MPH). There is high probability that even a slight strike to this outer area of the bumper can severely damage the trunk rear fender. Of further surprise, when I replaced the first bumper I found that I could beat the damaged bumper back into place with strikes of a hand rubber mallet. There has got to be something wrong here.. bumpers are not supposed to bend that easily. I have complained to Toyota about the first incident, but I have gotten absolutely no response. With this second incident I am demanding a free replacement bumper. The present bumper design presents a corner collision safety concern.. beware to all.

Thank you for letting me express this complaint.

Bent-Out-Of-Shape.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th June, 2002

7th Jul 2002, 14:23

I have the same complaint about the Tundra bumper, front and rear, both dent and bend like cheap tin.

14th Apr 2005, 20:48

This truck cannot even handle a parking lot. I hate to think of how it would do on a job site, doing real work. Running back and forth to the country club is probably more this model's speed. I just cannot find it within myself to take this model seriously. My neighbor has one of these, and it is having internal engine problems. I cannot understand how people keep clinging to the notion of Toyota products supposedly being so superior.

2001 Toyota Tundra Limited 4x4 4.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired300 miles
Most recent distance9100 miles
Previous carFord F250

Summary:

An urban cowboy pickup

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Pros:

The comfort on the highway can be compared very favorably to a luxury sedan.

The ride on bumpy trails and field roads is very smooth compared to my F250.

Very good acceleration.

Good gas mileage - 18 to 19.5 on the highway at 70mph (I'm running all synthetics - motor oil, transmission, differential).

Excellent braking.

Cons:

The 11.6 inch ground clearance is a joke as it's 9 inches from the housing to the ground.

Its 4x4 performance is terrible off-road in mud and swampy environments - it will get stuck in a NY second.

The frame hooks are small and in the rear they're nonexistent as you only have two small holes next to your hitch. Pulling a heavy boat/trailer lowers the gas mileage to 9 to 12mpg. Springs are weak as the rear end sags when trailering a load.

No HD after market products.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd September, 2001

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7L V-8 from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 4.7L V-8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired225 miles
Most recent distance2300 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best full size truck on the market for the price

Faults:

There is a small vibration in the front end.

General Comments:

First gear is a little slow (automatic) but the truck has power for days.

Wish I had bought the TRD package because the suspension is a little too mushy for any hard cornering.

Interior is a little small particularly the back seat (access cab).

This is the fifth Toyota I have owned and the second that I bought new. They last forever.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews