1980 Triumph TR7 Reviews

1980 Triumph TR7 DHC 2.0L from North America

Model year1980
Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1982
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0L Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance160000 miles
Previous carTriumph GT6+

Summary:

Best car ever for a warm sunny day

Faults:

Original engine had in-warranty head gasket trouble. Put in new short block at 100,000 miles. Fine since.

AC compressor (York) seems to have shorter life than expected. But easy to replace.

General Comments:

1980 30th Anniversary Edition bought new in 1982 from leftover stock at a Jag dealer. Just celebrated its own 30th year with new paint and collector plates.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th April, 2010

1980 Triumph TR7 DHC 2.0L 4 cylinder stock from North America

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0L 4 cylinder stock Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87500 miles
Most recent distance127516 miles
Previous carToyota 4Runner

Summary:

Just plain fun!

Faults:

The problems from the stock TR-7 were minor, actually, I was glad that the small stuff went instead of the big things.

I expected to change a few bulbs and screws here and there, but the most surprising thing was that the car was holding together very well.

I replaced the bad seals and headlights, but that's all really. I did run into brake lock up because the calipers froze due to rust. It was my bad though.

General Comments:

NOTICE: This car I have had for most of the time was my own conversion to a Wankel Rotary twin turbo engine. I did own the original car for about 10,000 miles though.

This TR7 originally came with the 2.0 DHC 4 cylinder engine mounted on a 5 speed transmission. It was a drop top, which I later customized to a targa top.

The best part about this car, is that you are not worried about dinging it here or there, because it's already old. You drive it how it's supposed to be driven, you jump in and have fun. This car is a great daily commuting car as well because of the gas mileage. I drive slow in the city so maybe the numbers are off compared to others.

If anyone is looking for cheap, sharp, fun little project, the TR-7 is right for you.

With the stock engine I was quite impressed at the quickness and the sound, with a custom exhaust and ports it sounded great.

I also got around town with it @ an average of 34 MPG High 41 Low 21. After I converted the car to the Rotary engine I dropped to about 24.

Total amount of money spent, $3,800 on paint, engine and transmission ($2,500) and other minor parts to make it great.

This is the most fun car I have owned ever! Even without the rotary engine I recommend to anyone who wants to have a thrill car.

Stats: With the RX7 twin turbo unit, I ran 0-60 in 4.9 sec vs. 9, 284 hp vs. 107, and 161 mph vs. 126 mph. (Location where tested is undisclosed)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2003

5th Aug 2004, 12:58

Sorry to say, but I left the TR7 for something a little more practical now that work commuting is taking over my life. I don't have any pictures either. There is a website that could probably help you with a customization of a Targa TR7 www.triumphtr7.com. They have everything regarding the TR7. Sorry again.

1980 Triumph TR7 Convertible from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carRover - Austin MG Metro Turbo

Summary:

I would not part with it

Faults:

Water pump.

Blown up engine.

Points, points, points!

General Comments:

I bought the car as a running wreck in 1996 and have spent the last four years renovating it. Everything has been renewed from the wheels to the roof with a bare metal respray in between. Apart from blowing up the engine on the M2 in Kent shortly after I bought it, the car has been very reliable and a pleasure to drive which I do every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th July, 2000

1980 Triumph TR7 2.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1980
Engine and transmission 2.0
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10

Faults:

Since I bought the car I have only had to replace some rubber and suspension parts that the previous owner had neglected to do. Does leak a drop or two of oil on my garage floor, but I aim to try and correct that with some new gaskets.

General Comments:

Car starts every time, performs very well for a 2.0L four, sounds great with the muffler/rear resonator setup, still turns heads for a 20 year old convertible. Fun to drive, and handles great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th August, 1999

12th Oct 2002, 05:46

Shawn, Regarding your clutch on your tr7,the problem is that is has stuck on! to free off, remove the rear wheels, (after 1st supporting the car!!),put the car in gear,3rd or 4th, start it up, push on the gas, with the clutch down, and stamp on the brake!!!. (you might need a hand to keep the gas pedal down!,this should then free off the clutch.

P.s I know it works, as I just did it to mine!!

1980 Triumph TR7 DHC 2 litre from Italy

Year of manufacture1980
Engine and transmission 2 litre
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10

Faults:

Uh, brakes, radiator, heater radiator, bushes all round the car, all rubber stuff, gaiters.

General Comments:

Great look, great fun.

Unfortunately they stopped making it 18 years ago.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1980 Triumph TR7 DHC Convertible 2.0 Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1980
Engine and transmission 2.0 Liter
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing really, I'm about the 4th owner, and I haven't been all that sure about the maintenance before me. But, the car has been rather reliable; the only bits I have had to pay attention to are the normal consumables one would expect in a nearly 20 year old car....

General Comments:

A great looking, fun car. The TR8 has some more horsepower and is faster in the top end, but the TR7 is reasonably quick and very nimble around the twisties. Classic roadster with a modern edge. Just too little too late to save Triumph, or we could be getting new ones even today....

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1st Jun 2008, 00:51

In 1999 a person could afford to run a TR7...

$1.35/Liter... the next time someone comments that will sound cheap XD.

14th Feb 2011, 17:48

I Got a Triumph TR7 1980 with 30,000 km on it, how much would this be worth?

1980 Triumph TR7 FHC 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10

Faults:

Head gaskets.

Rust.

Water pumps seize and destroy engine.

General Comments:

Put on a 16 valve head and scare hot hatches.

Alternatively, put in a Rover V8 and scare Porsches!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th January, 1999

1980 Triumph TR7 dhc 2.0 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1980
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Rust, rust, rust.

Inadequate maintenance by Previous Owner meant that the gearbox needed replacing. Electrics can be erratic if you do not periodically check out connections.

General Comments:

Lots of scope for modernisation. Easily available electronic ignition and suspension improvements bring it to the 90s. New panels etc are cheap & common so rust is not such a problem.

Expect to spend a little but often on maintenance.

Good fun at a low price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 1997

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 8 reviews