2006 Vauxhall Astra SRi 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Rubbish car. Never will I buy Vauxhall again ever again!

Faults:

One month after the Vauxhall warranty finished, the starter motor failed at 17,000 miles.

The car failed every MOT from new.

It's had two front brake disks, two bottom ball joints, 6 track rod ends, two front springs, and at 30,000 miles the ABS pump failed (£1500).

At 35,000 miles, the flywheel went (£1,800).

And after I sold the car, at 46,000 the gearbox failed.

Yes it looked good with the Xpac on it, yes it was quick, but it's the worst car I've ever had; it ate tyres! Vauxhall have the worst customer care ever! Even after the starter motor failed, they did not want to know, even though it was only 3 weeks after the warranty finished! They wanted £380 for a new starter motor. Not fitted!! So I got a new starter motor for £120 and I fitted it myself.

General Comments:

The car is quick! But it was the worst car I've ever, ever had in my life! I will never buy Vauxhall again. I've got a Skoda Octavia vRS now; I wish I'd bought this instead of that Vauxhall! Please, if you have any sense, DON'T BUY VAUXHALL, read reviews on any car web page, I wish I had!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st September, 2015

18th Feb 2016, 14:02

It sounds like this car was thrashed to a pulp by its original owner. This is the chance you take with used sports cars.

18th Feb 2016, 20:39

I doubt it - he had it since 4500 miles. The ABS pump failed early on - you can't trash an ABS pump. Ditto with the starter. He got a lemon.

19th Feb 2016, 02:09

ABS and the starter are both items which wear depending on the specific driver. The first commentor is correct. This vehicle was brutalized before the second owner even went a mile.

19th Feb 2016, 20:03

Within 4500 miles from new? Not even rental cars (often abused) fail that quickly. It's a lemon.

20th Feb 2016, 17:55

The failures happened long after 4500 miles. At the mileages those failures occurred, they're not totally unexpected. Those first 4500 miles were so harsh that it accelerated the failures of those parts.

21st Jul 2016, 21:36

Stay away from these old secondhand Vauxhalls. Trust me, it will give you problem after problem.

30th Jul 2016, 22:01

Avoid buying an secondhand old Vauxhall. Looks good from outside, but the inside is bad. I had a Vauxhall in the past that gave me too many problems, so I got rid of it. Now I'm very pleased and happy with my Ford Focus 2003.

2006 Vauxhall Astra SXi Sporthatch 1.6 twinport from UK and Ireland

Summary:

Drives as good as it looks

Faults:

Coil pack at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

From the first moment you walk up to the car, you notice the beautiful lines of the car, the sporty stance, especially with the full exterior pack, which I have. The front and rear splitters, and the side skirts and spoilers, make all the difference. This carries on to the inside; from the second you sit on the sports seats that hold you firmly in place, you sit nice and low in the sport hatch, which just adds to the sporty feel. The steering wheel feels chunky in your hands, and the aluminium pedals are weighted brilliantly, and are perfectly placed for heel and toe changes.

The 1.6 Twinport engine moves the car well. Now being a 105 BHP engine, it isn't the fastest car in the world, but it is still quicker than the 1.6 Focus and Golf. It has DOHC, and to rev it up the rev range is to really drive it. It does respond well to being pushed, while also being brilliant and responsive at low town speeds.

Being the SXi edition, the set up is hard, which I love; it corners nice and level over all different kinds of road surfaces. It loves to be grabbed by the scruff of the neck and pushed into the bends; you can feel the front end diving into the corners through the brilliantly weighted steering.

The fit and finish of the interior is brilliant; no squeaks or rattles. The standard kit is very good; 8 airbags, air con, a fantastic 7 speaker sound system, one touch electronic stalks, and much much more.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th February, 2011