2000 Toyota Yaris SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Sporty AND Sensible!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Fantastic car. Surprisingly quick for a 1.3. The SR Version has nice Alloy wheels, a bigger exhaust and a very cool spoiler so it looks really good.

Haven't had the car all that long, but couldn't be happier with it so far. It seems huge inside and tiny on the outside, with outstanding fuel economy too. The sliding rear seats are a stroke of genius - why doesn't everyone own a Yaris?!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

2000 Toyota Yaris Luna plus 1.3 from Greece

Faults:

I have sometimes perhaps when the engine is cold problem with the reverse gear.

General Comments:

The car is easy and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2004

2000 Toyota Yaris Verso GS 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A big car in a small package

Faults:

New drivers door seal fitted under warranty.

General Comments:

Other than servicing and warranty work noted above, the car has been totally reliable.

Overall economy just under 43 mpg, best economy 47 mpg, worst 38.5 mpg.

More load space than a Mercedes E class estate when the seats are folded under the floor. Yaris Verso = 2100 litres. Mercedes E class estate = 1900 litres.

Body roll apparent, but sticks to the road well when cornering.

Use the gearbox and it's a great overtaker and hill climber. Motor very tractable - pulls fifth gear at 23mph on the flat and accelerates smoothly without a murmur - isn't VVT wonderful.

High seats make access easy. The digital dash is excellent. The cabin is very roomy and is 2 inches wider than the saloon. The headroom is excessive!!

The only critiscism I have is that the ride could be better.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2003

2000 Toyota Yaris SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Nippy, funky looking hatch that stands out

Faults:

Rear Silencer went at 20K Miles.

Door Seals came loose within a year.

Passenger door locked & wouldn't open a day after purchasing the vehicle.

General Comments:

The car has good performance for a 1.3. Its lacking in torque so to get the most out of it the engine requires to be revved.

Handling is good, if you push too hard the front wheels will safely under steer. Ride is not the best around town, but out on the open road its fine.

Cabin Quality could be better as some materials feel cheap. Well built though.

Cabin is very big for such a small car & can accommodate up to four adults comfortably.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

2000 Toyota Yaris CDX 1.3 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A great car for city driving

Faults:

I have not had any problems in over two years, nor any faults requiring work under the warranty.

General Comments:

The car is ideal for city driving.

It is easy to park.

The 1.3 engine is very responsive.

The car handles well.

The seats are comfortable with a good driving position.

It has the interior space of a larger car.

The boot space is not generous, but can be expanded by moving the back seat forward.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

2000 Toyota Yaris GS 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A little belter!

Faults:

The central locking system occasionally misbehaves, sometimes only one door unlocks on entry.

The remarkable refinement of the car is a spoilt a little by an annoying trim rattle from the doors.

General Comments:

A cracking little town car that actually cuts the mustard out on the open road. My wife and I took our Yaris down to Barcelona last year - 2500 miles in a week. It coped amazingly well and returned 50 mpg.

It is surprisingly quick for a 1.0 litre, especially pulling away from junctions/roundabouts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2002

2000 Toyota Yaris Luna 5 door 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

I thought it was great until I realized it had rust - a 9 month old car!

Faults:

There are signs of rust above one rear wheel and also on the bonnet where the paint has been chipped from everyday wear and tear.

It looks like the car only got one coat of paint.

General Comments:

I am interested to know is this a general problem with this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

24th Jul 2001, 10:47

I own a Toyota Yaris 1.3 SR and I've had the same problem with the paint work.

I've owned the car for 4 months from new and there are about 15 chips.

Please contact me because I am in the process of complaining to Toyota.

Olis@btinternet.com

23rd Aug 2001, 07:57

I have the same problem with a 1.0 GS in metallic black. Even the slightest scratch shows up the WHITE primer underneath. And I paid extra for metallic...