1999 Vauxhall Astra Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1999 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Astra

Summary:

Cheap to run, but the quality can be unreliable

Faults:

The odometer registered 0 after six months of owning the car. Went back to the dealer for a fix.

Main fault was a water leak. The dealer I purchased it from was unable/unwilling to fix this and another dealer took pity on me and sorted it out. At one point there was an inch and a half of water under the carpets. The fault was caused by welding missed at the factory - surely this is a quality control issue?

Squeaky driver's window.

General Comments:

I like driving the car, it has enough performance for me and it handles very well especially when cornering.

The interior seems cheap and tacky though.

I wish the rear seats folded flat like the ones on my old Mark 3 Astra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd August, 2001

26th Nov 2004, 09:39

I have the same problem with a serious water leak - whereabouts was your missing weld so I can check to see if mine is the smae as I can't find the source at the moment.

Antony Jackson.

1999 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carVolvo 244

Summary:

A pocket rocket!

Faults:

Nothing yet!

General Comments:

This is a very good car with a fair amount of power. It is very reliable as well and comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2001

1999 Vauxhall Astra LS 1.6 8v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v petrol Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance9000 miles

Summary:

Avoid the 1.6 8v at all costs!

Faults:

No real problems yet, a few squeaks and rattles to sort out.

General Comments:

This is my dad's car which I drive now and again.

The car is OK to drive, but feels rather dull and lifeless, not for anyone with a sporty driving style.

If you are going to buy one avoid the 1.6 8 valve engine which is very slow to pick up and is really for those after economy and relaxed cruising, my Citroen ZX 1.4i is a lot quicker.

I told him he should have bought a Focus!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

3rd Aug 2004, 15:57

I have the same engine in my astra.. and I really don't think it is that underpowered. Yes, at 90ish MPH the engine is spinning at about 4500rpm, but just turn the radio up. The downside to the low gearing is the fuel economy. You can almost see the fuel gauge moving at high speeds!

1999 Vauxhall Astra Merit 1.7 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.7 diesel Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.8 / 10
Distance when acquired200 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles

Summary:

It's a good car if you don't mind waiting to get anywhere

Faults:

This model appears to be trouble for every one who has owned one.

After about 10,000 miles the exhaust falls off at the join near the manifold.

After 20,000 the electronic engine management system fails and for some reason the dealers won't replace or repair it.

After about 50,000 the plastic gear linkage breaks away at the gear box end, again the dealers won't do anything about it until you are towed into a garage by a rescue service.

General Comments:

The model used to be a great car, I've had 5 of them in the past with no problems.

This one is terrible, its top speed going up any gradient will eventually fall to 40 MPH.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th April, 2001

1999 Vauxhall Astra Club 1.6 8v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 8v Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Frontera

Summary:

Fantastic

Faults:

None.

General Comments:

It's a brilliant car, the only problem is the engine has not got much pick up but that is because it is only an 8 valve. I have been in a 16 valve Astra and that was pretty nippy.

I love the way the car looks from the front in the sun and the back.

We had extra safety features put on our car, they were side airbags and ABS and that was quite cheap.

I think the Astra rival, the Ford Focus looks like a load of crap, especially at the back.

One more thing, the Astra's steering is one of the best things about the car. You get good feedback and it's weighted out very well.

IT'S A BRILLIANT CAR.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd January, 2001

1999 Vauxhall Astra Coupe 2.2 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.2 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance1200 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Totally Awesome :o)

Faults:

Nothing to date.

General Comments:

Great car all round! Performance is brisk, handling is great, even in some very dodgy weather. Coped with the recent floods like an amphibious vehicle!!

Interior is well styled with plenty of room for most. Practical load carrying ability too, which is a nice change for a coupe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2000

Average review marks: 6.5 / 10, based on 38 reviews