2000 TVR Tuscan 4.0 litre straight 6 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Amazing, but flawed

Faults:

Alternator and battery failed.

The car required an engine rebuild before I got it (£4k+).

Loose wire on fuel pump power supply caused the car to randomly cut out.

Air conditioning pipe broke.

General Comments:

The Tuscan is a wonderful car to look at, and can be to drive too; straight line performance is very strong, although getting the 0-60 in 4.2 would be a stretch for most people driving one. Also, at high speed on the German Autobahn, the steering can become very light and slightly scary over about 130 MPH, although a geometry setup helps a lot with handling.

It's still one of the most beautiful cars to look at. It requires firm actions to change gear, and the steering is seriously quick compared to any other cars I have driven.

The main issue I had, and the reason I no longer own it, is the build quality. The engines require nurturing very precisely unless you want to shell out for a rebuild, and general things like the issue with loose wires on fuel pumps, and having to access the battery by removing the passenger wheel are strange to say the least.

Quality control isn't a TVR strong point, however in terms of looks, individuality and performance, there is no doubting the Tuscan is a fantastic car.

Would I have another? In honesty, no. But if you're prepared to put up with their quirkiness and faults, then I would say go for it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th April, 2011

2000 TVR Tuscan 4.0 ltr from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best performance car in the world

Faults:

Speedometer failed. A new sender unit fixed.

Passenger door leaks.

Roof - wing came unstuck. re-glued.

General Comments:

The looks are like Marilyn Monroe.

The drive is utterly outrageous.

Its Fast and Furious all in one.

Handling is good - watch the wet.

Respect this cars speed or it will BITE!

There is more power in first and second than Mt Etna, your head goes back, and then... Its like taking a ride on a roller-coaster - all speed, G-force and excitement.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2003

7th Aug 2010, 23:03

I have been considering a TVR Tuscan for a while now. I really love the looks of the car and the sound it makes. However my budget is 15,000, and I really need a car I can use most of the year. TVR Tuscans have an awful track record for breaking down. Just wondering if this is really true, and would you advise against a Tuscan if it would essentially be your main mode of transport?

2001 TVR Tuscan Speed Six 4.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Pricey, but well worth saving for

Faults:

Nothing in particular, until I went to the new dealership in Scotland.

All of a sudden I got hit with a huge bill. Not good.

However, the list I would make is:

Brake Problem (off-side)

Window Mechanism faulty.

Leaking Radiator Hose (s)

General Comments:

A fantastic car, all in all. The power and handling makes you realise you *are* driving.

Beats the pants off any other car on styling.

A lot of money, but it gives you the performance of a car twice its price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th February, 2003

25th Nov 2004, 16:19

And the Viper was an American copy of a classic British sports car mold, which most TVR's are based on... and the Viper looks nothing like the Tuscan anyway.

I hope one day I will be able to not only, afford to own a TVR, but afford to run one as well.

21st Sep 2008, 17:52

To the guy above, who wants to afford one someday. I hope one day soon we'll both be able to afford to buy and run a TVR and a Viper.

2002 TVR Tuscan S 4.0 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

See ya Porsche, BMW and sportsbikes!

Faults:

All good so far.

General Comments:

Mind warping performance. Even superbikes can't match the acceleration of this car above 80 mph, despite being a bit quicker off the mark. I also have a Yamaha R1, and this is the only car I've owned that doesn't feel gutless in comparison. It's unbelievably fast! A corking engine which has power everywhere, and sounds fantastic, especially the crisp, race car howl above 5,000 RPM which makes my neck hair stand up! Anyone who misses the old V8 TVR's should listen to this Speed Six engine. It's intoxicating.

Handling is very capable, with loads of grip, and bags of feel from the steering. Oversteer is always on the cards with this sort of power though, so you have to respect the car. As long as you keep this in mind, it generally behaves well, and the steering and brakes have enough feel to let you know when you're pushing too hard. In the wet it is a living nightmare which will try to kill you if you take liberties, but then TVR's have always been the same! Who wants a car that anyone can drive fast, anywhere and any time?

I love the exterior styling, especially from the front. It looks radical and aggressive. The interior is wacky, but less convincing, with a large LCD speedo and rev counter mounted in a pod behind the steering wheel. Various minor controls are arranged around the steering wheel itself, which works well enough, but I can't help thinking a standard "wood and leather" interior should at least be an option. It's certainly different though.

You could play safe and buy an M Coupe or a Boxster S, either of which would prove more useable, but the TVR is so much more soulful. It's not sanitised and muted, but loud, aggressive, full of attitude and with searing performance. It's addictive, involving and best of all it proves beyond a doubt that, while the Germans may build the best quality cars in the world, and the Japanese the most reliable, we British can still build the most characterful and exciting. It also doesn't have the naff "white socks, city trader" image of a BMW or Porsche - people ask about it and look at it, but don't want to vandalise it.

Oh, and it hasn't broken down or started to fall apart. Yet ;-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2002

3rd Jan 2003, 11:33

Yeah! That's true. All true. Always true!

30th Jan 2003, 19:07

Armageddon on wheels... they know you are coming! Grannies diving for cover, even got a thumbs up from a van driver. Agree with everything said, but quality is still an issue that could be easily resolved... I feel. Windows not aligned, seals not fully glued, switchgear glitches... all small stuff and easily fixed. Awesome performance and addictive...can't get enough! I'm writing this at 1am having just come up from the garage looking at the car... in it, over it and underneath it. The best thing is my wife is scared of it and won't drive it!!

2002 TVR Tuscan S 4.0 litre straight six from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A pure super car

Faults:

Engine wouldn't turn over, starter problems.

General Comments:

This car will make more mess in your pants than anything else on this planet.

The torque from the engine just keeps pulling so hard everything flashes past in a blur.

Cabin is plain with carpet everywhere, but it is a race car.

Seats are a bit small, my head hits the hard top bar.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th August, 2002

30th Jan 2003, 19:12

I'm 6ft 3" and I have plenty headroom even with the seat cushion in place. I think the interior is phenomenal and brilliantly conceived.