14th Jan 2009, 19:25

Obviously most folks aren't aware that the Yaris actually made some "10 WORST" lists.

Toyota "quality"?? That's a laugh!!

17th Mar 2009, 18:09

Toyota quality is the gold standard by which all other cars should be measured. I find this review EXTREMELY hard to believe.

5th Aug 2009, 11:52

There are always one offs and there will always be the occasional lemon from a manufacturer, regardless of reputation or their quality standards. I know Toyota are excellent cars despite my only experience owning one - a 1991 Camry that was a piece of work. I know I'm in the minority though. It seems kind of silly to denounce an entire brand when you had a negative experience that very, very few others have reported (while everyone else raved).

9th Sep 2009, 06:44

I have an '07 Yaris with 60,000 miles. I rotate my tires and change my oil every 10,000 miles. I've had absolutely NO PROBLEMS. I've heard a lil rattle, but it's since gone away.

5th Nov 2009, 09:00

We had ours for a year and totally LOVE IT. I am very tall and it fits us just great. Its the most comfortable car we ever had! Just wondering now about the run-away problem, do Yaris have that problem? Hope not since I have one.

Also, I have a hatchback and there is ton of room for when we go car camping and also hauling people. But the gas mileage of 40 is wonderful.

22nd Feb 2010, 11:48

You leased a car for that length of time? You're better off buying a beater in cash. You will own nothing at the end of the lease.

Realize... Even with this being a lemon Toyota, it still has their emblem on front. Many people would've blindly paid top dollar for this car once you were ready to unload it.

6th May 2010, 20:32

The Yaris never made any Ten Worst List that I'm aware of. That honour belongs to the Chevrolet Aveo.

8th May 2010, 11:55

I'd buy a new Toyota without thinking twice. I'd just check the VIN for a J. Only American-built Toyota models had unintended acceleration issues. The Japanese-built ones are still the quality vehicles we've come to expect from Toyota. Kind of goes to show how low our quality control is over here in the States.

The Yaris is one of Toyota's vehicles that is made exclusively in Japan, and no Yaris models were affected in any recalls. I hope Toyota continues to make the Yaris in Japan, and doesn't move production to the States, because I'm considering purchasing a Yaris in a year or so.

5th Aug 2010, 12:44

A Toyota (or any other Japanese) lemon gets you a flat battery and a couple of non working speakers, total cost to fix less than $300 CAD.

I think it's a heck of a deal then, even if it is a lemon.

22nd Aug 2010, 18:24

The Yaris is not a lemon.

23rd Aug 2010, 08:12

I have a 2007 Yaris Sedan which I purchased in July 2006. It has well over 72,000 miles and is still working perfectly.

It has taken a beating from me and honestly I really love the car. Although I do take good care of it and have the oil changes and checkups in time.

I guess that's what makes the difference. Besides Toyota is Toyota.

23rd Aug 2010, 19:51

"Besides Toyota is Toyota."

Yes. And in quality Toyota currently ranks TWENTY-FIRST out of THIRTY-THREE car makers (well below ALL domestic brands). I'd have a hard time calling that "quality".

12th Oct 2010, 23:06

I find it strange that many people are saying all Toyotas are crap now, and they rank below domestics in ratings. Toyota dropped the ball on safety with all their recalls, but they dominated the big three in reliability ratings for almost 25 years. Now, all of a sudden, they make nothing but junk? Have people forgotten that GM went bankrupt?

Chrysler has been on the brink of bankruptcy for a long time. They only managed to avoid GM's fate with a partnership with FIAT. Ford may be making some pretty good cars, but maybe they should be called Mexican Motors. They have outsourced major production of product to Mexico. Furthermore, Ford's cars only really improved after they began to share the same platform with many Mazdas.

20th May 2011, 20:11

I would like to buy a so called lemon car only with battery and speaker problems.

To me, this is a piece of cake.

21st May 2011, 18:27

First off, NO new car should have ANY problems in the first 3-5 years.

Secondly, Toyota is experiencing far more issues than speakers and batteries. Based on actual owner surveys, Toyota now has dropped to the bottom 3rd of all cars in build quality and reliability. It is failing miserably to keep up the myth that they are better than other cars. In fact, at present there are 20 car makers around the world that are rated higher than Toyota in overall quality and reliability. That's a lot.

21st Jul 2013, 13:47

A four year lease? You leased a Toyota Yaris?

24th Jul 2013, 17:50

I agree, Mazdas are great. We have a Mazda 3 Touring and a Mazda 6. I drive a new Edge. My son has a new Ford F150 (75 percent content USA).

I rented one of these, being a cheap rental, just to drive to a relative's home mid day. I should have waited until after work and gotten a ride. This is what it is.

26th Jul 2013, 19:09

Curious if anyone can say anything positive on the dash design?