2002 Toyota Yaris 1.3 from Israel

Summary:

Wonderful we intend to buy another one

Faults:

Some wind noise and engine noise have developed in the second year.

Nothing at all has gone wrong.

General Comments:

Superb car, best small car I have ever owned, ideal for a family of 2 and roomy enough for an occasional trip with four adults.

Handling, fuel economy, ergonomics and comfort good, though some mild back pain noted on long trips.

Small boot cannot hold a pram.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd July, 2004

2002 Toyota Yaris T-Sport 1.5 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A Brilliant Car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

This is the best car I've ever owned.

105BHP out of a 1.5 engine and 0-60 in 9 seconds makes this car a nippy little number.

The interior space is unreal compared to the size of the car, its like you're in something twice as big.

The engine and road noise can get loud at speed, but its all part of the fun.

I would seriously reccommend this car to anyone looking for a quick hatch back, not quite a hot hatch, but at only group 7 insurance it's a bargain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

14th Sep 2004, 11:05

O-60 in 9 seconds is not quick!

17th Sep 2004, 19:13

As a T-sport owner myself, I certainly consider it nippy even if the acceleration isn't enough to require a neck-brace. The acceleration is about the best available for Insurance group 7, and not far short of most traditional GTIs. Plenty of torque and not much weight mean the in-gear performance is equally useful.

20th Jan 2005, 16:48

My 150bhp Golf 1.8 GTI (turbo) has a 0-60 time of 7.9 seconds, for a 105bhp 1.5 it is faster than most cars of similar spec particularly for group 7. An ideal run-around, with more refinement.

12th Mar 2006, 08:19

I own an 05 Yaris T-Sport and it's a cracking little car. 0-60 is only 8.7 seconds (0-62 in 9.0). This is not far short of many GTis and is surely the quickest group 7 insurance car as standard. Its acceleration is better than a great many cars with bigger engines due to Toyota's excellent production and of course is also very reliable. Its also a great spec. For the price nothing comes close in my opinion.

2002 Toyota Yaris SR 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Reliable, comfortable, practical and fun

Faults:

Rust bubble on boot lid - fixed under paint warranty.

General Comments:

I bought this car because of it's renowned reliability (after owning a very poorly made Seat) and I wasn't disappointed! The car had absolutely no mechanical faults in the year that I owned it.

The Toyota dealership service was also better than average. The car was recalled once and to make up for the inconvenience of me having to take it in for the work doing they cleaned it inside and out, filled it up with petrol and give me a complimentary Toyota car care kit! Now that's what I call good service.

I would describe the car itself as a fun runabout. With this being the SR version it certainly looks the part with really nice alloys, chrome exhaust and spoiler, but that's where the sportiness ends. The car is nippy, but needs to be revved. Unfortunately revving the engine was not an enjoyable experience due to the lack of a sporty exhaust note - it just sounds like an over-revved engine! Also motorway cruising is let down by the engine being far too noticeable at 4000 revs (about 80mph) even though the car would happily cruise at well over the legal limit.

Handling wise the car was very good. The tyres gave good grip and the steering was fairly precise although a little too light to be called sporty. This particular version of the Yaris also lets itself down over uneven surfaces, probably due to the lower profile tyres. This became a little wearing after a while.

The interior of the car is probably it's best feature. The seats are very comfortable and there are lots of cubby holes in which to store things along with a slide out drawer under the passenger seat. The cars best feature is however it's sliding rear seats which allow you to either sacrifice boot space for extra leg room or vice versa. The rear seat can also be folded up in such a way to leave you with completely flat a sizeable load carrying area. The central digital instrument binnacle is also a nice feature which has the added bonus of only allowing the driver to see the current speed - stops the girlfriend from moaning about me driving too fast!

To sum up I'd say that this is a very reliable and fun little runabout which is also surprisingly practical for such a small car. With the rear seat pushed back it will happily accommodate large adults - something which most small cars would struggle to do. But the SR moniker indicates only that it has sporty visual features. If you're happy to drive a sporty looking car with no actual sports car credentials (but cheap insurance) then you'll be really happy. But you would need to look elsewhere for a proper sporty hatchback.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th August, 2003

26th May 2004, 04:47

Having owned the same vehicle as the author of this review, I have to agree with the comments made. My vehicle too was the subject of a Toyota recall, and as well as the clean, fuel etc., I also got a bottle of champagne! So there!

Agree on the performance - it is not a sporty car, but looks the part.

My only concern, is how little we got for it when we traded it in. UK new car prices may have fallen, but so have used proportionally. So be aware, that you will pay less as a buyer, but you will also get less as the seller.

You need to be very careful if you enter PCP type finance plans, as you may find that the GFV (balloon, final payment) is much more than the car is worth. We can't have our cake and eat it - we all shouted for lower new car prices and we got them, but the bottom has fallen out of the used car market as a result.

Good news if you're buying used!

19th Oct 2006, 09:10

I agree as standard SR that the exhaust tone is not the best, but. buy a good induction kit and you will notice the sound differ from the std. unclip the airfilter and listen, it sounds bang on for a 1.3.