2000 Toyota Yaris Reviews - Page 3 of 5

2000 Toyota Yaris Verso 1.3 VVTI from Israel

Model year2001
Year of manufacture2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 VVTI Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

Good for families, a little rustic

Faults:

Rubber around driver side window torn and had to be fixed.

Clear plastic cover of back lights fell off.

Constant rattle from the rear.

Slight squeal from front brakes.

And, of course, the awful looks.

General Comments:

Car is extremely practical, and as the name suggests, it is highly versatile: the back seats disappear into the floor, creating a huge space. Only one seat can be folded if needed so that small families can throw in an unfolded trolley. Car is quite economical at 14km per liter average. The odd thing is that there is plenty of power at start, but any uphill or higher speed acceleration is slow. Steeper hills uncover the lack of power. Engine noise is well suppressed, but wind noise is quite prominent at higher speeds. Styling is terrible inside and out, air con vents are way too small and flimsily, and plastics look real cheap. Car came with tape deck so had to install after market CD player which had to be placed way low in a hard to reach position. Suspension and steering is quite poor, lots of bumps and vibration with a dead steering wheel. Good handling however. Awkward driving position due to uncomfortable seat angle. Lack of armrest is noticeable. Kind of a civilized commercial van. My wife enjoyed the Saxo much more. More practical than the regular Yaris. All in all a good deal.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 29th September, 2006

3rd Oct 2006, 08:10

Well, I can tell you a positive aspect of your Toyota: the Saxo your wife loved so much behaves very badly on an accident while the Yaris, even the one produced in 2000, gives a better protection.

Take a look at the Euroncap site.

13th Oct 2006, 09:51

I took a look at the Yaris results which seem very good, the question is - does the Verso, which is a completely different car, perform the same?

4th Nov 2006, 16:09

Hmm, good question...

I believe it does because they both come from the same concept basis and probably they use the same platform.

4th Mar 2007, 04:24

Verso actually uses a slightly different chassis.

26th Jun 2007, 18:07

Original owner:

Nearly 10 months and 30,000km later, the car has grown on me and doesn't look that ugly any more... the inside still looks awful though.

Wind noise was due to window alignment so the car is quiet at high speeds as well.

Light covers glued with silicone - haven't fallen since.

Brake squeal gone and knocking from the back was found to be caused by untightened license plate...

Gas mileage: 12-14km/liter.

Reliability: no problems, still running on original panasonic battery - going on 7 years!

In retrospect I would give the car a higher score than I originally did - except for the rather poor riding comfort and bad internal looks the car has been good to me.

2000 Toyota Yaris GS 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

Buy one, you WILL Love it too much!

Faults:

Gear change was rather clunky/notchy when I first got the vehicle. Reported to dealer & they fitted modified cables (common fault apparently) Changes gear smoothly now.

Other than that it's been fantastic.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned, very very reliable, nippy around town, easy to park, cheap to run... it's a dream!

I will stick to Japanese cars from now on.

It does 50+ MPG.

Ultra reliable.

I have taken it on several long motorway journeys & when it's warmed up & used to the higher speeds, it motors along great at 70 MPH & still returns good fuel figures.

Good size boot - can be made bigger if you side rear seats forward, I have had a large coffee table in it with the seats down.

It's nice & high so you just step in and out of it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th May, 2006

2000 Toyota Yaris GLS 998 from UK and Ireland

Model year2000
Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 998 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired36000 miles
Most recent distance58000 miles
Previous carProton Proton

Summary:

Better than chocolates and champagne!

Faults:

Nothing! Absolutely nothing! I've never had a car that's so reliable, cheap and funky.

General Comments:

This is a winner in all departments. Nothing has gone wrong with it since I've brought it and its cheap to run. Does around 36 miles to the gallon local driving and around 55 on motorway. Mine has a cassette player and cd player so I can enjoy any music and the running is smooth. I have had three hefty gentlemen colleagues and one woman colleague all sit in the car as my passengers and drove up the steepest road in Nottingham. Yaris (as I have named her) had no problem, she chugged up without any groans or moans. Its only 1 litre and therefore cheap to run, but hey... I don't need anything bigger as it fulfills my every need... well you know... within reason!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th November, 2005

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 19 reviews