2001 Toyota Tundra Reviews

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.7 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance57500 miles

Summary:

Excellent all around

Faults:

Not one thing.

General Comments:

I have had my 2001 Tundra for four years and it has performed flawlessly.

No problem with brakes, like others.

Maybe I just lucked out!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

2001 Toyota Tundra Extended Cab 4.7L V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.7L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Die Hard Tundra

Faults:

A couple of light bulbs have blown.

General Comments:

Tan interior needs to be kept clean often (as expected)

Replace factory radio with after market.

Quick Truck, but at low speeds it goes through the gears to quickly. needs a longer time from 2nd-3rd in my opinion...

Comfortable ride with plenty of visual Distance.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st April, 2007

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 5.7L-V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.7L-V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance52000 miles
Previous carToyota Tacoma

Summary:

Great truck, will buy another

Faults:

Replaced a squeaky serpentine belt.

Performed regular maintenance, non-synthetic oil, Toyota factory filters and "parts"

General Comments:

Powerful enough for me, great accelleration on passing.

Am impressed with the V8, Lexus derived.

Gets over 20 MPG on highway trips, overall about 17 MPG in my actual driving experience.

Others have reported problems with the O2 sensor.

Toyota sent a letter extending the O2 sensor warranty.

Hard to beat a company that takes responsibility.

Hear they plan an update, bigger truck for '07.

I might be in the market for a new one.

Maybe not bulletproof, but close to it.

I'll buy an American truck when they can compete.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2006

12th Aug 2006, 19:17

It's a 5.6 v8, sorry to nitpick. Also how can something be lexus derived when its toyotas design anyways?

21st Oct 2006, 08:52

Can I ask why you specified that you use non-synth oil when synthetic oil is better in every way?

6th Nov 2006, 08:38

"It's a 5.6 v8, sorry to nitpick. Also how can something be Lexus derived when its Toyota's design anyways?"

Actually it is a 4.7L DOHC 285ci V8 engine, and I believe it is designed and built by Lexus though I'm not 100% sure.

30th Jun 2012, 14:02

Toyota is part of Lexus.

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.8 V8 from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.8 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carToyota Truck

Summary:

Great service, great truck!!!

Faults:

I have owned my Tundra for 5 years now, and have not had any brake issues, but I have had tire issues! Toyota puts cheap tires on their vehicles. I replaced my tires at 20,000 miles with Goodrich tires, alignment done, replaced pads at 45,000 with Toyota pads, had rotors turned.

At 90,000, replaced pads with Toyota pads and put new shocks on, had alignment done. No problems at all!!!

I feel bad for those of you that have had brake issues.

As far as service goes, I think Toyota is at the top of the list.

One other thing; I do believe there was a recall on calipers in 2002 on the Tundra, and previous to that on the T100.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th May, 2006

2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 4.7L from North America

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55025 miles
Most recent distance64739 miles
Previous carChevrolet Silverado

Summary:

Lexus Engine in a Toy

Faults:

Besides the brakes, Nothing, I have done up up grades such as a K&N Cold air intake, 17" alloys with BF Goodrich tires, grille guard, etc.

When you start the truck cold it takes a few min to idle from 1800 to 700.

General Comments:

I tow a lot, whether it be trailers to cars or boats, my truck is usually towing something. The towing capacity on the truck should be higher and the fake hitch on the back, should be hooked on the frame, not on the bumper. I don't have a lot of power when I am hauling a 5k load, like I did with my half ton chevrolet with a 5.3L in it.

The brakes are a flaw for the Tundra, I need to replace the rotors already and it needs brake work.

Seats are comfortable.

Stereo is OK, but not like what's in the new Camrys.

I get about 15mpg on the interstate and about 13 in town. It is not like the other toyots trucks I had where I got 21, 22 mpg.

It handles good and preforms well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

2001 Toyota Tundra 4X2 SR5 4.7L from North America

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.7L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance55000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Import Rules!

Faults:

There's basically nothing wrong with the truck. Just wears and tears as any cars/trucks.

If you didn't get the TRD Suspension Package with TRD/Bilstein Shocks (estimated another $500), the factory Toyota shocks would probably give up any where between 30,000-40,000. Mine died somewhere in the middle.

When you change your oil, make sure your just using 5W30s. Cause 10W will decrease your gas mileage by a little.

At 55,000 miles my O2 Sensor went. Don't know which one. When you get a Check Engine Light and you don't want to pay $80 just for the dealer to tell you what is wrong, go to AutoZone, they'll do it for free. There are four O2 Sensor, and they're very pricey.

Don't get the TRD Exhaust unless your willing to pay extra for low HP gains. I think Toyota offers the Borla Dual Exhuast for about the same price and it's a whole lot better. And with the the TRD Supercharger ($3500), its supposely have the same amount of power as a 5.6L Titan.

General Comments:

This truck is very nice. Awesome for towing w/o sacrificing the ride comfort. The engine might not be as big as Domestic Trucks, but you'll be suprise of what it can do.

Not a lot of HP, but you still make them feel Salty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2004

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 12 reviews