1999 Vauxhall Astra SXi 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A cheap, good performance, Low reliability car

Faults:

Right where do I start?

December 2002: Camshaft leakage, cost £175 to fix.

January: a very loud rattling noise coming somewhere from the exhaust system.

Both front window brackets are starting to go.

March: Front Left lower balljoint is going.

May 2003: I have an MOT, and the above needs to be fixed, I greatly fear the cost.

General Comments:

Well, for a 1.6 litre, this car is pretty quick!

Alhough it maybe quick, I am selling this car within the next few months due to very poor reliability.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Quick, smooth and smart looking car better since I added a rear spoiler

Faults:

Air bag light kept coming on. Went back to dealers on 3 occasions until they remedied it by cutting out the connector block under seat and soldering the wires-high resistance they said!

Also it kept stalling and it had to to have the air flow meter cleaned.

General Comments:

Seat creaks a bit which is slightly annoying.

Not always easy to select gears, it tends to be a bit tight.

It is quick and loves motorways.

Generally happy with it, but have decided to take out an extra dealer warranty just in case.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Astra Sport 1.8 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Its got the speed, looks, and extras

Faults:

Had a few problems with the braked

Cruise control didn't work.

General Comments:

This car looks Great nothing over the top just right. Its quick for a big car it will do 0-60 in about 8 seconds and I've done 120mph in it. It handles way and is nice to drive very smooth.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th March, 2003

12th Feb 2005, 06:49

The cruise control on vauxhall Astra's starts working from about 25+ mph. Hope this helped.

1999 Vauxhall Astra SRi 16V 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Looks good and is rapid

Faults:

Windscreen Wash bottle filter clogged up.

Water Temp sensor needed replaced.

Would not start for one week, towed to dealer where it started and ran perfectly. No fault found.

General Comments:

The Sri is OK. That's about as far as I can say.

It's a 2.0 and it's rapid. Good economy though.

The handling is excellent (Lotus engineered)

It has been reliable.

Interior is pathetic. It has cruise control and trip computer - don't know why.

The quality and finishing of the cabin is fit for the base model.

The seats are a nightmare to return to their original position (3 door)

It's a good looking car, but is too similar to cheaper alternatives like the Sxi.

I've owned VX for years, but it's time to change - unfortunately!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2003

1999 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.68v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Good car for long journeys

Faults:

New sump gasket was needed at 64000 miles.

Having problems at the moment with condensation causing the oil to mayonnaise, the vauxhall garage say this is common (i don't believe them).

General Comments:

Car drives well.

Handling is very good.

The interior is pretty comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2003

28th Mar 2004, 13:47

I have the same car - and the same 'problem' with mayonnaise (but this doesn't harm the oil). I suspect that the garage were in fact correct.

13th Jul 2004, 13:52

I also had the same problem with the oil and it was found to be a weeping head gasket, but it took a year to find it and the dealership said the same and it took the AA to find it. Have it checked out!!

1999 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Anything you make it do, it will do it and put a smile on your face

Faults:

Front shock absorber leaked.

Needed new cam tensioner.

Needed new alternator tensioner.

Two wheel bearings worn on rear.

General Comments:

All the things what went wrong is understandable because its done a lot of miles how ever the engine still sounds like new.

If you can't afford a new shape Astra just do what I did and go for the high mileage, just as good, but a lot cheaper.

I was surprised how fast this car is for a 1.6 estate, I'm not proud of my self, but I have had this car up to 130mph on the motorway.

This car has room for the family and has a huge boot (on the estate).

Two things that I like most about this car is the anti-lock-brakes because it has saved me many of times and the air conditioning in the summer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th October, 2002