2008 Toyota Yaris Reviews - Page 3 of 4

2008 Toyota Yaris 1.3 from United Arab Emirates

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 kilometres
Most recent distance6000 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Outlander

Summary:

Excellent car in its category

Faults:

Nothing wrong to date.

General Comments:

The Yaris hatchback is a small car, but once you sit inside it, it has got lot of leg space. One feels very comfortable, even if you travel for 300 KM in one go.

The four speed automatic transmission works very fine. The downshifting of gears is very nice.

AC is pity good. Let’s see how it works in the merciless heat of UAE during summers.

Will recommend this car to those who are looking for reliability, fuel economy and less hassle, especially when you are looking for a parking, which is a big problem in my region nowadays.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2009

14th Jul 2009, 09:43

Further to my first review, I have now driven my Toyota Yaris 15000 KM. It is moving like a new car with no problem at all.

The reason for writing this review is that I am surprised at the AC performance also. Like I had mentioned in my first review that I will update you guys specially when the summer is on in United Arab Emirates. The temperature sometimes touches 50C. Even in this extreme temperature the car is cooling very well.

I will keep you updated as and when I touch 50000 KM mark. I use this as my second car, but don't feel like missing it for a single day of driving it.

2008 Toyota Yaris 4 dr 1.5 liter from North America

Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 liter Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance24500 kilometres
Previous carHyundai Elantra

Summary:

A piece of junk carrying a well recognized emblem

Faults:

Battery dead on 18000

2 of speakers don't work

It rattles almost everywhere, and dealer does nothing for this!

General Comments:

We regret we let the name Toyota cheat us! I didn't like the look of this car, and had found that panels in the middle were too stupid. However, my wife believed these were small issues regarding the performance of Toyota.

Now we've found the car really too poorly built. Handling is not great and the seats are awful. We're now just counting the days until our 4-year lease is over and we can switch to something else. Whatever, import or domestic, but a little more real car, and not a plastic noisy ugly toy!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th November, 2008

18th Nov 2008, 08:34

I have a 2007 Yaris hatchback and I've already got over 46,000 miles and I haven't had one single problem out of this car, and guess what, I don't hear any rattles and all of my speakers are still working just fine..

3rd Dec 2008, 16:32

I have a 2003 Toyota Yaris, and it has no problems... PERIOD.

Had 29k when I bought it, it now has 53k. My next will be a Toyota.

2008 Toyota Yaris Sedan 1.5 from North America

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.5 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7100 kilometres
Most recent distance7985 kilometres
Previous carToyota Tercel

Summary:

First class small sedan with great gas mileage

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

For what it's worth this review is about a Yaris I recently rented in Alberta. The car was an automatic with air conditioning. The driving was mostly on excellent 2 lane paved highways with some gravel road and town driving.

This is an excellent small car with great gas mileage. Overall it returned 48 mpg at highway speeds slightly over the speed limit of 100 kph. It was comfortable for me - 5'9" 160 lbs. - and the passengers had no complaints. It was very well put together and felt solid on bumpy gravel roads. The engine was quite adequate but was a little noisy when pushed. Cruising at highway speeds was comfortable and it was not excessively noisy.

Overall, I would give this car an excellent rating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd June, 2008

2008 Toyota Yaris LX 1.3 from Egypt

Model year2008
Year of manufacture2008
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 kilometres
Most recent distance11 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Lancer

Summary:

A great performance for a small car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Intelligence and quality in every piece.

This car performs very good and very efficient. I feel the (quality and intellegance) everywhere, engine, transitions, wheels, space.

They really go the maximum from every thing in this car.

It do about 11KM/Litre in the city, and about 14KM/litre on highways.

Before I had a 1300 manual lancer. I was surprised when I bought my yaris that the 1300 Automatic yaris performs very much better than 1300 manual lancer.

- Air condition is better

- Very stable on the ground even with 200km/hour (lancer was unstable on 150KM/hour).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2008

27th May 2008, 19:16

...one word to explain the quality and amazing-ness of the Yaris...TOYOTA!!! Although the lancer is OK, Toyota, in my opinion, makes the best small cars around. Although my girlfriends Mazda 3 is pretty close too!

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 12 reviews