2002 Toyota Yaris Bizz 1.4 D4-D from Portugal


A great high performance little diesel


The security light did not flash.

This problem was fixed in one afternoon.

General Comments:

I really love this car, it handles very well and it is very fast for a 1.4 diesel engine.

The fuel economy is really high, it does 300km with 15 liters.

It is very comfortable and has a really god driving position, even for tall people.

The stereo could be a little better, but I think it has to do with the speakers.

Overall a great little (maybe not so little) car. Congratulations to Toyota.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th October, 2002

2002 Toyota Yaris S 1.0 petrol from UK and Ireland


Very hard to fault !


Plastic trim to fuse-box cover came loose and fell off.

General Comments:

For a base model car that costs less than £7,000, the level of safety kit is remarkable. How many other manufacturers include A.B.S. as standard on a car of this type?

Remarkably economical, returning over 60 mpg. on a run with careful driving.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2002

26th Mar 2003, 07:35

Yaris is great little car. Just a point on the ABS issue. Majority of cars now comes with ABS as standard. Even the smallest and cheapest of Clios comes with ABS. Its now the norm.

2002 Toyota Yaris GS from UK and Ireland


Fine as a shopping trolley, or school runs!



General Comments:

In March I made a bad mistake by replacing my faithful "F Reg." 1300 Astra Estate with a brand new Yaris Verso.

Mechanically it has been fine and has proved exceptionally economical with up to 45 mpg readily obtainable here in the Chiltern Hills! On motor ways it struggles to hold, (ahem), seventy five with 38 mpg at best, whereas the Astra regularly achieved 42-45.

I've now held a licence for over forty years and in all that time I've never come across such a wilful vehicle! The low speed torque us virtually non existent and we've to slip the clutch to stop it stalling. On the move you can forget economy and race the engine if you want to keep up with the traffic flow.

The map pockets over the sun visors are simply brilliant. Pity the visors themselves are too shallow to be of any use on such a deep windscreen!

The reversing lights illuminate the trees, but not the road behind!

But worst of all is its abysmal ground clearance. I now have to use the Wife's car if I want to exercise the dogs, as there is not a single picnic area within miles I can drive onto without hearing it scrubbing the ground!

In any case whenever I've used it for the dogs I've felt guilty as the ride in the back is atrocious.

I could go on and on about its foibles. But to summarise it's proved a bitter disappointment.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th September, 2002

10th Sep 2005, 18:05

I wasn't aware that reversing lights were supposed to illuminate the rear area, they are for alerting other road users to the fact you are reversing! Plus, do you really care what your dogs think of the ride?

20th Apr 2006, 03:56

The yaris is a great car and as the other comment said, reversing light are for warning other drivers. The yaris is a very nippy car and I can't see how it would stall starting off, I can often start off in 2nd gear. Road tests and other reviews nearly all rate this car very highly so either the person producing this review has never drive a yaris or got a lemon.

1st Aug 2006, 09:22

I think we've got the difference between the country and the city here - I've lived in both, and good ground clearance and reversing lights that illuminate where you are going are essential in rural areas; the 2 who have commented clearly have no experience of life beyond the burbs, and manage to sound quite defensive about it. For the record, the only lemon I ever had was a Toyota Camry, bought brand new in 2002, it needed a new engine after 5 weeks, none of the panels fitted properly, the steering was misaligned from new and it was excessively noisy.

And the last time I drove a Yaris platform Toyota across London, it scraped every speedbump.

4th Nov 2008, 15:02

I'm sorry but am I missing the point? You buy a small car, the Yaris, then complain that there isn't enough room for the dogs! It's a Yaris!!!

As several people here have said, the Yaris is a fine car (although a bit overpriced in my opinion) and I bought one second hand for my mum, who had a very poor quality Fiat Cinquecento (try getting your dogs in one of those mate).

I love the Yaris, the roominess, the safety, the a/c, sunroof etc etc I could go on!

27th Apr 2014, 04:13

The guy obviously loves to complain. Buy Yaris and expect minivan space and Ferrari performance? The Astra is a crap car. The Yaris is obviously a huge step up.

2002 Toyota Yaris GLS 5door 1.4 D-4D diesel from UK and Ireland


Economy without Sacrifice


Nothing to date.

General Comments:

Plenty of room in front, particularly.

The interior seems very well built and rattle free.

Dark Grey Velour seats, tend to show fluff very easily, but are very comfortable (even for someone of 6 foot 3 inches).

Fuel economy is about 66mpg even though not run in, and on local runs with air-con on!

Was a little apprehensive about the 3d dash display, but must admit, it is easy to get used to and seems to work well.

Was a bit disappointed to be told by Toyota Dealer, that the on board computer, will not work out fuel consumption on diesel models (surely diesel owners are more economy minded).

Engine is exceptionally quiet, and acceleration is extremely good.

Have been told resale values will be even higher than petrol versions, which are already probably best in this class of vehicle!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd July, 2002