2006 Toyota Yaris Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2006 Toyota Yaris Hatchback 1.5 Gas from North America

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5 Gas Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance50000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Good car, Toyota is gouging, will not buy more

Faults:

Alternator.

General Comments:

We lost an alternator at 50,000 miles on one car. We have 4 Yaris in our fleet of delivery cars. Three dealerships quoted us $780 to replace the alternator. The part was $625 from the dealer. We disassembled the alternator on the bench, pressed out the bearings and bought new ones from the bearing supply, back on the road for $30 and three hours of our time. We would have paid $200 for a new one. We are disappointed that the alternator went after 50k and outraged that we are expected to pay $7-800 for an alternator fix. P.S., Scion A has same drive train, different alternator.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th August, 2007

30th Dec 2007, 20:10

50K miles is indeed too early to expect an alternator failure. As an interesting note, the alternator is placed in front of the engine, close to the front grid, thus more exposed to mud and water… Maybe this explains a premature bearing failure? No doubt, at the dealer such parts are extremely expensive. Next time, the simplest way would be to walk to a salvage yard.

By any chance, did you have a clue about the average mileage those cars are getting?

2006 Toyota Yaris T3 1.4 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.4 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance11852 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Overall an improvement on the old Yaris, and well worth checking out

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

As a previous Yaris owner, I was looking forward to driving this car and wasn't disappointed.

Although it has a 1.4 engine like the old Yaris, it has been up-rated and is much nippier.

The interior is comfortable and, as before, has loads of storage bins.

The only downside is that the fuel economy isn't as good although the official figures show it to be the same as the old Yaris diesel. I was getting over 60 m.p.g. but with this car can only squeeze 54 m.p.g. around town, but that's still pretty good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th March, 2007

2006 Toyota Yaris RS Hatch 3 Door 1.5. L from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.5. L Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance22000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Celica

Summary:

The finest car I have owned is the Toyota Yaris!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I've had this great little car for over a year. The car is reliable and a lot of fun to drive. I am continually getting people pulling up along side of me asking my fuel economy, and it is a head turner. The other cars in this segment are not as attractive as the Yaris. There are 16 storage areas and they all fold away when you're not using them for a clean interior appearance. Great job Toyota!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th January, 2007

2006 Toyota Yaris T3 1.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance1500 miles
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

An improvement on the previous Yaris

Faults:

While driving through the garage forecourt on the first day of ownership, I noticed two circular marks on the dashboard straight in the driver's vision. I drove back and after several applications of various solvents and polishes was informed that a new dashboard was required. It took three days to fit!

General Comments:

Surprisingly good on the Motorway, considering the small engine. Very quiet at speed, no wind noise even at 70 mph.

Handling is okay, although a little jittery over a rough road.

Driving position is very comfortable with supportive seats.

Rear seats configuration takes some getting used to. The back seat will recline, but try getting it back up while sitting in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th October, 2006

2006 Toyota Yaris 1.3 from Egypt

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired21 kilometres
Most recent distance1400 kilometres
Previous carToyota Yaris

Summary:

Best in the class

Faults:

No Problems.

General Comments:

The car is great at this price, but here in Egypt we have only the 1300 Engine.

It has few minors:

- Trunk door has to be held by hand to remain up.

- Trunk door is not smoothly closing.

- very small gloves box.

That's all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 2006

14th Feb 2007, 04:36

Hi guys, I am comparing a Yaris to a New Elantra, which do you think is better for a girl?

Please advise.

5th Mar 2007, 07:12

I just want to be sure about the reliability of this car. Is the Yaris a stable car while driving on the highway with my girlfriend, and how fast can I go while keeping the steering wheel stable?

2006 Toyota Yaris T3 VVT 5 door petrol 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission petrol 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16 miles
Previous carMG ZR

Summary:

My second baby!

Faults:

Nothing - what do you expect from a Toyota! I have never had a Toyota before, but I know my future cars WILL be Toyotas.

General Comments:

The build quality on the new shape 'big small' Yaris is excellent.

Interior:

Well thought out. Simple things such as - gear stick & hand brake are the comfort zones (i.e. not having to make your arm do a special journey).

Bucket style seats in the front are really nice & comfortable.

The ride is really nice - suspension is just right.. not a bone shaker, & also not like riding in Miss Daisy.

All your readings are digital (speed, revs, petrol, etc etc)

The look & feel is very solid & well finished.

Boot: Ideal size boot for a small family. For example - easily fit in a P3 Pramette from Momas & Papas with additional room. The back seats can be moved forward to give additional space. Even when the back seats are moved fully forward, you can sit in the back seats with no leg room problems (& I am 6'1").

Safety: This was a big issue for me, as my wife is expecting our first child.

The new Yaris is 5* EuroNCAP (www.euroncap.com), & the first in its class to have a driver's knee air bag. It has all the usual driver, passenger, side & curtain airbags for the back & front.

The chassis is made to disperse pressure away from the 'pod' if an unfortunate crash did happen.

Visibility:

When sat in the new shape Yaris, you seem to be further off the ground than most other cars - giving you a better view of the road ahead.

The wing mirrors are exceptionally good - large viewing area to give you full awareness of cars near you & next to you.

Exterior:

As you would expect from a Toyota, everything is finished off really nice - good paint job, & good security with deadlocks.

Reliability:

I have only had my new Yaris a few days, but partly bought on knowing & researching information that seemed to point out - Japanese cars are one of the most reliable cars made.

Good riddance to my MG ZR!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2006

21st Mar 2006, 06:02

Hi.

Would you be able to do another review in a few months? My girlfriend absolutely loves the new Yaris, but will only be able to get one in a year or so, so your comments on how it goes would be much appreciated, thank you!

M.

28th Mar 2006, 08:07

Hi.

I have a 2005 Yaris and I'm also very satisfied. Could you tell what do you think about the engine of the new Yaris? Mine is the 1.0 and I think it's very very underpowered. How is the new one?

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 11 reviews