1991 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1991 Vauxhall Astra GTE 16v 2.0 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.0 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carFord Escort RS Turbo

Summary:

Crap at the bottom end

Faults:

Belt snapped and bent valves.

General Comments:

When I first got this car I thought that it would have a bit of power, but they are really quite slow on acceleration, not bad on the top end though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

21st Jun 2001, 04:30

What do you mean, GTE 16vs are slow? I've recently bought a 1991 GTE 16v, and they are anything but slow. If anyone is after a fairly cheap fast car, get one. Sadly fewer and fewer are available, look long and hard, and take an expert.

What do you class as nippy, a F355?

12th Jul 2001, 17:24

Must have been a very 'poorly', 'off colour' 16v. Or maybe you did'nt give it enough gas!

5th Aug 2001, 08:54

Or perhaps you should have left it in gear a bit longer, GTE 16v's love to scream!

4th Oct 2001, 11:48

Tried that, but it was still slow... have sold it now at long last. I have to say it was the worst car I have ever owned. Got myself a Calibra Turbo now... can't say anything bad about that. It is the perfect car to own and it's proper fast!!!

1991 Vauxhall Astra SXi 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Go get one now

Faults:

All of exhaust is dead (never been aligned properly) - shoddy fast fit people.

New pads and discs on the front.

Lots of interior bulbs.

Expansion tank filled with oil once (drained water and oil, refilled and no problems since).

General Comments:

Can't live without my Astra, it's a little workhorse!!!

Have just lent it to my Dad who can't see and thinks you drive on the kerb normally. He did 2500 miles in 2.5 weeks and it still runs so what more can I say?

Only irritating thing is the way it pulls on full lock with PAS. My other one didn't do this.

P.S. I got it one owner, 100,000 miles, FSH and mint condition.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th December, 2000

9th Jan 2001, 20:13

I bought a J reg Vauxhall Astra SXi. In May 1998 it was a very rare car, especially in a 3 door like mine. I bought it, one owner with 38,000 miles on the clock. I do a lot of miles across the country and last week the car clocked the 100,000 miles. Regular Vauxhall services and a lot of care for the car and it still runs great. To this day I would still stand it against a GTE and Renault Clio Williams. It is either a very mis-understood car or a one off, but not much has beaten it...

13th Jan 2004, 09:10

Spot on, couldn't agree more. I would advise anyone who enjoys driving to buy one. Mine is a wee bit smokey now at 13years of age and 242k miles, so its about to get a makeover, heres to another 13 years and 242k!

5th Jan 2011, 15:17

I have a 1991 SXi in metallic black, and I can't fault this car in any way whatsoever. I am the second owner, it has done 109000 miles, full Vauxhall service, no rust anywhere whatsoever. It's mint, very under estimated in performance, and it looks good and drives great.

1991 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.8 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership1999
Engine and transmission 1.8 8v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance104000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Nova SR

Summary:

A classy fast 'insurable' Astra!

Faults:

Nothing at all!

General Comments:

Astra SRi. Well it doesn't exactly conjure up the GTE image now does it? Some may think that but after owning one for 2 years, the SRi really fits the bill without having a ridiculous insurance premium. I traded in my 87 Nova SR for the Astra at the back end of 97, there was no looking back either.

The 115 bhp from the 1.8 engine was powerful and strong, beating any Nova GTE etc from the lights!! Modifications included lowering by 40mm (this improved the handling beyond recognition), fitting Cavalier Gsi 15' alloys, white indicators/dials, DTM exhaust and a large stereo system. The car's got the looks and was 100% reliable too. Overall, highly impressed and without the high costs of owning a GTE - I'd go for the SRi everytime. Well worth a test drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th July, 2000

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 28 reviews